We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rose & Crown Inn

The Rose & Crown Inn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Super Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I visit my daughter 2 or 3 times a year.
Every time I visit we have Sunday Lunch at the Rose and Crown.
The veg is fresh and cooked perfectly.
Caulieflower cheese is to die for.
You can not fault the meat or the price.
Beer is not bad either.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I have only been here for a sunday lunch but well worth it. Great food and beer, will recommend to anyone but book in advance. There is a great atmosphere here as well

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hove
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a nice pint of Abbotts Ale in here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

We liked the quirky clocks and artefacts everywhere, the lovely beer, and the owners 2 friendly dogs who gave us puppydog eyes for crisps!
The only thing we did feel a bit was that no one really spoke to us so we felt a bit like outsiders in a locals pub! But hey, we were so!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank HoveLinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nether Stowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Sunday lunch is to die for, huge portion for £7.95 per head choice of Pork, Beef or Chicken, I always have the Pork comes with crackling, roast pots and freshly cooked veggies and apple sauce, just wish it had some sage and onion stuffing with it but I can live without as its so good. They also do a great deal Mon - Wed nights two people can eat 2 courses including a glass of wine each for a total of £14.95, I can recomend the Sausage and Mash! Lovely pub, lovely food and a great landlord and staff.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clumbermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty home cooked food and great beers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Their Meal Deal (Mon - Weds) is great - selection of 2 courses + a glass of wine for 2 people (starter and main or main and pudding) for £14.95! Really good home cooked food and the wine is good too - no cheap stuff! You may have to wait a while as everything is freshly cooked - but it's worth a wait. Their beers are excellent too - awarded a casque mark. Charles and Barbara go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Roaring fire makes it very cosy! All in all a good experience. Looking forward to their Folk group evening. Their Sunday lunches in the Restaurant are good value too.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NormaSomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose & Crown Inn also viewed

Nether Stowey, Somerset
Nether Stowey, Somerset
 

Been to The Rose & Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing