We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fantastic restaurant, excellent position, room spotless only downside was single beds and no lift”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

A great location close to city, beaches and convenient to the hospital. The restaurant food was superb. Only downside was single beds (a bit of a culture shock). There is also no lift so need to climb stairs

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamscone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon! In regard to the two issues that you have raised - we are perplexed about your observation concerning the single beds. We have searched the system for your reservation and believe that you reserv ed a room with twin beds. We obviously have guest rooms with King or Queen beds as well. We are not sure whether you expected two double beds. Please contact Robyn at our front desk, should our facts not be correct. We will use our best endeavours to meet your every need when you next stay with us. In regard to lift access - please be aware that we have a new wing, compromising 44 brand new rooms, all with lift access. Warm regards - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 768 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my wife. We found the hotel as a mystery hotel at a very reasonable price, even though the price did not include breakfast. We were very impressed by the friendliness of all the staff from reception to restaurant. The room was clean, new and had a wonderful outlook towards bushland. Parking was effectively right outside our room. We had an enjoyable meal at the restaurant and did not mind paying $18 each for breakfast the next morning. All in all we thought this was an excellent hotel, only 10 minutes drive from the centre of Newcastle. Recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owls_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. Our team works hard to offer a professional service and to make every guest feel special. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm wishes - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I came across this place through Trip Advisor reviews when looking for an inexpensive stay over the Easter weekend near my friends house in Newcastle. It was a great find as described in other positive reviews. Check-in was friendly and smooth, the rooms are large and very modern, they even had made up the double sofa bed for my toddler, which I hadn't expected and placed Easter eggs on all the pillows, which was a nice extra touch. Obviously the hotel is on the main road, but the windows face beautiful bushland, so if you don't mind driving, you will be at most Newcastle attractions within a short 10-15 minutes drive. Would highly recommend this property for a pleasant and well priced stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here for 2 nights in a family room which consisted of king bed and sofa bed in one room and king bed in another room, so good not to be cramped up all in one room.
Staff are very friendly and helpful, location is excellent with Charlestown square a ten minute walk or very short drive away....only a couple minutes drive into centre of Newcastle.
Hot breakfast was excellent with my son saying his eggs Benedict was the best he's eaten.
Beautiful mor toiletries in bathrooms.
Will stay here again when in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellietia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed one night in the King Spa room, the room was spacious and very neat and clean, the spa knob in the shower was very stiff to use - to change from shower to spa, rang for room service for our meals and the food was excellent, delivered promptly and waitress was very lovely and courteous. There was no jug and when went to ring reception, the phone stopped working and my husband had to go down and ask for the jug. The only fault I had was the noise from a nearby motor, down on the ground floor outside, it was quite loud. The bed was very comfortable but the pillows were flat and hard. Overall it was pleasant, we had a nice view of the bush and Newcastle from our balcony, though it was too cold to eat outside it was still pleasant. I would recommend this hotel, but bring your own pillows.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

We refer to your extremely positive review. We note your comment about the pillows and we tender our unqualified apologies. We have replaced almost every pillow in our newly refurbished and extended hotel. However, yours must have been one of the few rooms where new pillows have not yet been provided. Again, we apologise. We assure you that, upon your return visit, you will NOT have to bring your own pillows. With warm regards - Guest relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had to make an emergency trip to Newcastle to help move a family member and had to book a place to stay at the last minute and didn't want to spend too much money given it was an unplanned trip. I stayed here a few years ago for work and whilst it was clean and friendly it was a bit dated, but given it seemed the most reasonably priced decided to stay the night this time. What a pleasant surprise we got when we arrived to see the place has undergone some major renovations since we were there last and clearly it was money well spent. Given our expectations were not aimed too high given the reasonable price, we were very impressed with the quality and presentation of our room. Modern and clean with plenty of space to spread out, it was the highlight in a weekend that was otherwise hard work and not so pleasant. I highly recommend the Apollo to anyone looking for value and quality.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LeighAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed overnight (Saturday ) at the Apollo International Hotel as we had a sporting function the next day. The check in was smooth and friendly. We forgot our Apple charger and we were handed one for loan - no problem. Our room was comfortable , clean and spacious. We had a nice view from our balcony of the bush. Products supplied in the bathroom were great and plenty of towels were supplied.
Pool was lovely for a cool swim.
Babbingtons restaurant served very tasty food. A bit pricey for a family, but convenient. On offer is a set menu for 2 or 3 courses. The staff were polite and friendly and provided really good service. Breakfast the next day was also served in Babbingtons and the food was well cooked, plentiful and fresh.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IreneR857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.3 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
399 reviews
3.7 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 23 in Newcastle
389 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 23 in Newcastle
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 23 in Newcastle
852 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#8 of 23 in Newcastle
360 reviews
2.6 mi away
Warners at the Bay
Warners at the Bay
#2 of 2 in Warners Bay
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel

Address: 290 Pacific Hwy, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Apollo International)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range: $99 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel is a 94 room, recently totally renovated and extended 4.5 star hotel, located 10 minutes south of Newcastle CBD and providing easy access to the city and local beaches. Set against a backdrop of native bush reserve, Apollo International provides quality accommodation, professional personalised service and well appointed modern facilities. Just minutes drive to the heart of Newcastle and 2 hours from Sydney via the F3 expressway. Unmistakable in appearance, the hotel offers arguably the newest, largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newcastle
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel Greater Newcastle/Charlestown, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing