We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mercure Charlestown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Charlestown
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mercure Charlestown”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

From the personable and efficient reception to the fabulous breakfast and views from the restaurant, I couldn't recommend the Mercure, Charlestown more highly. Our room was of a high standard, quiet and comfortable. I stayed here for the first time in May 2014 and, knowing we would need to stay in Newcastle again, I was happy to return and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Susan: We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Charlestown. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will pass on your kind comment to all of our staff, they will enjoy the fact that their hard work and dedication is appreciated. We aim to please as much as we can and in this case it is so nice to see that we have achieve this goal. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, D. Reghenzani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    185
    76
    23
    8
See reviews for
112
144
15
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a welcoming place. The staff are friendly and the rooms are comfortable. The dining room and breakfast are of a high standard.The view from the dining room is excellent. Although we were there in winter I could see that the pool area would be welcoming on a summer's day. I would stay here again. The free Wifi is a bonus.

Room Tip: Room on the lower floor is handy for parking at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Family99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Travelling family 99 from Brisbane: We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Charlestown. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will pass on your kind comment for your breakfast selection to our chef Todd will be thrilled to know that his effort are not going unnoticed. We are working on a project to make our pool even more attractive so stay tune for the result to be ready by Summer. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, D. Reghenzani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Staff are friendly and focused on customers and the fit out is pretty good. Convenient position and breakfast set up really good. Only issues I had were that the room had a damp odour to it and there seemed to be (loud) conversations from room above coming through a vent or something.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilPreston2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear PhilPreston2508: We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Charlestown. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will pass on your kind comment on our menu selection to our chef Todd will be thrilled to know that his effort are not going unnoticed. We do take on board your comment about the unpleasant damp smell and have since re sealed the bathroom above your room, unfortunately once in a while we do, like at any other hotel have some loud guest that will disturb other. On you next stay call us and we will try to stop it so you can have a very pleasant stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, D. Reghenzani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Convenient location, parking and friendly staff. Breakfast is elaborate and good value. The rooms are clean and comfortable. However, I would not include this in Mercure style, but more on the Ibis Budget class. The rooms have a tired look and need some fresh coat of paint and new carpet. I was surprised by the size of the swimming pool and think it is definitely more suitable for small kids with parents. Overall, happy with the short stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrim23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Shrim23: We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Charlestown. It is always a pleasure to receive a fairly positive feedback. We have been on a constant upgrade project for the hotel and we are doing as much as we can (finance permitting) to create a comfortable and friendly property, we hope that eventually we will please everybody about our product. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, D. Reghenzani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Convenient location and most of the time I get a room on the lower floor as I don't like the stairs. I love the menu, so much to chose from, with the choice of entree size meals when not really hungry. The swimming pool needs more privacy as diners overlook the pool, which can be a bit daunting for some!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erja03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Erja03: We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Charlestown. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will pass on your kind comment on our menu selection to our chef Todd will be thrilled to know that his effort are not going unnoticed. We do understand and are agreeable on your comment about the privacy of our pool, unfortunately there is not much that can be done about this, the bright side is that Bistro Blu is close from 10 am to 5 pm and during that time privacy is available. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, D. Reghenzani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Mangrove, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Greeted by a fantastic receptionist. We indulged in the tastiest breakfast that included great healthy options. The room included a decent hairdryer (this appeals to us ladies) and an extra blanket!
My daughter and I really enjoyed our stay and we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonedote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear : We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Charlestown. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will pass on your kind comment on our breakfast selections, our chef Todd will be thrilled to know that his effort are not going unnoticed. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, D. Reghenzani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erina, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The friendly staff and delicious dining make the Mercure at Charlestown a favourite stay for us. The menu at night is great. We enjoy the convenient location, level of comfort, cleanliness and convenient parking and access.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen4311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Helen4311: We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Charlestown. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will pass on your kind comment to our chef Todd will be thrilled to know that his effort are not going unnoticed. We are trying our very best at all time to satisfy our customer and I am personally elated when such a brilliant comment is done, it make it all worthwhile. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, D. Reghenzani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
3.4 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Charlestown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Charlestown

Property: Mercure Charlestown
Address: 109 Madison Drive, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Charlestown 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Charlestown, is a boutique hotel situated on the peak of Madison Drive, in the convenient and central, ever expanding suburb of Charlestown. Located in the tree tops and away from busy roads, Mercure Charlestown is the perfect place to relax for business travellers, family visits or holiday makers alike. Enjoy the comfort of the 53 rooms, take in the view of Stockton beach and the serene tree top outlook from the restaurant deck, or unwind with a swim in the outdoor pool before enjoying a drink in the sunlit bar. Mercure Charlestown strives to provide you with a home away from home. Always a friendly service with a smile, clean and tidy rooms, great food, and all within a short drive from everything that Newcastle has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Charlestown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Best Western
Best Western Newcastle
Mercure Charlestown Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing