We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty interesting museum”

The Cradle of Humankind
Book In Advance
More Info
$148.59*
and up
Full-Day Cradle of Human Kind Tour from Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
557 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Pretty interesting museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Lots of informative information on how the earth became what it is today and how humans have evolved over time. One of the fun things you get to do is take a boat ride and see the different climates we face on this planet. After that, there are many interactive exhibits upstairs. Great for families.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BayAreaTraveler6338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    106
    32
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I recommend.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I went to the museum on 27th October 2013 and I strongly recommend. Its cheap (ZAR 135,00 per adult) and easy to get there. Half day is sufficient to see everything.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RafaelHerthel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“don't go with an outfitter!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went here on a full day trip, including the museum close to the cradle, and spend over 1200 ZAR per person for this day, and it was really not worth the money. It is far out of the town, which is possibly adding to the costs a bit for such an organised trip, but we felt rushed, the cave itself had nothing paleontological in it; we expected to see ongoing or previous excavations, but none of that was seen ("this rock is shaped like an elephant"). The museum further on was nice to go to, but I would not advice going out of your way to visit these two attractions.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank southafricavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“History that makes you think!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Interesting and informative tour ! Ever wondered where you come from? Maropeng is well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
696 reviews
318 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Thought provoking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Housed in an impressive building, this museum is an interesting mix of great interpretation of evolution, the risks of extinction and the inequalities within human society within the world, however it also contains a gimmicky and somewhat pointless boat ride and fails to suggest that one of the most vital steps in our on-going inhabitation of the planet might lie in controlling our numbers! An enjoyable experience with some excellent interpretation but probably best suited to school education programmes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cradle of Humankind also viewed

Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site, Greater Johannesburg
Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Cradle of Humankind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing