We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cockroaches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newcastle Heights Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Sydney
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cockroaches”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The bathroom was clean and the sheets were clean, which was great. But there were small cockroaches everywhere, including inside the kettle - so we couldn't even have a cup of tea. Also they turn the lights off outside at some point which is very unhelpful and dangerous. We came back at 11pm and their sign was not lit up so we missed the driveway - twice. Also there were no lights on at all in the driveway or carpark and as it was a steep walk down, really quite dangerous. Wouldn't stay there again. Not worth $124.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pphp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    10
    8
    19
See reviews for
20
12
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed two nights. The manager was friendly and helpful and check in went smoothly. Yes the rooms are a bit tatty but they were clean and everything worked. The WiFi was cheap at $10 per 24 hours with a good download allowance. I had a room service meal that was adequate on the first evening. Breakfast was good value and served on time. Keep in mind that this is not a five star hotel. Suited me but it may not suit everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed one night in Newcastle. Got a free room upgrade. Place was clean, well equipped and well priced. Reception was friendly. Shops, restaurants and yummy pub in walking distance. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jana_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This motel is not worth $95.00 per night and totally agree with others it should only be $50.00 per night. The queen size bed was disgusting - you could feel the springs, it was that bad my husband and I left the next morning at 6am...it was not worth sleeping in. This motel needs a 360 degree make over...If you want a good nights sleep and a decent looking motel then look elsewhere as this motel is not worth your money...sorry, just being honest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlestown hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Run down and falling to pieces . First time turned the shower on the water smelt. stay for two days . Not worth the $95 dollars the vanity was falling apart I've stayed in a few hotels in newcastle and none have yet be worth the asking price. this hotel should only be changing about $50 a night its on par with F1 hotel. not happy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The motel is clean, the beds are comfy but we didn't get much sleep because it is located on the Pacific Highway. We had the room located closest to the road so heard almost every car. It was central to where we had to be though and the price was reasonable

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbitohgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

good as you can expect for a motel or hotel or motel or whatever it was. it had beds and pillows and blankets and a kettle and cups and a fridge. what else can i say

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank Phillip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International
0.4 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.5 mi away
Warners at the Bay
Warners at the Bay
#2 of 2 in Warners Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panorama Motor Inn
Panorama Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Heights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Heights Motel

Property: Newcastle Heights Motel
Address: 270 Pacific Hwy, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newcastle Heights Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable, comfortable, conveniently located motel in Charlestown. Less than 5 minutes to the region's two largest shopping centers. 5-10 minutes to Lake Macquarie, Newcastle CBD and the best beaches Newcastle has to offer. We have 14 double/twin/triple rooms accommodation up to 3, 4 family room (the largest accommodation up to 5) and a two bedroom unit accommodation up to 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newcastle Heights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Heights Motel Greater Newcastle/Charlestown, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing