We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff can't do enough for you”

The Bell Inn at Old Sodbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed August 4, 2014

First visit for many a year now that it doesn't look "run down". Welcome smiles on arrival, food menu and specials sound interesting and taste just as good. Garden out the back looked nice enough. Beers on tap pretty good as well (although maybe a tad chilled for my liking - but my mates say I'm picky). All in all, a good visit and one to be repeated. PS : A big thank you especially to the staff for making my Mum feel like a valued Customer the week before. That's why I came in this week.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CornishJanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg G, Owner at The Bell Inn at Old Sodbury, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful and detailed review here on our Trip Advisor page.

We've spent a lot of time on the gardens here this year and so were pleased that you had noticed how good they're looking.

We're pleased your mum had had a good visit with us the week before too and we look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 214 of 290 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

never disappointed with the Bell. Always brilliant service from the staff, and the food is always great. Good sized garden, and a very well priced menu!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cyoung2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg G, Owner at The Bell Inn at Old Sodbury, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind review of The Bell on our Trip Advisor page.

The staff were all chuffed with your comments on both the food and service and cannot wait to welcome you back to The Bell in the not too distant future.

Thanks once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Warm welcome from very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely decor inside and comfortable lounge area outside. Haven't visited for a while but been back twice in a week.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank GarfieldStokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg G, Owner at The Bell Inn at Old Sodbury, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to give such a great write-up on your recent visit to The Bell at Old Sodbury.

We were thrilled to read your comments on how much you'd enjoyed your visits and how pleased you were with the service. It's also really nice to get comments on the decor of the pub as a lot of time and thought goes into creating the right surroundings and ambiance for customers to relax in.

Thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Bell on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Visited The Bell Inn for the first time and had a very good experience.
Food was excellent.
Good selection of drinks available.
Nice friendly atmosphere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg G, Owner at The Bell Inn at Old Sodbury, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a lovely write-up here on Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to note how much you had enjoyed the food, drinks and atmosphere and hope to welcome you back to The Bell in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Have had several lunches at the pub and have never been disappointed. The food is always of a high standard and the choice is interesting and varied
The greatest thing about The Bell though is fantastic! The staff are so helpful and friendly that it makes you want to come back just for that!
Overall, The Bell is the first choice for me if I am thinking of somewhere for lunch. I have not been in the evening but I would imagine it to be just as good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Penny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg G, Owner at The Bell Inn at Old Sodbury, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Penny Y,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, your comments and a good reputation on Trip Advisor mean a lot to us.

We were pleased to read how much you had enjoyed lunch at The Bell on so many occasions. As you can imagine, the staff were really pleased to read your comments on the service they provide.

Thanks for making us your 'first choice' for lunch (although you should definitely try an evening too!) and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Bell soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell Inn at Old Sodbury also viewed

Nibley, Gloucestershire
Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds
Hinton, Gloucestershire
 
Yate, Gloucestershire
Chipping Sodbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Bell Inn at Old Sodbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing