We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mercure Charlestown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Charlestown
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Reviewed January 28, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 431 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Geolesa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Room was a bit oldish , Bathroom was old... water would go outside on rest of bathroom floor after each shower, shower had mould on tiles... toilet paper was located at the very unconvieneant place lol....
Worst thing was there was no lift to go second floor carrying our bags up was very hard
Balcony door wouldn't open
Son asked for a Playstation on hire but they didn't have any (not sure why they advertised it then)
Best thing was the breakfast its was yummyyyyy
over all it was ok but wouldn't stay longer then night

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesiTraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear DesiTraveller86 :

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Charlestown. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I though you would like to know that the hotel is undergoing a constant renovation process and already we have over the last few months replace 11 of our bathroom and more are schedule to be done this year. The PlayStation(s) are available not to rent but complimentary to our guests but unfortunately both of them where already out and we could not get you one, on your next visit, call us to book any special item in advance to ensure that you have no disappointment and when experiencing any mechanical trouble please call us and we will attend to those as soon as we can.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

After a week staying in different motels in rural NSW this was a welcome change. This is a recently refurbished motel and everything is modern, clean and tidy. All of the amenities are those you might expect in a more expensive motel - and it was fantastic to have free WiFi! The beds were very comfortable and breakfast was lovely with a fantastic view out over Newcastle. I would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay. A special thank you to William on the front desk who was exceptionally helpful!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anemmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Anemmat,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Charlestown. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. It is great to see appreciating our effort and enjoying our hotel. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I'll start by saying that this hotel is not quite like the pictures. After seeing the pictures, I had a very fancy hotel pictured in my head. Mercure Charlestown is a converted Motel (ex. Locally owned one).
In saying that; after getting over the fact that this wasn't exactly the Hilton I began to see the certain charm that Mercure Charlestown has. It backs onto forest (so no noisy neighbours or looking over dodgy backyards) and on the corner you have a beautiful view of the city.
The rooms are average but are very clean and have everything you need. The Mercure have made an effort to make the place feel homely and comfortable.
There is a lovely pool at the hotel and the restaurant is great! The staff are fantastic and will go out of their way to help. Mercure Charlestown also has great comforts for their guests that are hard to come by in hotels these days. Including; free DVD player and play station hire, free use of a laundry, complimentary welcome drinks.
I loved my stay at the Mercure Charlestown and I felt very comfortable there. Keep in mind that it is not exactly the photos, but it is a lovely hotel and I would definitely return.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AMC X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear AMC X,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Charlestown. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
5.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
5 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#3 of 25 in Newcastle
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 25 in Newcastle
385 reviews
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#14 of 25 in Newcastle
1,640 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#16 of 25 in Newcastle
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Charlestown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Charlestown

Address: 109 Madison Drive, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range: $79 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Charlestown 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Charlestown, is a boutique hotel situated on the peak of Madison Drive, in the convenient and central, ever expanding suburb of Charlestown. Located in the tree tops and away from busy roads, Mercure Charlestown is the perfect place to relax for business travellers, family visits or holiday makers alike. Enjoy the comfort of the 53 rooms, take in the view of Stockton beach and the serene tree top outlook from the restaurant deck, or unwind with a swim in the outdoor pool before enjoying a drink in the sunlit bar. Mercure Charlestown strives to provide you with a home away from home. Always a friendly service with a smile, clean and tidy rooms, great food, and all within a short drive from everything that Newcastle has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Charlestown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Best Western
Best Western Newcastle
Mercure Charlestown Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing