We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep looking...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newcastle Heights Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Keep looking...”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a trip from Brisbane to Sydney. Called in overnight to catch up with an old friend - booked through wotif.com... Regretted it the moment we opened the door.

Pros: - Was clean, and reasonably maintained. Nice hot shower! Receptionist was friendly enough. Location is great! Pity the owners don't capitalise on the location! Heaps of passing clientele for sure.

Cons: - Draught stoppers supplied to stop the cold coming in under the door?? Really?? It's 2012! Aircon was beyond loud - too loud to even use. Bed - absolute shocker... Was barely able to walk the next day! I swear I spent half the night counting the number of springs I could feel! LOL Room furnished with second hand 'at hotel auction' furniture.

Just felt it was over-priced for what it is... $50 a night is probably where they should be charging for what it is...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    10
    8
    20
See reviews for
21
12
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Got a cheap standby rate but the room was ultra old. Clean but run down. Staff were ok. Not a bad location. Good for only one night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlestown hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Staying for 2nights, like others thought the price would be something basic and clean but it was anything but, 1st walked into room with door wide open, smelt like a cat had peed inside and looked in the bathroom and tiles need a good scrub, tiles raised by door with no edging causing stubbing on feet! OUCH! Wont be back

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caitlynmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

first glimpse of the room wasn't great, looked a bit run down and the furniture seemed old. There is a gap under the door however a draft stopper is provided to help with this. The bed was really hard and you could feel the springs through mattress,it felt like sleeping on lumpy wood. There are so called rules in the motel info provided which included receiving a fine if you were noisy, quite how they would enforce this I do not know!! a plus for the room was the coffee making facilities however most motels provide this anyway. This motel is not value for money it should be half the price, it shouldn't be more than 50/60 dollars in my opinion. It does have a good location and easy access off the highway!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZoeanLiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie NSW
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Having picked up the room for around $100, we expected something basic but clean, we were however very disappointed! On arriving at the door it was wide open in order to air the room we guessed, but with no screens on the door or windows, the room was full of flies, resulting in the next hour spent swatting them!!

As the windows didnt open, we needed the air conditioner to cool the room down, but when it was turned on, the sound was equivalent to 4 Boeing 747's taking off at the same time. This left us with a choice of air con or TV, as the latter could not be heard above the noise of the former. The air con also had to turned off at night in order to sleep and with no opening windows or door screens and no ceiling fan, there was literally no fresh air on a warm night!

The bathroom fittings were dreadfully stained, particularly the toilet bowl and the towels were so thin as to be almost see through. The ambience of the bathroom could only be described as sickening. On a positive note it is walkable to Charlestown Square, the staff were friendly and we only had to put up with the place for one night! We would not stay again even if the price was $10 per night and recommend any reader makes the same decision!

Room Tip: Go to ANY other hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidH2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I spent 4 nights here and was happy with the accommodation. It is not fancy, but clean and has a couple of extras e.g. microwave, toaster as well as the standard fridge, kettle and tea/coffee supplies. A basic room at a good price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Needed room for a couple of nights due to family commitments nearby!
Booked room from internet. Photos of motel looked O.K!
When we arrived did not look anything like the doctored photos on the net!
Recieved keys to the motel room from reception, went to room and took keys back again!
Terrible old overpriced run down dump! Cracks in walls, paint peeling off. Cupboards swollen due to water damage! Bathroom resembles worst mens room on the planet!
Carpet stained with I dont know what?
Asking price for room ridiculous!
Drove down road to another motel for the night! Same price better cleaner motel!
Avoid this place like the plague!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OzDownunderSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
390 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
43 reviews
3.8 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quality Suites Boulevard On Beaumont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Heights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Heights Motel

Property: Newcastle Heights Motel
Address: 270 Pacific Hwy, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newcastle Heights Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable, comfortable, conveniently located motel in Charlestown. Less than 5 minutes to the region's two largest shopping centers. 5-10 minutes to Lake Macquarie, Newcastle CBD and the best beaches Newcastle has to offer. We have 14 double/twin/triple rooms accommodation up to 3, 4 family room (the largest accommodation up to 5) and a two bedroom unit accommodation up to 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newcastle Heights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Heights Motel Greater Newcastle/Charlestown, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing