We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet location, great food,”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Signy-le-Petit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Hulotte Au Lion D'Or
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Signy-le-Petit
Farnham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet location, great food,”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a couple of nights here. Rooms are good, clean and roomy. Food really good. Good to see the locals use the restaurant too. Breakfast was very good. You find it is served in the atmospheric cellar - interesting!
Recommended.
Nice to be able to walk around this small town.
The hotel is on the corner of the square and continues down a side street. There is parking off this side st (on the opposite side)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank X H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    26
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
29
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We ended up here because our neighbours recommended us this place. This hotel also is connected with their own michelin restaurant. While the hotel is nothing special, it's clean, the rooms and beds are large, wifi is for free, the real added value is the restaurant. It has a Michelin star and offers various menus, that offer an excellent price quality. The village is very quiet and apart from the fortified church there is nothing worth seeing, but over all. If one is looking for a quiet nice weekend with excellent food, the owner is cooking herself...this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 1 or 2, it offers a nice view on the main square with the fortified church
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Best666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Our knowledge of the frnch language is quite poor, and this is not really an english speaking hotel, but my partner and I stayed here for one night at the end of a motorcycling holiday to France. We turned up looking wet and a bit rough after a week of mainly rain. Despite this we received a friendly helpful (in french) welcome. The room was immaculate, warm and cosy, with a large bathroom including bath (much welcomed) and a hair dryer with good quality toiletries and free gifts (nail file, sewing kit, shoe shine). In the room are tea making facilities, biscuits, sweets and a good sized TV. The restaurant is decorated very tastefully and all the guests greeted each other upon entering.We had the 'gourmande' menu which was 3 superb courses of gourmet food included in the price of the room, along with breakfast for 126 euros. We have paid more for a lot less elsewhere. Our food was delivered by a waitress who used a dictionary to explain to us our choices from the menu in a helpful manner. We were not disappointed with the quality or amount of food, and bread was topped up as it emptied. Drinks prices are very reasonable for a hotel restaurant, paying 2 euros for draught lager and 2.50 euros for wine per glass. The bike was parked securely at the hotels free car park opposite, so no worries there. Take a look around the hotel, there are interesting pictures and ornaments everywhere. The bed was very comfortable and would definitely recommend a visit here, it was a perfect end to a crappy holiday and we would definitely go back. It is set in a lovely little village.

Room Tip: Eat in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wardy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We picked this Logis de France 3 chimney hotel as being in a quiet location within easy reach of a hypermarket for last day of holiday shopping and within easy reach of Ijmuiden for our journey home. At €120 DBB it looked good value.

We arrived in Signy at about 4pm and found plenty of free and safe parking on the square in front of the hotel. Unfortunately the hotel was closed for the afternoon until 5pm, so we explored the pleasant little village in the mean-time.

Once oppen we had a good welcome (in French) and were shown our room facing the square. This was very spacious with a king size bed, top quality furnishings, carpeted ceiling, a large bathroom with bath/shower and immacuately clean. (We would have rated this as a 5* B&B in UK). The large flar scree TV was our equivalent of 'Freeview' but had no English speaking programmes.

Dinner is served from 7pm and out tariff included the 'Gourmand" menu - Table d'Hote with choice of starters, meat or fish courses, choice from the dessert menu or cheese platter. The food was high quality and good size servings. The restaurant is what we would call "olde worlde" with beams, and )a carpeted ceiling and discreetly decorated with owl (hulotte) pictures and models as well as other tasteful art work. Service was excellent and the evening was very relaxing. (There is also a small bar for those wanting a pre or post dinner drink, and you can take these into the internal courtyard to sit and enjoy them there too).

After a comfortable and quiet night's sleep we went for breakfast at 9 o' clock and served in the restaurant.. This consisted of a pre-set no choice selection of fruit, cheese and ham, yoghurt, croissants, baguette and sliced brown bread, jam and honey and a pot of coffee with hot or cold milk.

During the next day and because the hotel was closed for lunch, the front door was locked from breakfast to late afternoon and we were free to come and go to our room using a front door key on our room key-ring. The rest of the hotel was locked off during this time, but that did not bother us at all.

All in all we found this to be a top quality small hotel with high quality food and excellent attention to detail. Our French speaking hosts did their best to make us feel at home. If it had been open on arrival we would have give the full 'Excellent' overall rating, but this was the only minor disappointment for us.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emira1980
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

We came across the hotel driving through Signy-le-Petit and had a wonderful time there.
The rooms & bathrooms are very clean, nicely decorated & surprisingly spacious.
We also enjoyed a delicious dinner in the restaurant which is very cosy & has a homely feel.
This hotel is really a little hidden gem and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emira1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Stayed for one night as part of a motorcycle tour of NE France. The hotel was just what we wanted - good food, friendly staff, spotlessly clean rooms, and a secure courtyard for the bikes. Recommended - and excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MP_chewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2007

I stayed at this hotel with a group of friends as an overnight stop. The property has oak beams and and olde world charm. The reception, restaurant are all more becoming of a small stately home than a hotel and ooze with class! The rooms are adequate, spotlessly clean and again with oak beams and a good size bathroom. The actual size and layout of the rooms did differ. Some were better situated than others. The beds were very comfortable. Remember to order an extra pillow if needed, there isnt any in the rooms

There is a small courtyard at the property which had tables and chairs put out for us, a small bar and a fantastic restaurant. The menu is limited to 2 choices in each of its 3 courses but the food was excellent. The staff were friendly but be warned you need to be able to speak some basic french as the staff appear to have only a few words of English.

Breakfast is served in the cellar and is limited to bread, jams and cheeses mainly, although there was one type of cereal but milk and bread was limited. More was delivered on request. The coffee was served in flasks and only lukewarm

The hotel is situated in a small village which really isnt built for tourism as there is little in the way of bars or cafes but was quaint. It could be walked around in just a few minutes. The locals were friendly and all smiled at us or passed the time of day.

My overall experience of the hotel was way above average and I will return. It let itself down slightly for a poor breakfast selection. It could be enhanced by having some pavement seating but Im not sure it is the type of village that would get permission for that type of thing.

Great place for those looking for a quiet base. To be recommended!

  • Liked — Too many things to mention! Lovely atmosphere, great decor, fantastic evening meal
  • Disliked — poor quality breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winnietherat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Signy-le-Petit
16.9 mi away
Chateau de la Motte
Chateau de la Motte
#1 of 1 in Liessies
105 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ibis Fourmies
Ibis Fourmies
#1 of 1 in Fourmies
94 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hotel Ermitage Moulin Labotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Hotel Saint Hubert
Hotel Saint Hubert
#2 of 2 in Haybes
54 reviews
6.4 mi away
L'Hirondelle
L'Hirondelle
#1 of 1 in Girondelle
17 reviews
15.0 mi away
Entre Nous
Entre Nous
#1 of 1 in Rozoy-Sur-Serre
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Hulotte Au Lion D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hulotte Au Lion D'Or

Property: La Hulotte Au Lion D'Or
Address: Place Church, 08380 Signy-le-Petit, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Ardennes > Signy-le-Petit
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Signy-le-Petit
Hotel Class:3 star — La Hulotte Au Lion D'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 214

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing