We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tired hotel with old rooms..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Charlestown
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A tired hotel with old rooms..”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for work and was upgraded when I checked in. The room was not an upgrade...dirty carpet, old furniture, hard bed and curtains that did not close fully.

I even found a dead cockroach on the floor under the air conditioning unit.

I am not a fussy traveller but the room was old and did not really give me any comfort.

The staff were friendly and efficient and the food was great.

Would I stay there again..probably not.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank storm_fan1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Storm_fan1998:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Charlestown. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dominique Reghenzani
General Manager
Mercure Charlestown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    185
    76
    23
    8
See reviews for
112
143
15
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Only one issue, I was accidently charged twice for breakfast, I emailed the management and it was immediately rectified, I would recommend the stay to anyone! the menu was diverse, as a woman I was able to order divine non red meat food, the men on the table next to me seemed happy with their steaks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Innercityali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Innercityali:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Charlestown. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Dominique Reghenzani
General Manager
Mercure Charlestown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The location was brilliant, 5 minutes either way of Charlestown Square and Kotara Westfields. Room was very clean, beds comfortable, rooms spacious and quiet. Would definitely stay again. I got the room for $105 per night for a queen and one single a bargain.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneydreamer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear DisneyDreamer07:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Charlestown. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Dominique Reghenzani
General Manager
Mercure Charlestown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Staying just one night whilst visiting friends in the area was almost too short!
I did a walk in booking and found myself in a privilege room. Nespresso machine, pillow menu assortment of teas were all lovely touches.
Room very clean and comfortable. I will definitely be checking in again next time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Definitely a privilege room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FBSS43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear FBSS43:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Charlestown. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Dominique Reghenzani
General Manager
Mercure Charlestown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were concerned with some bad reviews on tripadvisor before we went. We were very pleasantly surprised. This hotel is well improved from its Madison days. A table and a light on the balcony would ensure I'd never stay anywhere else when in Newcastle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Tania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Tanya,

Dear HolidayMum02,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Charlestown. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
472 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

.... as we expected something more from this hotel brand. You will see there is a mix of reviews that touch on many points. It's a very dated building trying to operate as an upmarket property.

Firstly, the check in was fine; quick and friendly. However, the room was under par for the premium price we were paying. The bathroom door for example was badly water damaged so that it would not close at all. Add to this a very quirky toilet design where there is no privacy for the user of the 'loo. The water damage had not just happened overnight, it had been that way for a long time. This sums up the attention to detail and overall maintenance.

This seems to me a hotel that was given a quick renovation some time ago but they only did the basics. There is still construction going on. The hall has a musty smell and the common areas are not that well decorated or for that matter clean. The grounds look neglected as the gardens would have once been lovely.

A final comment would be that the housekeeping was basic with tea/coffee not replaced and the bed seemingly just pulled up.

It's ok for a short stay if the location suits and the other options are limited - which is how we came to stay. YMMV

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wing6rider-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Wing6ryder

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Charlestown. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking, as much as we can, the appropriate measures to address the problem(s) and prevent future occurrence.


We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country NSW
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here recently as a family and were very happy with all aspects of our stay. The motel is in a lovey spot on a hill and handy to Charlestown and Kotara Westfield shopping centres. Check-in was quick and easy; and all the staff were friendly. Our room was spacious and clean with comfortable beds, and had everything we required. Lovely bathroom with complimentary toiletries and towels were replaced during our 2 night stay. Continental breakfast was delicious with lots of variety. Our room was at the front of the motel down the end, and had 2 entrance doors which was handy, one onto carpark and the other access into the motel corridor. We heard no noise at all from traffic, other guests or workmen. I researched other motels and this one was the pick for us. Clean, comfortable, spacious, and good value for money. I have already recommended it to family. Thanks Mercure.

Room Tip: We chose room at front of motel for easy access and parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayMum02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique R, General Manager at Mercure Charlestown, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear HolidayMum02,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Charlestown. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
3.4 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Charlestown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Charlestown

Property: Mercure Charlestown
Address: 109 Madison Drive, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Charlestown 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Charlestown, is a boutique hotel situated on the peak of Madison Drive, in the convenient and central, ever expanding suburb of Charlestown. Located in the tree tops and away from busy roads, Mercure Charlestown is the perfect place to relax for business travellers, family visits or holiday makers alike. Enjoy the comfort of the 53 rooms, take in the view of Stockton beach and the serene tree top outlook from the restaurant deck, or unwind with a swim in the outdoor pool before enjoying a drink in the sunlit bar. Mercure Charlestown strives to provide you with a home away from home. Always a friendly service with a smile, clean and tidy rooms, great food, and all within a short drive from everything that Newcastle has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Charlestown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Best Western
Best Western Newcastle
Mercure Charlestown Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing