We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old cider house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Cider House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were here for one night after visiting Cheddar Gorge on our way to meet up with friends in Cornwall. We were given a smartbox as a Christmas present and chosen the Old Cider House for our one night stay and it was a great choice. Lovely hosts comfortable room and a great breakfast, best bacon we have ever tasted! Would recommend and would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOCH-UK, Owner at The Old Cider House, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

The best bacon ever tasted comes from Fauns, our village butcher. We shall pass on your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 201 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just back from a very relaxing two days at the Cider House.The area is fabulous for walking, and Ian was kind enough to print out a great local walk for us ,and they kindly directed us off to a pub quiz as well for out first evening at the very hospitable Rose and Crown .The whole atmosphere is very laid back, but still efficient, Ozzie the labrador clearly enjoys having visitors, the bacon at breakfast from the local butcher was excellent and there's a real sense of being on holiday about the place .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FiveElementGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I were given a Buy a Gift Voucher from our children as a joint birthday present. We decided on The Old Cider House, or my husband did as he discovered it had a micro-brewery! He also added on an extra night. I am glad he did! On arrival we received a warm, welcome greeting and a pot of tea from Ian and Ozy his black lab. A good start to our weekend. The room was clean and lovely with lots of personal touches, a good view, decent shower, tea & coffee facilities plus delicious biscuits! My hubby was very happy as he could park his beloved car in the private car park behind the building. Breakfast was first class, organic, local produce and served by Lynn and Ian. After breakfast, Ian showed us how he brewed his beer in the micro-brewery accompanied by the clucking of their chickens. They were both very helpful, advising us where to eat locally and where to visit. Dog friendly. A fantastic weekend made great by good hosts!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were here for our anniversary and it couldn't have been more wonderful! The little touches like home made biscuits, really made our stay. Loved the view out of our window, and how quiet and serene it was. We would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joandsarahmcgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We too had a Smart Box stay and chose to add on an extra night. Our arrival was very friendly, we were shown to our room and offered a cup of tea in the lounge with Ozzy. Breakfast was fine, and I was looked after with my dietary needs. We also had a meal in on the Sunday which was nicely cooked and presented. Enjoyed the company of Lynne and Ian too. What was really special that they helped us celebrate our wedding anniversary with champagne, thank you so much for this lovely thought. We will recommend you to our friends.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the Castle room, although it is in the front not too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetteS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and i recently stayed at this B&B. I am afraid we were not met with a warm friendly welcome, merely lukewarm. They owners were pleasant enough but did not seem willing to engage in conversation until we checked out. We were invited to dine on our first night. For 80 pounds per night the breakfast did not offer good value for money. half a slice of toast each over cooked poached eggs and two small cups of coffee is not really good value. i also did not enjoy eating my breakfast with a dog wandering around and sitting at the table looking longingly. I am seriously allergic to dogs and the choice when i am eating would have been preferred as it stood and shook several times while i was eating my breakfast. It was a beautiful dog but feel that if dog owners bring their dogs and are not allowed in the dining room, the same should apply to the owners as some people like me are allergic. we were very disappointed at not being offered to try the homebrew or for the owners to not even draw it to our attention. On the whole i feel the place was overpriced for the standard provided. The bed also creaked constantly which was very annoying when trying to sleep

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOCH-UK, Owner at The Old Cider House, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

In the unusual event of us receiving a poor review we take a long hard look at what we do, and have the following response:

Booking into the UK’s most dog friendly B&B (awarded by the Kennel Club) and being severely allergic to dogs could show a lack of foresight. Turning up an hour before the agreed arrival time will find us busy preparing for guests arriving as planned. Ordering a different breakfast from everyone else may have resulted in the eggs being less than perfect (for which we apologise). Declining our offer to eat and drink with us is probably the reason that our beer was not consumed.

Fresh eggs from our own hens, bacon and sausage from our local butcher, as much home-made toasted bread as requested are good value. If guests choose not to partake, then it is bizarre that they would complain.

In life we find that some individuals are the author of their own misfortunes and we shall put this review down to “you can’t please all the people all the time”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A very easy-going establishment for whom the phrase "home from home" was probably invented. Also, if you're a bit nervous about where you park your car (we have an old classic) the Old Cider House has adequate spaces at the back, behind gates - so completely hidden from view.
Terrific breakfasts, a comfortable lounge and a pint from their own micro-brewery.
Loved it...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOCH-UK, Owner at The Old Cider House, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Perhaps we don’t make enough of our gated parking, but this is ideal for those with classic cars, motorbikes or mountain bikes. Good to have you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Stowey
1.2 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
2.0 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#1 of 6 in Nether Stowey
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ancient Mariner
The Ancient Mariner
#3 of 6 in Nether Stowey
71 reviews
2.5 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
696 reviews
14.7 mi away
Frog Street Farmhouse
Frog Street Farmhouse
#1 of 54 in Taunton
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Cider House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Cider House

Address: 25 Castle Street, Nether Stowey TA5 1LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Nether Stowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nether Stowey
Price Range: $92 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We run the sort of guesthouse that we would want to stay at. That's why we cook good simple food, buy locally and have our own microbrewery. We are relaxed, un-stuffy and welcome dogs. A great place for walking, mountain biking, sightseeing and, above all, relaxing. So, turn off the Blackberry and have a good time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Cider House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Cider House Hotel Nether Stowey
The Old Cider House Nether Stowey, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing