We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent champagne!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mareuil-sur-Ay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Champagne Guy Charbaut
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed one night on our way home from the south of France.

The room (a studio) was spacious, with a relatively large bed. The bathroom was excellent: the shower was absolutely fantastic. The studio also contained a small and basic kitchenette. Room also had a flatscreen TV. Location is fabulous too, you are quite close to Epernay and while you make your way up to Reims you pass the Veuve Clicquot and Moet vineyards.

We had reserved a spot for dinner as well. At first the price struck me as relatively high, but it became clear early on that dinner was comprised of an amuse, starter, main course, cheese plate and dessert. It was also accompanied by lots and lots of really, really good (Guy Charbaut!) champagne - the Cuvee Reserve, rose and Millesime 2005. Excellent value for money. It was also a lively dinner with all the other guests and the hosts.

All in all I would say that this is good value for money. It also lends itself well for staying a bit longer and exploring the area. Would probably stay here again if I visited the Champagne area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid_NN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 83 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed on route back to Calais after touring on our motorbike and what a great choice it turned out to be.

The house and rooms are beautifully traditional and extremely well presented. We took the opportunity to have dinner and sample the champagne with the family and other guests - this I would recommend as it was a wonderful experience and the food was first class. Breakfast was also excellent quite obviously good quality produce and lots of choice.

Unfortunately we were unable to take up the kind offer of a tour of the cellars as we had to leave get to Calais, a must for next time.

It as lovely sunny day so when we arrived we sat in the garden which backs the canal and drank some champagne - what could be better?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Charbauts were on holiday but their manager, Sylvian, took us in with very short notice and looked after us wonderfully. An excellent room, a great view of the canal and an unexpectedly good breakfast. My son and I would be happy to recommend this gite to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Last month we spent three nights at Guy Charbaut, in all there were ten of us, and we were welcomed with open arms. The rooms were lovely, the lounge with its excellently stocked fridge a huge success, and we enjoyed pre-dinner drinks in the garden next to the river Marne (rather a lot of mozzies because of recent flooding). Breakfasts were superb, best baguette we ever had, and we were entertained by lovely Mme Charbaut Senior, head of the house, who facilitated an entertaining visit of the caves where we had the grand tour and were able to watch the bottling which only takes place twice a year.
We had a superb dinner and were served amazing champagne by the hosts. M. and Mme Charbaut are charming and delightful hosts and their champagne is of astonishing good quality. A bientôt, on espère!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank absolutelytrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

What a pleasant champagne house to stay at. The family were charming and helpful. The visit to their caves was especially interesting.
I ll give it five! Just a few mosquitoes when sitting out in the evening on the lovely lawns next to,the canal, other wise perfect in every way.

Se

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the canal overlooking the lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stev E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A very nice bed&breakfast that I like to visit again. A nice dinner with the family, but why did we have to pay champagne for three children? Therefore it become a very expensive dinner. It was very nice beeing served champagne to every meal, but not for this price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The perfect place for excursions into the lovely country-side and nearby cities.
Beautiful and very cosy rooms with a view. We have stayed here both in summer and winter and the experience is fantastic.
We have been extremely well recieved by the fantastic staff and wonderfully hospitable family.
We have enjoyed dinner twice, both times delicious meals. The tour of the cave was very interesting.
And best of all: every time we sip at a glass of champagne labelled Guy Charbaut all the memories come back...
We will also come back to this extraordinary place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mareuil-sur-Ay
3.9 mi away
Prim'Hotel Bagatelle
3.1 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
496 reviews
14.2 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
14.2 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
544 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Castel Jeanson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champagne Guy Charbaut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champagne Guy Charbaut

Address: 12 rue du Pont, 51160 Mareuil-sur-Ay, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Mareuil-sur-Ay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mareuil-sur-Ay
Price Range: $80 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the "champenois" vineyards on the crossroads of 3 big valleys:"La Montagne de Reims", "La cote des Blancs" and "La Vallee de la Marne", we will be happy to accommodate you in our village of Mareuil-sur-Ay 7km from Epernay, 30 km from Reims, 25km from Chalons en Champagne). Our house is typical "champenois" it was built in 1837 alongside the canal. An attractive lounge and landscaped garden will give you the opportunity to relax you with your family or friends and taste our range of Champagnes. You can discover our chalk cliffs ,or walk or cycle alongside the canal. Only on reservation you could have dinner with us in our old traditional storeroom built of chalk (no dinner on Sunday and Monday evenings). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guy Charbaut Hotel Mareuil-Sur-Ay
Champagne Guy Charbaut France/Mareuil-Sur-Ay, Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing