We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming & friendly. Great for a drink, questionable dining experience”

The Rose & Crown Inn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Charles, the landlord, was immediately welcoming and chatty when we walked through the door and we felt very comfortable. The problems started when we ordered food. We had the first order of the night - one of the dishes was off the menu from the start. Our food took 55 minutes to arrive. One meal (the gammon) was fine, but the 16oz steak meal was unacceptable: The 16oz steak was ordered rare, but what arrived were 2 well-cooked 8oz steaks. They were sent back and another two arrived, perfectly cooked but took a bit of chewing. We couldn't face another wait for dessert so left. We'd highly recommend coming here for a drink and chat, but may be best not to bother with the food, especially if in a rush!

2  Thank HJF68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose & Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

This review has left us slightly confused. With the best will in the world we cannot guarantee to have everything on the menu available all of the time because it gets eaten!. The initial delay with the food was due to the kitchen not being ready to cook at 6.00pm (our starting time) for which we must apologise. The first steaks were replaced without question - we are well aware that different people have differing views on what is 'rare' 'well done' or whatever, and will always replace or re-cook a steak if asked. Their replacements were checked back on by our waitress, who was told they were 'lovely' (and who very much appreciated her tip - thank you). Indeed, the review says that they were 'perfectly cooked', although we do not understand the apparent contradiction between 'perfectly cooked' and 'took a bit of chewing'. There was, of course, no reason to assume that there would have been an unacceptable wait for desserts. Finally, we would agree with you that visiting us for food when in a rush is not a good idea - there may be a wait for a table, and all of our food is cooked to order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for The Rose & Crown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 23 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very good Dog Friendly Accommodation & Bar: Only stopped off for a drink, whilst out on a walk. Even though we were soaking Wet, Toby included, we were made to feel welcome. Thanks

Thank Gwynnie1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had a bowl of their homemade mushroom soup for lunch, which was brilliant value at £3.95,and tasted great to. Friendly landlord and excellent Ringwood beer as well. Recommended!

Thank battybird1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose & Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thanks for this review - I am glad you enjoyed lunch! Our 'soup of the day' is always home-made and changes regularly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay. The food was fine without being fancy, and was served in the main bar/room. Pretty standard pub food really (steak, pie, meatballs, lasagne) at pretty standard prices. We were happy to sup our beer while waiting for our order to be cooked, but its fair to say (as noted by other reviewers) that the service was quite slow. But we weren't in any rush. The impression we got is that the kitchen struggles to cope if busy, so either book to eat early or be prepared to have a leisurely meal.

The pub is a Marston's pub so the two main ales were Pedigree and Forty Niner. The latter is a nice pint which slips down very easily but is actually 4.9% alcohol. Sadly the local Exmoor Ale (which was good) ran out after my first pint. But the beer must have been OK as we stuck around for a couple more afterwards.

Big TV for sport etc in back room a bonus if the footy is on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mr_Morcilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great food but make sure that you book as it's popular and only a small number of covers. The Duck and Port pudding is lush! Friendly staff and pleasant surroundings.

Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose & Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you very much for this review. You are quite right - booking is always a good idea as we are busy most of the time, The Duck and Port pudding is a very popular choice. I'm pleased that you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose & Crown Inn also viewed

Nether Stowey, Somerset
Nether Stowey, Somerset
 
 
Spaxton, Bridgwater
 

Been to The Rose & Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing