We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, not much around though.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Charlestown
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed here for only a night and got 2 rooms out as we were traveling in a group. Beds were comfortable enough and the rooms were clean and spacious. we were allowed to check in a little earlier than the usual check in time, which was great as we were all pretty tired from driving all the way from Brisbane.

Check in was simple and easy and there was WiFi all around the property. The location is a little out of the way, but for the price, you can't ask for much more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lachlan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Lachlan T,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Charlestown. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are always happy to help whenever it is possible, after all, we are in the business of making people as happy as we can, we do not always get there, but I can assure you we are trying our hardest.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Charlestown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 399 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Julianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Had a relaxing weekend, very helpful. Dined in and was very happy.
Am a regular visitor in the area, stayed here over 10 year ago.
All staff were lovely, and didn't have any issues or concerns.
Weather was wet, so didn't get to use the pool, but looked very inviting
Thankyou.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Trish M,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Charlestown. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I am really please to know that your had enjoy your stay with us and I am so sorry that I did not know it was your Anniversary, I would hopefully had make it a more memorable one, next time let me know on booking.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Rooms overdue for refurbishment, better alternatives closeby, overall maintenance not up to scratch, not up to normal Accor standards, air condition needs to be replaced, too noisy, close to Charlestown Square, car needed though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plain_Truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Plain_truth

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Charlestown. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

All of our room have been updated in the last 18th months but not all of our air conditioner as we have replaced only 16 of them so far and are replacing them as needed and fund allow us to.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Unfortunately we were unable to meet your expectation and I am personally very sorry about that as I truly wish I would be able to please everybody and that every single client staying with us would have a fabulous time that surpassed their expectation each and every single time.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank spagoni
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Had to travel to Charlestown for an appointment that required an overnight stay. Picked the Mercure due to proximity & good past experience with the Accor brand. Was certainly not disappointed. Close to Charlestown Centre, (less than 2 kl,),it was quiet , comfortable, served great meals & very supportive staff, Will certainly go there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank b4bucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear B4bucket,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Charlestown. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I am very glad that we met your requirement and made your stay under those trying circumstance a pleasant one.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
3.4 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 23 in Newcastle
389 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#8 of 23 in Newcastle
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 23 in Newcastle
852 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#15 of 23 in Newcastle
45 reviews
2.9 mi away
Warners at the Bay
Warners at the Bay
#2 of 2 in Warners Bay
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Charlestown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Charlestown

Address: 109 Madison Drive, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range: $81 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Charlestown 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Charlestown, is a boutique hotel situated on the peak of Madison Drive, in the convenient and central, ever expanding suburb of Charlestown. Located in the tree tops and away from busy roads, Mercure Charlestown is the perfect place to relax for business travellers, family visits or holiday makers alike. Enjoy the comfort of the 53 rooms, take in the view of Stockton beach and the serene tree top outlook from the restaurant deck, or unwind with a swim in the outdoor pool before enjoying a drink in the sunlit bar. Mercure Charlestown strives to provide you with a home away from home. Always a friendly service with a smile, clean and tidy rooms, great food, and all within a short drive from everything that Newcastle has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Charlestown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Best Western
Best Western Newcastle
Mercure Charlestown Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing