We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“vERY FRIENDLY, UN PRETENTIOUS PUB”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nether Stowey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rose and Crown Inn
West Wickham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“vERY FRIENDLY, UN PRETENTIOUS PUB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Recently stayed for a weekend at the Rose and Crown and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owners were very friendly and made us very welcome. Our room was very warm and cosy and the beds so comfortable. The bar area where we ate our meals was also very warm with a log fire burning. Evening meals on both nights were excellent as was the breakfast we had both mornings - it really set us up for the day. The lack of car park was a very minor inconvenience but we had travelled quite light so had no heavy suitcases to shift around and we found space to park in the road within 100 yards.
Bed and breakfast rate was £70 per room per night and was excellent value; we really recommend staying here

Room Tip: I think all rooms are at the back of the pub and therefore are all quiet - ours certainly was !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hubbardfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
17
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is a great pub with good food and good beer!The landlord made us feel welcome from the minute we walked through the door! also being a dog owner it was great to find a place welcomed dogs

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catmandontdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Been going to the Rose on and off for 5 years now and still think it's the most consistently, best served real ale for miles, with Cask Marque recognition to boot. The pub's been serving ale for hundreds and hundreds of years and is brimming with history. Open fires in the lounge bar in winter, the best family beer garden for miles in the summer. Food's good, staying guests keep coming back - worth paying a visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Harris0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

We had a great stay at the Rose and Crown. The room was excellent and the bed was really comfortable. The owner and the staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was good, especially the curries. The only problem was with parking, but there is a free car park nearby. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We would heartedly recommend it. The owners & staff are extremely friendly & helpful - my car broke down just as we arrived & the owner could not have been more helpful, not only allowing me to ring my breakdown agents, but when they were less than helpful, ringing around his local contacts & finding a mechanic - late on a Friday afternoon - who came-out & fixed the car on the spot (& charged next to nothing for it!).
More generally, the food was first class - the chips are to die for!; a good pint; & homely comfortable rooms, though the floors are a bit quirky reflecting the age of the building. A really nice place to stay & great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bham uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Myself and my son stayed here 3 nights at the end of September. Food and accommodation was enjoyable with excellent bar and pool table. The owners were sociable and it was a nice atmosphere in a nice village and ideal for Stogumber staion if you want to travel on west somerset railway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

This lovely old Inn suited us 'down to the ground'. It is an active part of a 'sleepy' little village and caters for locals and visitors alike. We even took part in the Pub Quiz, which we normally steer clear of. The food is good and the 'meal deal' on a Mon, Tue and Wed is a bargain. Our twin room (No2) was clean and spacious and the full english breakfast (served in the dining room) was too tempting - diet starts next week.
Food service can be slow but it's nice and fresh. Car parking is in the street and at times the car was remote but the village appeared 'safe' to us. The WiFi is free but only works in the bar area - a good excuse for a beer.
The owner Charles takes pride in providing a good service and is 'on hand' to ensure your stay is a good one - a refeshing change from the the 'chain' hotels.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Stowey
1.4 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
1.8 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ancient Mariner
The Ancient Mariner
#3 of 6 in Nether Stowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#1 of 6 in Nether Stowey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.7 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Cider House
The Old Cider House
#2 of 6 in Nether Stowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown Inn

Property: The Rose and Crown Inn
Address: 5 St. Mary Street, Nether Stowey TA5 1LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Nether Stowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Nether Stowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rose and Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th Century coaching inn located in Nether Stowey, in the Quantock Hills AONB. We were the first pub in the Quantocks to win the ‘Cask-Marque’ for the excellence of our real ales. Our kitchen serves home-made food every day. We have a beautiful beer garden with a children’s play area, and a cosy bar with a log fire and free Wi-Fi. All our bedrooms are en-suite. Our Family Suite can accommodate up to five. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Inn Nether Stowey, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing