We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the usual Logis standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Logis Auberge des Moissons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matougues
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2012

It is convenient for the motorway, it is clean and the bed was ok. The staff are polite and helpful but that’s about it.
The walls between the rooms are paper thin and the blinds are locked down at night.
Dinner was a disaster. The “vollaille” - one waitress said it was guinea-fowl and another said duck - whatever, but it had been dead for a very long time... As it was on the menu du jour there was no choice but they replaced it with a perfectly pleasant steak. Pudding - was Coco-pops with what looked dangerously like Angel Delight on top... the rest was well below standard.
Breakfast was passable. All drinks are dispensed from machines and tasted tired.
Not the usual Logis standard.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 347 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2011

An Ideal stopover that is conveniently situated and very easy to find. The welcome was warm, the rooms clean spacious and the hotel had a cosy bar area.
The restaurant was fantastic and the food amazingly good value for money.
The only thing I would change is breakfast. The breakfast room was a bit clinical and lacking in character (I would have preferred to eat breakfast in the main restaurant).Only one small minor negative-everything else was perfect!
Will definitely return in the summer

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jooooooojoooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Ideally situated near to Epernay and Rheims and just a few minutes from the motorway perfect to arrive at the ports the next morning. Although it is situated on a farm it is closer in decoration to an American Motel than a rustic French Hostelriet. The rooms are spacious comfortable and functional but perhaps a bit bizarrely decorated. Although I did not like the way the bedroom opened directly to the courtyard. We had a half board package and I am really pleased we did. The evening meal that was provided was very good, 4 courses all well cooked and well presented as "plat du jours go this was one of the best. A quiet comfortable night followed by an excellent breakfast ( including eggs and bacon). Excellent value we will definitely be back

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Helpful staff, comfortable room and a very good restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have stayed here before when touring the champagne region and had a great stay, so the perfect choice for our return tour from the south of France for hubbies 50th. The rooms are as standard as any mid-range hotel but are more comfortable and cleaner. The restaurant is the real bonus here - the food is very good at very reasonable prices, and if you are there in the autumn the truffle menu makes for an unusual and affordable treat, with a selection of champagnes from helpful and knowledgable staff. Having stayed in Epernay and Reims in the past, this hotel offers a great dining experience at a very reasonable price. After a second stay I would return again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goneforgoodthistime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I'm afraid I have to disagree with your other reviewers. In my opinion, there's something intrinsically wrong with this place. It's neither a motel, nor a hotel (and how it gets 3* is quite beyond me). It's privately owned, so I don't want to be unkind, but on my own visit absolutely nothing was right. The pool was closed (because of bad weather and it was sunny and warm), the food was simply awful, drinks were very overpriced and the rooms were completely soul-less. The final bill had charged for our meal twice (we were half board), and it was a real tarantarrah getting it sorted out. On the plus side, the management lent us a cable for the internet (Wi-Fi doesn't work in all rooms), the whole place was clean and functional, and it was very convenient for the motorway network. I'm ever so sorry to give an equivocal review - all my others have been very positive, but Trip Advisor doesn't work unless you are honest!! Maybe it was an off-day!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeMatougues, Propriétaire at Logis Auberge des Moissons, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

My turn to be honest.
because you booked a " demi pension gasrtonomic" on internet, you ate a gastronomic menu and you didn't want to pay for it during your check out !!!
Sorry to be so affirmative but it is truth.
Maybe you didn't like the meal but it is not AWFUL !! We cook with fresh product we try to do some good simple french cuisine. Sometimes it doesn't work with some special people...sorry about that.
I'm not happy to read that comments especially when people are not honest to pay what they booked....
For the pool it is correct that it was closed. it is an outside pool and when it is 20°C , we don't open it but jacuzzi was opened and it is very nice by this weather.
I'm going to post some pictures about rooms completely soul-less (sorry if you prefer flowers on wall !)
And it wasn't AN OFF-DAY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

If you want to avoid staying in town and have a swim in the heated pool, this place is a good compromise. Rooms are essential but modern and clean, staff and welcome very friendly and helpfull -we didn't eat at the restaurant nor taken breakfast, as prices and proximity to real bistros and creperies made the choice obvious. The look and feel is of an american motel, but location is great.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, if you take one not facing the court you can avoid neighbours walking in fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AliEnrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matougues
5.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 1 in Fagnieres
340 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Chalons-en-Champagne Centre
Ibis Styles Chalons-en-Champagne...
#7 of 18 in Chalons-en-Champagne
16 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Premiere Classe Chalons-En-Champagne
Premiere Classe Chalons-En-Champ...
#1 of 4 in Saint-Martin-sur-le-Pre
163 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Pasteur
Hotel Pasteur
#2 of 18 in Chalons-en-Champagne
79 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ibis Chalons en Champagne
Ibis Chalons en Champagne
#6 of 18 in Chalons-en-Champagne
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis Auberge des Moissons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Auberge des Moissons

Address: 8 route Departementale 3, 51510 Matougues, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Matougues
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matougues
Price Range: $110 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis Auberge des Moissons 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Auberge des Moissons is a charming old farmhouse which has been completely renovated including 27 double, twin or family rooms, air-conditioned. Each is equipped with the latest technology. The Hotel includes disabled facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Logis Auberge des Moissons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis Auberge Des Moissons Hotel Matougues
Auberge Des Moissons Matougues

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing