We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually are dog friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Cider House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Actually are dog friendly!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

So many times you see advertised that a business is dog friendly and when you arrive you discover you are only tolerated , this was not the case here, ronnie our large hairy newf was made to feel very welcome. Dog treats on arrival and we were greeted by ozy, who I would have smuggled home with me if my husband had allowed. We had requested a downstairs room and couldn't complain, it was spacey enough for Ron as well as us and clean and airy. The handy booklet was fab, informing us of walks, and pubs that were dog friendly in the area, thanks for the recommendation for the rose and crown, another lovely dog friendly pub. We had the Saturday evening meal and not only was it delicious but also a jolly affair. Although we had our own tables we all talked and chatted and our hosts also joined us adding to the party atmosphere. Breakfast was also delicious and much needed after an early morning stroll around the village. Although not huge portions each item was delicious and the homemade bread and homemade gooseberry jam was divine ( I could have eaten it all day!!) my husband joined in the talk at the micro brewery whilst the beast and I strolled round the garden and met the chickens. Lovely relaxing time was had by all three of us and I'm especially grateful that when Ron got a bit fractious at being left in the room, he was allowed out to join us. The plumbing as mentioned in previous reviews can be a little noisy but this just added to the character of the place. Very friendly and welcoming and the standard of food and drink supplied was excellent. We will be coming back if only for ozy to teach Ron the napkin trick!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOCH-UK, Owner at The Old Cider House, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
'Glad to hear that you and Ronnie enjoyed your stay with us. Like you we have stayed in places that purported to be 'Dog Friendly' but were only really dog tolerant. We therefore try to make our dog guests and and their owners feel welcome and relaxed when they stay with us. We are also fortunate to live in and area of the country that is extremely dog friendly and will continue promote this aspect of the Quantocks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    40
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
120
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed only one night for B and B, but the meal preparations that evening smelt good, and Ian told me they were catering specially for someone with gluten intolerance. My room was comfortable, and I was lucky to pay a low price for a double although on my own only few days before my stay. Just one little point - if you like to read in bed, take a portable book light. Lighting was a bit dim, and the bedside lamps too low to cast much light. Excellent breakfast, with service by Oscar in removing the napkins, which amused everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missusf_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOCH-UK, Owner at The Old Cider House, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We do like cooking and gluten free guests allow us to try out new dishes we wouldn't normally try. Coincidentally, while responding to this review (24.11.12) we have another opportunity and have just made a lovely orange and almond sponge.
As for the light - thank you for this. We try to keep the light ambient and if this is an issue we need to think of a solution. Any ideas anybody?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed for a long week-end and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The hospitality was excellent with such a warm welcome.
Made to feel really at home by Ian and Lynne with great information regarding local dog friendly amenities, inns and walks.
Trying to teach Oscar (our springer spaniel) trick with serviettes/napkins as displayed by Ozzy - however , unable to teach old dog new tricks.
Hopitality shown by Ozzy to Oscar - first class and so accomadating - sharing treats , toys etc.
Evening meal , breakfast , home made beer , local wine - all very , very pleasant.
Very impressed and pleased with everything - and wiil return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in the Old Cider House for a short weekend break, but even in that little time Lynne and Ian made us feel at home and served some great taste experiences (from home brewn beer with Japanese hops, to freshly made plum crumble and an excellent english breakfast).
The house was very clean, nicely decorated and the rooms were very spacious.
As a highlight on the sunday morning Ian took us around the small brewery, which was brilliant!
Thanks again for everything and we will hopefully have a chance to return - until then I will follow Ozy on Twitter.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddy_0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at the Old Cider House for three nights in August and would just like to re iterate what most of the other reviewers have said about the welcome and hospitality that Lynne and Ian offer.
Ian and Lynne are great hosts we found them to be very friendly and accomodating .
But as several other reviewers have mentioned Ozzy with his big brown eyes steals the show.
Especially with his table clearing skills after what is an excellent breakfast.
We would also like to thank Ian for showing and explaining all about his Nano brewery and the brewing process.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LutonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the old cider house in August and were delighted to be greeted with tea and homemade flapjack after our long drive. Ozzy the dog was the star of the show, collecting everyone's napkins after breakfast! The breakfast was delicious, the rooms comfy and spacious and the hosts friendly and welcoming. I would definitely recommend the old cider house if you're looking for somewhere peaceful to stay in the Quantocks.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had three fabulous nights at The Old Cider House in July 2012 along with our puppy Bonnie.We were made very welcome by Lynne, Ian and Ozzy. We stayed in the Orchard Room which was spotlessly clean and our puppy was well catered for with water bowl,mat etc which was much appreciated.Breakfast was substantial,freshly cooked and certainly set us up for the day. We ate at The Old Cider House each evening the meals were delicious.Certainly a place we would recommend and a place we hope to visit again.
Peter, Maggie and Bonnie

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOCH-UK, Owner at The Old Cider House, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
What a lovely review. Tell Bonnie that we're just about to make some new home made dog biscuits as we had run out when she was here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Stowey
1.2 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
2.0 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
113 reviews
13.8 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#1 of 6 in Nether Stowey
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ancient Mariner
The Ancient Mariner
#3 of 6 in Nether Stowey
66 reviews
2.5 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Cider House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Cider House

Property: The Old Cider House
Address: 25 Castle Street, Nether Stowey TA5 1LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Nether Stowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nether Stowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We run the sort of guesthouse that we would want to stay at. That's why we cook good simple food, buy locally and have our own microbrewery. We are relaxed, un-stuffy and welcome dogs. A great place for walking, mountain biking, sightseeing and, above all, relaxing. So, turn off the Blackberry and have a good time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Cider House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Cider House Hotel Nether Stowey
The Old Cider House Nether Stowey, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing