We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing gîte- photographs do not do it justice.”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Les Chouettes

Dining Room - Great for socialising
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining Room - Great for socialising
View of the large terrace accessed by dining room Sitting Room - Exposed stone wall on front wall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Dining Room - Great for socialising
View of the large terrace accessed by dining room
Sitting Room - Exposed stone wall on front wall
Galley Kitchen open to the dining room
Outside Les Chouettes - Door to downstairs bedroom
Principal Bedroom with dial aspect windows
Ensuite Bedroom for Bedroom 1
One of the twin bedrooms - big enough for a 3rd bed
Twin bedroom - big enough for a 3rd bed
Les Chouettes Reading Area
View from BBQ area to the pool
Shelter from the sun by the pool
View from the Sundowner Terrace
Views of Rolling Hills from the Pool
Star Monte Marathon Driving Through our Barn
BBQ Area with Chimenea
View down the courtyard
View of our large barn for parking from the fields
Sunflowers in the field behiind us
Swimming Pool Early Morning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Eclance, Aube, Grand Est

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
A_Chadwic...
Sandy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Amazing gîte- photographs do not do it justice.”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The British owners have lovingly restored this property with amazing attention to detail. The welcome was thorough with everything explained. The rooms were huge with ample space for the 2 families to enjoy without being on top of each other. The owners provided a lovely bottle of champagne and lots of on site games/activities for free use. The gîte was well equipped including washer and dryer as well as dishwasher and coffee machine. Large range style bottled gas oven and hob. The bathrooms were great, with the downstairs ensuite being particularly suitable for disabled access. Nigloland theme park was a short drive and great fun for the whole party aged from 5 to 16 and then 4 adults-100m drop tower- great!!! There is a "beach" from a lake about 5 min drive away, and supermarkets just a little further. Overall, a great experience for a relaxing holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFA85
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect holiday destination”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was beautifully presented, with lots of space for our group to eat and socialise out of the way of the other cottages. The gardens are stunning and the pool was a welcome distraction from the heat! Sarah and James made us feel very welcome. The location is very peaceful and great for cycling. Nigloland theme park is a brilliant day out. All in all, a fantastic holiday destination. We really want to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens and terrace - great for long meals in the evening
Liked least: we had to buy kitchen basics like olive oil, tea, coffee, sugar etc so if arriving late Saturday bring supplies as shops shut early on Sunday
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2015
Many thanks for your review and your kind comments especially about the gardens. We try and get as much colour as possible with the pots and wall baskets as well as use the honeysuckle, roses and lavender to not only create hedges for privacy but also for their glorious scents.

Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mummywarr...
rainham
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A jewel in the little village of Eclance”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a family holiday in the beautiful countryside of Eclance. The Gite we stayed in was one of five rentals on the property. It was superb, the house was huge and more than big enough for the 8 adults 2 children and a baby. Absolutely everything had been thought of from every appliance in the kitchen to the very comfy beds and sofas. The owners Sarah and James are lovely and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. The gardens were great for the children and the pool great, tho the weather was changable it didn't stop us all enjoying the pool. There were other families staying there in neighbouring properties which was great as they were all friendly. There were also BBQ's for our use and a large dining area in the gardens which we also used quite a lot. There is also a great theme park locally called Nigloland where we spent my grandsons birthday we all had a great day and not too busy either. The area where we stayed boasts many lovely towns to visit and of course lots of Champagne houses to taste and purchase their champagne, which we did do. A lovely note was the bottle of Champagne which was left in the Gite for us when we arrived from Sarah and James which was very nice.
There are two main towns about 15 mins drive away Bar sur Aube, and Brienne le Chateau, where there are supermarkets and a weekly market for excellent fresh fruit, veg,and cheeses, such good value too. Sarah recommended a couple of restaurants locally which we tried and yes she was right they were excellent. La petit auberge (hope i've spelt it right) just like sitting in someones house, so friendly and welcoming and the food well cooked and presented also we drove to Dienville, another small 'town' which was by a lake with a beach and watersports that also had quite a few restaurants, again we had 2 really good meals here, they also have live bands on Saturday nights, all in the open air. We also went to Susans Hotel in Arsonval for dinner one evening, food was superb and not too pricey. If you like the countryside and don't mind a short drive into town for restaurants this is the perfect place for a family holiday, perfect for children lots of space to run around, beautiful gites, and lovely owners this is the place to go, we will definately be returning as there is so much we still want to see. Many thanks Sarah and James for sharing this lovely part of France with us

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There are too many to list, everything was brilliant
Liked least: nothing, liked it all
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous property Modern on the inside, traditional on the outside”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

I have family in this part of France and had got chatting to Sarah and James when they were originally renovating it. It looked great so each year when I returned I tried to book it. But I'd always left it too late and it wasn't available. Having now stayed there it's very clear why it is so popular. The place is very big for the number of people it sleeps so you won't all be falling over one another when you stay there. My apartment seemed so small when I returned home. The pool is lovely and the property is very modern on the inside and traditional on the outside. I've rented other properties in this area and none I've seen come close to this place.

I've slightly marked down ease of booking but this is more to do with France than the accommodation itself.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: The mattresses but that's a personal thing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2014
Thanks for your kind words. For those wondering about the booking process, we ask our guests to sign a standard contract as issued by Clévacances who classify holiday accommodation here in France in conjunction with the tourist board. We have been awarded 4 stars/ 4 keys for our cottages. Whilst this is another layer of administration, this contract is heavily weighted in favour of the paying guest so we would hope this is viewed as a benefit. It also is designed around the French civil code so in that respect, is helpful for those not aware of any issues that face renting holiday accommodation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire W
Portsmouth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great accomodation”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Les Chouettes with a group of friends including 4 young children (we also rented Les Hindorelles for the rest of our group). The house was much bigger than I was expecting and there is plenty of space for a big group to cook and sit round the table together. We hardly used the living room as the weather was good so we sat outside, but out of the summer season this would be a nice area to sit in the evening and relax. The kitchen was very well equipped and there is also a nice communal BBQ area outside. The children loved the pool and being able to swim whenever they wanted, they also liked the excitement of the bread van arriving with pain au chocolat every day for breakfast! With several outside areas there is plenty of space for the guests of all four gites to enjoy. Another bonus was the barn where cars can be parked which keeps them really cool for when you want to go out and about. Sarah and James have obviously put a lot of thought into the renovation and decoration of the accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l
Reviewed July 18, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: rural setting
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
baltem
France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2017
Merci pour votre commentaire gentille. Nous serions heureux de vous accueillir à nouveau dans le futur ! Sarah et James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing