We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Location, not quiet neighbours”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charlestown Executive Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quiet Location, not quiet neighbours”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Booked this accommodation on line from a search of as online site. It is a little bit out of Newcastle city centre but the quietness of the neighbor hood made up for this. Easy walk to major shopping mall and other restaurants. The unit itself was nice, but needs a little TLC on the wardrobe and entrance door that both stick.
My only gripe with this property is the noise from the unit above and the garages behind the unit I was in. The people in the unit above tended to clomp around and it transferred to the unit I had. Garage and car doors being slammed at all times and stairways behind generated a lot of noise. Unfortunately if you go for a studio you will be in this situation.
Maybe pay a bit extra for a larger unit.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a bigger unit. Studios are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gahchch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    54
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
88
43
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

stayed here for one night in a studio room on the ground floor, nice and clean and situated in a nice quiet area, very close to main shopping centre, studio room was perfect for a quick one night stay but any longer and i would feel cramped, nice clean bathroom with heater lights which is great for the cooler weather, really friendly check in and helpful staff, will be back but will stay in larger room, very well priced too, i booked through their main webpage.

Room Tip: choose a 1 bedroom if staying more than 1 night or if you will be in your room longer than a few hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunnys
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in a studio with a courtyard on our way to Sydney.
It was good value for money.
All was satisfactory to good.
Even though the studio was not within a security building, we felt safe as it was in a quiet leafy street, with parking right at the front door.
Close to shops & eateries.
The only thing was the noise from the people above in the morning, it was quite loud, we could hear them talking and walking up their stairs.
However we would stay again if we were in Newcastle again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angieyuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wow! What a great place to stay. I really can't rate the Charlstown Executive apartments highly enough. From my initial phone contact, the customer service from Graham and the team was exceptional. Nothing was too much effort (traveling with two kids under three- I had a few extra requests). Most of which were an extra cost or not available at other places.
The facilities were great, clean and very modern. The location was perfect for us. Within walking distance to a large shopping center, Mc Donald's and a kids play park. A short drive to beaches and attractions. We had a great experience and will definitely be staying here again when visiting Newcastle.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivPrestinenzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great value for a quality 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment on a quiet street. Lovely, modern and very spacious. Would happily recomend to others. Only 10 min drive down into Newcastle CBD. Reception staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for one night only on our way through to the snow but wished we could stay longer once we saw the quality of the room & the value for money! We were comparing every other place we stayed at to the Charlestown Executive Apts but nothing else lived up to them. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Unfortunately, we had to attend a family funeral near Charlestown at the end of last week, so we were looking for two apartments with 2 bedroom and 2 bathrooms in each at relatively short notice. Graham was most helpful in moving his bookings around to fit us in and making the apartments available for us when we arrived from the airport. Our party consisted of 3 gererations and we stayed for 4 nights. The apartments are almost new and are roomy, very quiet and nicely furnished. Many restaurants and take-away places are within easy walking distance, and of course Charlestown Square is only a few steps further on. The kitchen has all the facilities and utensiles you would need. It's also nice to be able to park your (hire) vehicles in the secure undercover carpark. We will definately stay there next time we are in Newcastle to see family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooksy266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
0.8 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
3.4 mi away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#1 of 2 in Warners Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlestown Executive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlestown Executive Apartments

Property: Charlestown Executive Apartments
Address: 45-47 Dickinson St, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlestown Executive Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Charlestown, Newcastle Australia, - Charlestown Executive Apartments offers contemporary quality accommodation that seamlessly links the barrier between apartment living and hotel comfort. Perfectly located in its own cul-de-sac, just 15 minutes drive from Newcastle CBD, city beaches and Lake Macquarie, Charlestown ensures a quiet escape that is only minutes away from the essential business, shopping and tourist venues in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Charlestown Executive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlestown Executive Apartments Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing