We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place, so impressed!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charlestown Executive Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I couldn't fault this place. Undercover parking. Lift up to our apartment. The 2 bedroom Apartment my family of 6 stayed in was beautifully set out and very clean. The kids loved it. I loved it so much I tried to book it the following weekend for a weekend on my own but the one bedroom apartments were booked out. I think it's definitely good value for money.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Bethmummato4kiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Manager at Charlestown Executive Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi,
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review.
We are glad that you found the apartments to be well set out.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next stay in Newcastle.
Graham and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 227 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great apartment with beautiful fittings and decor. The only downside was that the heating worked great on the bedroom level but not so well on the kitchen/living room level. Despite this minor problem, it was a great stay and I would definately recommend Charlestown Executive Apartments.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyandtrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Manager at Charlestown Executive Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Hi,
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review.
I apologise that the heating was not working effectively throughout the apartment will endeavour to ensure that it is working in all apartments from now on.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next stay in Newcastle.
Graham and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Quite expensive property without elevator access to apt 18. I was told that there was an elevator at the other end of the parking garage. However the whole system not very convenient when carrying bags up the stairs. The apartment was modern and visibly clean however the bathroom smelt like it had been cleaned with a dirty mop. The balcony was quite large with an outdoor table for dining. The Wi-Fi worked well during out brief visit. There was one table to place the laptop however no electrical receptacle. In general not enough electrical outlets/receptacles I unplugged the coffee maker in the kitchen and was able to put the ironing board up. We did not use the kitchen however it looked reasonably well equipped. The light in the bathroom above the mirror was not functional.

Room Tip: check the elevator access to the apartment especially if it is on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Manager at Charlestown Executive Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Hi,
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review.
I can see that you opted to upgrade to an apartment on the top floor during your stay and as you are aware these apartments do have only partial elevator access. I apologise that you were not informed of this when completing your upgrade.
We endeavour to maintain the absolute highest standard of cleanliness in all areas of the property and will address the cleaning staff to ensure that they are using clean mops at all times.
I am glad that the wifi worked well during your stay and we will investigate as to more electrical power points in the areas that most need them.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next stay in Newcastle.
Graham and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

If you need to be in the Charlestown area, these units are good value. However, the cleaners are not good and there's some outstanding maintenance to attend to. Unless that is looked after, the units will only be a 3.5 star rating. The wifi was free but the signal was poor so that was very frustrating.

Room Tip: Get a top floor as the underneath apartment is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Therese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Manager at Charlestown Executive Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Hi,
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review.
We endeavour to maintain the absolute highest standard of cleanliness in all areas of the property and have passed your feedback on to the cleaners.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next stay in Newcastle.
Graham and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Excellent accomodation for two - clean, modern and quiet.
Bit pricy compared to local motels but great kitchen and lounge makes up for this plus is close to shopping, food & clubs.
Will stay again whwn working in Newcastle.

Room Tip: All good but may have to use stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Manager at Charlestown Executive Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Hi,
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next stay in Newcastle.
Graham and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Had 2 nights here, booked a week in advance as it was a busy time due to Uni Games though the games finished before our booking started. $190 for Friday but $270 for the Saturday......same room, no room service (not that I expected that in an apartment). I thought that was tough but went with it as it got a reasonable write up here.

It was hard to find due to a dead end street and the highway being nearby.
The receptionists were friendly and helpful and the establishment is well presented.
It is in a quiet area that is a bit grubby, nothing to do with the apartments, just the area.
We had unit 3 that had about 15 stairs up to the living area then another 15 to the bedrooms.
There was a bathroom and ensuite but both were upstairs! The air conditioner's split system was just outside the bedroom window and it was noisy. We could not stop the (very high) blinds from flapping during the night ....it was windy but they should not have flapped, made it hard to sleep.
There was a balcony with a table and chairs that we could not access as it was locked.
The only access we had to the unit was through the garage roller door. There was an access door but we did not get a key to that either. Made it hard to access the unit quietly if someone else was resting.
The carpet throughout was tired and appeared dirty even though it had been cleaned.
The unit was well stocked with consumables.

Don't get me wrong, it is a nice place with friendly staff, but if they want to charge top dollar, it wants to be spot on.

Would stay again, but not at those prices.


There were no well rated restaurant's within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mark2390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Manager at Charlestown Executive Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Hi,
Thank you for your review.
We would like to comment on the points you raised in your review.
Bearing in mind that you stayed during School holidays and Saturday night is always fully booked we think that $270 for 3 adults and 1 child is reasonable considering we offer a fully equipped apartment rather than just a hotel room. If you look through past reviews on Trip Advisor you will see comments that our tariffs are either reasonable or very reasonable.
We have checked the 'very high blinds' in your unit and found that the chain to the side of the window is in good working order and so the Holland blind could have been rolled up to avoid flapping if the high winds that we had were leaking through the louver window.
We will see what we can do to mitigate the noise from the air conditioner.
Yes the balcony screen door was jammed shut - this was our fault as the catch on the screen door had been forced closed in the wrong position - it has now been freed and works perfectly and we are sorry for this inconvenience - we would have been happy to fix the problem during your stay if you had informed us.
The electronic keypad is linked to the garage roller door and not the passage door - this was a choice we had to make when the building was built - the passage door is rarely used as it serves as a fire escape should the roller door be inoperable.
Lastly, our carpets are regularly shampooed however there were some marks on the carpet for which we apologise - the carpet is booked in to be thoroughly cleaned.
We hope that you will stay with us again sometime in the future.
Graham Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I booked for three nights at this incredible complex. The rooms are absolutely beautiful with one of the best fit outs I have ever seen. Everything you could wish for and more.
However as I started to settle in I noticed the cleaning left a lot to be desired. Lots of pubic hair in the bathroom. The killer for me was when I pulled the bed linen back to get into bed, there was more hair in there and what appeared to be blood stains. It was clear the bed linen had not been changed.
I checked out the next morning and the manager offered to give me a refund.
Its just a great pity when you find a beautiful place at a good rate and its not clean. Lift your game guys because you have a great facility.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Manager at Charlestown Executive Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

We agree you had grounds to bring these matters to our attention. we do however feel that the gravity of the situation has been overstated. We can assure you that the sheets had been washed and sterilised with bleach and ozone and the bed linen had been changed before your arrival. The bottom sheet did have some tiny black dots in an area of say a 20 cent piece and which were difficult to see and this was missed by our housekeeping staff. The dots certainly were not blood.
We apologize for the hairs you found and agree that such is unacceptable - our staff have been appraised of your experience.
We did more than 'offer' you a full refund - we actually gave you a full refund immediately we received your complaint.
Believe it or not we do try to get things right and we do take these reviews very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
0.8 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
431 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Newcastle
Ibis Budget Newcastle
#1 of 1 in Wallsend
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 25 in Newcastle
406 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#1 of 2 in Warners Bay
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panorama Motor Inn
Panorama Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlestown Executive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlestown Executive Apartments

Address: 45-47 Dickinson St, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Charlestown
Price Range: $97 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlestown Executive Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Charlestown, Newcastle Australia, - Charlestown Executive Apartments offers contemporary quality accommodation that seamlessly links the barrier between apartment living and hotel comfort. Perfectly located in its own cul-de-sac, just 15 minutes drive from Newcastle CBD, city beaches and Lake Macquarie, Charlestown ensures a quiet escape that is only minutes away from the essential business, shopping and tourist venues in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Charlestown Executive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlestown Executive Apartments Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing