We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Charlestown(Charlestown)(Great Value!)
$98
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Warners at the Bay(Warners Bay)
$84
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elizabeth Motor Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Executive Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
$114
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Motel(Warners Bay)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Premier Hotel(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
$77
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$116
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$48
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
833 results
Traveler rating
402
323
72
24
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
323
72
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom serviceapollo internationalquality hotelfree wifirooms are largecomfortable bedsreception staffbalcony overlookingmain roadcharlestown squareplenty of parkinggreat restaurantbuffet breakfastnewcastle areamini barcomfortable staygreat room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
802 - 807 of 833 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2011

i was worried when we arrived to the construction site that was the carpark. I was more worried when we got to the room and the room next door WAS the construction site. Work started at 6.30am and so we were thus awaken at 6.30am. We were not warned of this when we booked the room a few days before. We were not offered a discount upon complaining. We were offered an insincere nod of understanding and I guess the same will be given the next day to the next person who stays in that room. Once they have your money the dont give a damn anyway!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronno65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

We refer to your review. We are most apologetic that you were disturbed so early and that your perception was that we were insensitive to your complaint. Obviously we have done our best to ensure minimal disturbance of our guests, but it is not always easy to micro-manage the builders. However, in the light of your complaint, we have put in place procedures to ensure that our guests are not disturbed so early in the morning. In regard to your commment about the lack of acknowledgement by our front desk of your complaint, can we ask you to please contact our General Manager, David Ingleton, on 4943 6733, who would like the opportunity to discuss the matter with you and, hopefully, make amends. We pride ourselves on service and professionalism and we take your complaints very seriously. Again we apologise and wish you a pleasant Christmas and a happy new year. With regards Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for two nights to meet some of our clients from central NSW. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were very good as was the resturant. There is a lot of construction work happening at the hotel, but this did not bother any of us (we had five rooms) and it was not noisy. We used the hotel's meeting room and it was fine. i would go back again.

The hotel is on the opposite side of Newcastle from the airport so I would recommend hiring a car if you flying in. It is also a far deistance from the centre of the city centre.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpalmer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to post your kind comments. We value your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Within a few short months, our hotel will consist of 44 new rooms, and 50 totally renovated existing rooms.We acknowledge that we are a fair distance from the airport, but Charlestown is a commercial and retail hub of Newcastle and is very centrally located. Warm wishes for the festive season. Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I spent 4 nights at Apollo.My first night i arrived it was pouring with rain and very windy. The room i was in had and internal door and one to the balcony which most of the night i could hear a whisteling nosie from the wind,so no fault of the hotel.On my request I was then move across to the new renovated side of the hotel.Room was beautiful,nice decor and decent size.I had the first room on the right of the entrance just past the glass door in the main foyer.The only bad thing was everytime someone walked thru you could hear the door slam.When this starts from 6- 6.30 every morning it gets a bit much.There was also a fair bit of noise from the workers due to the hotel getting extended,id read a review and was pre warned about this but it started way before the 8am id read.
Had serveral meals both Dinner and breakfast all was perfect except for one morning my eggs were extremly stale,this was re done and brought back to my room.On checking out i was advised that i was not charged for this which i thought was very nice considering they had remade it and had a nice breakfast in the end.Scotch fillet was cooked to perfection id reccommend that with mushroom sauce.
All staff were very nice and pleansent Michelle was great and extremly friendly.Will be back again,I'll just request a room at the end of the corridor. :)

Room Tip: Request a new renovated room.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zietta04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We have taken steps to ensure that there is no repeat of the banging door problem or the early start by the builders, and we apologise for having disturbed your sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back again and, hopefully, there will be no repeat of the problems that have described. Thank you again for your constructive feedback. Warm regards - Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

From the moment I rang to book, to when we checked out after a (too) brief stay, nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff of this hotel. They were outstanding - even reprogramming the Foxtel sports channel so this cricket tragic family could watch the Test match! (Which by the way - they did without us asking after having a brief conversation when we checked in about our passion for the sport - which was also our reason for the stay in Newcastle). Our family room was spacious and comfortable - even with three teenagers, with a lovely view over the pool and the bush. Even though there are major renovations underway - it did not impact on our stay at. all. Breakfast was delicious and the late Sunday checkout a bonus for the one non-cricketing member of the family who could stay behind and enjoy the facilities. Perhaps these good people could take over Telstra and teach them a thing or two about service! We will be going back and I have already recommended it to another couple heading that way soon.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view over the bush and pool.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blpa321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

We thank you for taking the time to write your most generous review. Our General Manager, David Ingleton, has infused his team with a culture of service far beyond the norm. This positive feeback is most gratifying, and we are most appreciative of your comments and your recommendation of our property to others.
As you know our new rooms are coming on line progressively and, within the next few months, we will have 94 sparkling new, contemporary rooms. The excitement, amongst our team at the hotel, about the renovation and expansion is palpable, and they look forward to extending their hospitality to you again - hopefully soon! Warm wishes - Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed here for one night on a work trip.

As mentinoed previously there is renovation work currently going on at the hotel. I arrived after work and there was no noise or interruptions associated with the renovations. The only minor inconvenience is that some of the parking spaces have been sacrificed for the storing building material and machinery etc. Having said that I was still able to get a park without any trouble.

I stayed in what I am guessing is one of the newer rooms. The decor was very contemporary and spacious. It also has the largest TV I have ever come across in a hotel. I was told that the renovations/extensions will include a gym once they are completed.

The staff were quite friendly and professional and contributed to a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews