We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful gem in Norwood”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #110 of 225 Hotels in Greater Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2012

What a great job they have done with renovating what was previously a cool dive. Now its a very cool boutique hotel, beautifully done and very affordable. Staff are absolutely wonderful, speak a mutlitude of languages and the lounge bar is really cool and drinks very reasonably priced. It even has a very good spa attached and for those who only eat Kosher food, two of the best Kosher joints are just around the corner.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wolfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asc0th0tel, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2015

Merci sir Merci!

WE love when our guests are satisfied it makes us smile ear to ear..


Thank you for your kind words ... on our little boutique hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 79 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

A recently redecorated hotel in the suburbs of Johannesburg, a nice room with A/C and a terrace. New bathroom and very quiet. Good kitchen and nice bar. The night we were there there was a harp concert. Safe carpark and polite staff who are friendly and helpful..
At first you think were did I end up now but if you take a closer look you see that it's a good neighborhood and even the locals eat here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwjlaane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asc0th0tel, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2015

The one thing about the Ascot hotel is that their is always something on downstairs to entertain our guests.

BE it live entertainment, DJ"s our Salsa, we aim to please - thank you for your very warm words..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank SilvanaGallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asc0th0tel, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asc0th0tel, General Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ideal para passar uma noite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bmoliveira1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asc0th0tel, General Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank forzanocerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asc0th0tel, Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yves J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asc0th0tel, General Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greater Johannesburg hotels
5.7 mi away
Palm Continental Hotel - Johannesburg
6.1 mi away
Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport
3.3 mi away
Hotel Devonshire
Hotel Devonshire
#3 of 3 in Braamfontein
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 67 in Johannesburg
349 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 67 in Johannesburg
448 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#29 of 67 in Johannesburg
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: 59 Grant Avenue, 2192, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 225 Hotels in Greater Johannesburg
Price Range: $68 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing