We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ancient coaching inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nether Stowey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rose and Crown Inn
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is an ancient coaching inn. The manager was very fiendly, but the bar staff rather curt. The family room was very pleasant. Well decorated and clean, with nice tea, coffee biscuits and water but still has the sense that this Inn is very old. The bar food was OK but the bar is quite noisy and there are not any local beers. Overall I would recommend this for travellers looking for a historic setting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for The Rose and Crown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 54 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

Excellent food, great hospitality, friendly staff with a fantastic atmosphere in a beautiful location!! Really enjoyed my stay at rose and crown was relaxed and the staff made sure that I had all I needed and if not they were more than happy to help... I could not fault the service it was top class.. Room was clean and tidy and kept that way through my stay with daily cleaning. Well recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owenlambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We tried this pub on our second night in this village and had a table reserved by the owner of our B&B. They serve decent local ale and have a reasonably priced menu.
I ordered the steak & ale pie which was very tasty and the beef was very tender, however I do not understand the idea of serving the pie in a dish with the vegetables in a separate dish. Plate it up properly as a meal please.
Anyway, my wife ordered a salmon dish and we were told later by the waitress that this meal was not available so she went for lasagne, also not available. Bear in mind that this is early Saturday evening with two dishes off the menu. She settled on cottage pie and after waiting almost 1 hour the food arrived. The cottage pie was again in a dish with separate vegetables and was quite dry so we asked for some additional gravy, the waitress retired to the kitchen and returned to say that they did not have any gravy! I cannot believe that a pub kitchen does not have gravy granules that could be made up quickly. A short walk down the road to the local shop would have provided just this.
A simple problem that could have been so easily solved spoiled what could have been a very good evening.
If you like your meals in separate dishes (a rather outdated way now I think) and are content to eat dry meals or coat them in tomato/brown sauce, give it a go.
By the way, the bar man was great, maybe let down by the rest of the staff/management.
Saturday 29th June 2013.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

After reading all the positive reviews we decided that this was "our sort of pub" and as we were holidaying within 6 miles decided to visit for an evening meal. The pub looked lovely and so did the menu, unfortunately for us a group of "locals" made it very clear from the outset that all of the tables we attempted to sit at were unofficially reserved- and then went to the extreme of placing a reserved sign on a table after we had sat down at it. When we apologised and said we didnt realise it was reserved they replied"it wasnt - but it is now". And so, reluctantly we left. Not the landlords fault I know, and judging from other reviews this is not typical behaviour but I'm afraid we wont be hurrying back.

,

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank hanley37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose and Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

It is hard to know how to respond to this review because it sounds so totally out of character for both the pub and our 'regulars'. It is true that we do get very busy on occasions, which means that tables can be in short supply. However, the locals are - pretty much without exception - friendly and welcoming, and happy to share a table at a pinch. Our bar staff will also always try to sort out a table somewhere if it is at all possible.

It is a shame that we don't have more details of your visit, but if you would like to email or telephone us I would be pleased to discuss this further. In the meantime please accept my apologies for your missed meal - and at least one of our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Perfect way to start our walk. A good country pub. Good sized wholesome meals and decent beer. The rooms were great, just the way an old inn should be! Creaky, uneven floors, old and solid.
Breakfast was exactly what was needed for the first day of the walk.

Very welcoming to walkers, they organised packed lunches and, at very short notice, dropped some of the bags at the next stop over for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived to a friendly welcome on our GS1150A sidecar outfit.
We've been before, we came back, we like it and we'll be back again.
Not luxurious, but comfortable, clean, full of character, quaint and roomy with great food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We popped into the Rose and Crown a few weeks ago whilst staying in the area.

We were greeted by friendly staff and a cosy atmosphere; our dog especially liked the warm open fireplace. A nice selection of local ales/ciders and a good Sunday lunch menu; we had roast beef/lamb baguettes with roast potatoes - yum!

... A great dog-friendly pub with good food and ales!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Stowey
1.4 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.0 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#1 of 6 in Nether Stowey
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Cider House
The Old Cider House
#2 of 6 in Nether Stowey
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ancient Mariner
The Ancient Mariner
#3 of 6 in Nether Stowey
70 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown Inn

Address: 5 St. Mary Street, Nether Stowey TA5 1LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Nether Stowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nether Stowey
Price Range: $50 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rose and Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th Century coaching inn located in Nether Stowey, in the Quantock Hills AONB. We were the first pub in the Quantocks to win the ‘Cask-Marque’ for the excellence of our real ales. Our kitchen serves home-made food every day. We have a beautiful beer garden with a children’s play area, and a cosy bar with a log fire and free Wi-Fi. All our bedrooms are en-suite. Our Family Suite can accommodate up to five. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Inn Nether Stowey, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing