We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing lived up to the standards set by this outstanding, magical place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eclance
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Ferme des Tourterelles
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We started a 5 week family trip in France and Spain at La Ferme des Tourterelles - little did we know when we arrived that this place would spoil us for every other place we stayed. We arrived extremely tired after a long flight from Canada and drive from Paris. We were warmly greeted and settled in to Les Hirondelles. The gite was beautifully appointed, clean, and so so comfortable. In the morning we woke to doves cooing softly and the lure of the bread van. This was the perfect place to unwind and relax - the surrounding countryside was absolutely beautiful and quiet rural village combined with lots of interesting local areas and villages to explore made for a tremendous start. We were fortunate to have very hot weather for late June and enjoyed relaxing by the pool - watching the swallows dip and dive and the bees buzz amongst the lavender.

Throughout our stay, Sarah and James were always available to answer questions, provide suggestions, share their stories about the history of the farm and their loving restoration, and supply champagne from a local cellar! While there, we had an issue at home that Sarah helped us sort out through various faxes and emails - this was all done so graciously and willingly.

Perhaps the only downside is that the area does not have really great restaurants (at least we didn't manage to find them) but, we loved being here so much we were just as happy to shop and eat at home.

I can't recommend this place, or Sarah and James, highly enough. We certainly hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheilaBeauchemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champagnelover50, Owner at La Ferme des Tourterelles, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Wow, what a lovely review. Our many thanks. I am sorry for the late reply but have just managed to get into the management dashboard of TripAdvisor for the first time. This is a lovely part of France and we are so pleased to share this with everyone who stays here. I am sorry that you did not find a restaurant to your liking. There are a fair number with a few gems, from a Michelin starred restaurant to typical country Auberge. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 61 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Superb! Our family of 12 were well catered for in every way. The accomadation was home from home with everything we needed, very clean and spacious. Lovely size swimming pool for children and adults. A beautiful BBQ area. Sencery was stunning .The village and other villagers were very friendly. Sarah and James were the perfect hosts, very out going and warm. They were fantastic with children and very kind to speak to. I would reccomend this place if you want a piece and quite break however if you change your mind the is so much to see and do.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Em80Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

If you are looking for a top quality holiday this is the place. The gite was just perfect , clean , roomy and full of character. The swimming pool is amazing with plenty of sunbeds . The surrounding area is stunning and plenty to do for all ages.
Nigloland ( theme park) is just a few minutes away, we had reservations about going but so glad we went , we all loved it.
The grounds here are brilliant , Sarah and James the English owners were so helpful and friendly , nothing was too much trouble for them and always smiling . The sun shone every day , just wished we had booked for longer. Already booked in for next summer and now thinking of a new years break .

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Alexandrajenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I take the farm for a family's we, and all was great. The Bedroom are clean and beautiful, Living are confortable. Sarah and James are present when we need them. I recommand this !

Room Tip: there are lot of propositions, depend of how many you are. for large family i suggest the "Tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre Cedric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Just 4 hours from Calais, Les Touterelles is the ideal spot to stop for an overnight B & B stop. Better still if you stayed longer because here you will find the best that France can offer in terms of accommodation, food, service and outdoor activities. Clean, smart, comfortable in a beautiful setting. What more could the weary travelers seek ? And to top it all, a delicious 4-course dinner

I rate Les Tourterelles a 12 out of 10

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Joshiewarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

This was the second time we have stopped here and will certainly be back again. Its in a great spot and very quiet. The pool is ideal just to chill out. I am a keen cyclist and went out with the local club from Bar Sur Aube, which is the nearest town. Lots of rolling traffic free roads and lovely champagne villages. Sarah and James are the perfect hosts. We once again filled our car with local champagen to take home but now need some more.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEONARP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

It was our first stay in La Ferme des Tourelles. Friends of us recommended the B&B and since we wanted to go champagne tasting and shopping for our honeymoon, we went to visit Sarah and James. First of all we would like to say the hospitality was great! On our way to la France, we received a phonecall whether we wanted to join the bbq with all the guests that same evening. It was the start of a great week. The location is perfect, you can walk around without encountering anyone for over hours and still shops are only a five minute drive away. The room was large and we got our breakfast every mornig slid through our window. Having breakfast with a great view, the sun and a glass of champagne, that's our idea of a perfect holiday. All excursions we wanted to make, were reserved by Sarah, who is indeed fluent in French, and everything could be arranged. We definately have plans to visit Sarah and James again. Thanks for a great holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua_Klerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Ferme des Tourterelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme des Tourterelles

Address: 4 route de Trannes, 10020 Eclance, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Aube > Eclance
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Eclance
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of a sleepy village in the middle of Champagne countryside, is La Ferme des Tourterelles. The four gites - Les Chouettes (sleeps 8/10), Les Hirondelles (sleeps 4), Les Tourterelles (sleeps 6/7) and Les Moineaux (sleeps 4/5); recently converted barns providing spacious homes are situated around a courtyard. Come here to relax by the large heated outdoor swimming pool with a panoramic view. 3 km away from Champagne Vineyards, 7km from Nigloland the 3rd largest amusement park in France, 10 minutes from the Lakes of the Foret D'Orient, 15 and 40 minutes respectively from medieval Bar-sur-Aube and Troyes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Ferme Des Tourterelles Eclance, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing