We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MARYS BIRTHDAY CELABRATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bell at Old Sodbury
Ranked #1 of 4 Old Sodbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Well were do I start? After being let down by another local restaurant we chose this business to lay on a celebration meal for my wife. When first contact was made (NOV.2013) it was stated that at that time they did not have 2014 diary started but would make a note. My daughter and myself visited the hostelry a week before the event and sure enough it was entered in the diary. The young man who we spoke to could not have been more helpful answering all our questions in full, he even went and got the chef so that we could discuss our requirements.
On the evening (our party of 15 people),could not have been attended to better.
The food was served quickly efficiently and all at the same time (which takes some doing).
The quality was excellent and ALL members of the party commented to myself on this.
As for the manager "LEE" what a character, absolutely nothing was too much trouble for him or any of his team. Our every request was dealt with immediately and efficiently. I do not normally put comments on trip advisor, but in this case I have to.
A perfect evening.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank rod448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Bell at Old Sodbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent meal with us.

It sounds as though our staff really looked after you from the outset of your initial inquiry right through to the actual evening.

Your comments have been passed on to the team, especially Lee!!

Thank you once again for your super write-up and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Bell soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for The Bell at Old Sodbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 217 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had a last minute stay at The Bell on Saturday night. Although the pub was very busy with Christmas parties the staff were great and found us a table - nothing was too much trouble. The room was great and it was a bonus having Sky. Lee, the manager, was a really great chap and made our stay very comfortable. We will be back

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back although the traffic noise did not bother us a...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen-Phill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Bell at Old Sodbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Wow - what a wonderful review!! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We have passed your comments onto Lee, the pub manager, who was delighted to see your review.

Thank you once again and we hope you choose to stay with us the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for just the single night, we found the room very clean and cosy, with a bonus of sky tv and free wifi, the staff were all very friendly indeed. Only thing I would say is that the road was a bit noisy at night but that's no fault of the Bell, I would definitely use again and would have no hesitation in recommending them to any of my friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brianfielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Bell at Old Sodbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to read what a 'cosy' stay you had with us and how you would happily recommend us!!

The traffic can, unfortunately, be a little noisy. As you say there is not much we can do about this but if staying with us again please book Room 1 - this overlooks the garden and is next to the stream that runs past the pub.

Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Called last minute on 11th December & was fortunate not only to be accommodated, but also to have a choice of rooms. Room One was charming with beams & a wonderful cosy atmosphere. It was spotlessly clean, as was the en-suite shower room. Everyone was wonderfully friendly & the wi-fi worked perfectly. Having Sky TV was an added bonus.

This wonderful inn would be my first port of call when staying in the area again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Bell at Old Sodbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you have given us on Trip Advisor!!

Room 1 is indeed a lovely room with the beams etc and we were only to glad to read how much you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Please do try us again when next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here one Saturday night so that we could visit Bath Christmas Market; the room we were allocated was lovely, clean and spacious. The staff were friendly and welcoming although it was a busy night for them with numerous large parties. Unfortunately, we hadn't pre-booked for dinner in the pub restaurant but the staff said they'd try to fit us in nevertheless, albeit it much later in the evening - we opted to go elsewhere and found a great Italian restaurant in nearby Chipping Sodbury. Although the bed was very comfy with lovely crisp bedlinen, we didn't have a great night's sleep as windows are not double glazed and the road outside is quite noisy - apparently this is a problem that is going to be addressed in the future. Breakfast was a full English, which we did have to choose the a night before and there was no menu as such. However, my daughter is gluten intolerant and this was no trouble for the kitchen staff, who made her a wonderful gluten free version. All in all, it was a great, convenient, friendly place to stay and I would go back there myself and also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Bell at Old Sodbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

We were glad to read how accommodating the staff were upon your recent visit, and how comfortable you found all of the amenities, despite the traffic noise!!

Please do book with us again in the future when staying in the area, and also try and book into our restaurant - the food is wonderful!

Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed one Saturday night 7th Dec - busy xmas trade! Despite being busy, the service was superb, friendly and attentive. Food was excellent, room spotless and full SKY TV a bonus! Irish Manager couldn't do enough to help. Only negative would be regarding room location - Room 1 is at the back directly over the rear entrance door, where smokers congregate directly under the bedroom window - very noisy until early hours! However, I would definitely visit again (avoiding Room 1).

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1 at back of Hotel - noisy
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Bell at Old Sodbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We glad to read how highly you thought of the amenities, the food and the staff and have passed on your comments to all concerned.

As a 'foodie' pub and B&B we do not generally have very much late night custom and so would expect the garden entrance under your room was much busier than normal due to the festive season.

Thanks once again for choosing The Bell at Old Sodbury, and for writing such a wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

On arrival the staff were really friendly. I had a large room, clean, light, sky tv,wi-fi, powerfull shower, great food. Good for sole traveller, couple or family.
One tiny little gripe - had to choose what I wanted for breakfast in the evening - had no idea so went for a full fry-up!!
Overall - great.

Room Tip: My room looked onto main road and car park - but was large and traffic presented no issue.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan_at_Nibley, Public Relations Manager at The Bell at Old Sodbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Bell at Old Sodbury and for writing such a wonderful review.

We were pleased to note that you had enjoyed all of the amenities your room had to offer.

The nature of the business does rather demand that we know the night before what our guests would like for breakfast in the morning. This is because we are not a large hotel, so cannot prep lots of food knowing that it won't go to waste.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and we hope you choose to stay with us when next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Sodbury
2.4 mi away
Best Western Compass Inn
Best Western Compass Inn
#1 of 1 in Tormarton
373 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
10.1 mi away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
812 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cross Hands Hotel
The Cross Hands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Old Sodbury
333 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crown Inn at Tolldown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell at Old Sodbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell at Old Sodbury

Address: Badminton Road, Old Sodbury BS37 6LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Old Sodbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Old Sodbury
Price Range: $114 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell at Old Sodbury offers four individually designed, comfortable and chic rooms. All rooms provide en-suite bathrooms, fine Egyptian cotton sheets and all the modern conveniences including free wifi, tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs with Blu-Ray DVD players (including complimentary access to our Blu-Ray DVD collection) as well as SKY TV with Sports and Movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bell at Old Sodbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing