We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic place to stay, and what an amazing hospitality.”

Chislehurst Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chislehurst Guest House
Mierlo, The Netherlands
1 review
“A fantastic place to stay, and what an amazing hospitality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

My two friends and I stayed for two nights at Chislehurst, and it was amazing. They weren't expecting us, the maids had already left and they had other important stuff to do. And still they managed to get our rooms ready within minutes and make us feel right at home.

The rest of our stay was full of hospitality and enjoyable conversations. We have even enjoyed our last lunch together with a splendid braai (barbecue). The goodbyes where hard to make, so I'm looking forward for when I go back later this year.

The prices were a bit higher compared to other guesthouses in the neighborhood, but for all three of us it's more than worth it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruud_Althuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kitale
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

we were 3 of us my mum aged 87, myself and my husband. we took 2 rooms for a week and then extended our stay for another 5 days.

i only booked this place because i was looking for a place near the hospital while my mum was undergoing some treatment and because of the very many nice reviews the guest house had.

i must say the reviews were so correct. \this place was great, clean, luxurious, well serviced with wonderful staff and sumptious breakfast made to order.
well done jenny and roger and thankyou for making our stay so wonderful. your rooms were more than comfortable, clean with hi speed wifi, tv, hairdryier, microwave, tea and coffee making in the room and a small fridge which was so handy.
We got everything we needed.

We highly recommend your place to travellers whether on business or on holiday

Room Tip: walsingham suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Excellent place. The best service I have received in a hotel all around the world. It si not a conventional hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

I was fortunate enough to stay at the Chislehurst for the duration of the World Cup and while the quality of football may have been indifferent on occasions, the accommodation most certainly was not. Jenny and Roger and their terrific, friendly staff have created a wonderful ambience that felt more like home than a guesthouse. Rooms are first rate, standards of service as high as any top hotel in the city and there's a super, relaxed vibe. Nothing was too much trouble and I would have no hesitation recommending the Chislehurst to anyone, no matter if you are in Joburg for a night or a month.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miltonbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

A great guesthouse. Warm and welcoming to a very tired journalist for the last week of six at the World Cup finals. Immaculate rooms. Great breakfast. Lovely people. Good location for Sandton City - about 10 mins in a cab

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cursoryglance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

It's a couple of weeks since I, along with my brother, returned from our World Cup experience in Soth Africa. In jo'berg we had the pleaseure of staying in Jenny and Rogers beautiful guest House. I have to say they looked after us magnificently and really did make us feel important. Nothing was too much trouble, they took us to their local restaurant where we were made to feel like special guests. After booking hire cars for us Roger drove us there to pick it up, infact they just couldn't have made life any easier for us.
The accomodation is beautifully clean and breakfast is a delight of whatever you want.
Jenny & Roger are legends in Sandton and whatever you need they can do it for you.
It was a delight to stay with them and if you want a small, warm, friendly, welcoming guest house look no further.

Our best wishes to you Roger and Jenny.

Harvey & Colin.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigmanBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

Jenny is like a mother to all, she is always busy taking care of all her guest. She made our stay very comfortable and helped us out in whatever we needed. Since before we got to the hotel, I have been in contact with Jennyl, programing all my events, while she also recommended other things for me, my husband and 14 year old son could do during our stay. She made things so much easier for us.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giselaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greater Johannesburg
0.6 mi away
Louise Terrace Guest house
0.9 mi away
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Edenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
18.9 mi away
Towers Lodge
Towers Lodge
#8 of 8 in Germiston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.4 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
12.2 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
12.4 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chislehurst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chislehurst Guest House

Property: Chislehurst Guest House
Address: 1 Vickers Avenue | Rivonia, Sandton, 2191, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 872 B&Bs / Inns in Greater Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chislehurst Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chislehurst is a small elegant guest house in a tree lined suburb of Rivonia, but close to the busy town center with shops, restaurants, and close to major shopping malls and entertainment centers with theaters and cinemas. It is a 20 minute drive from OR Tambo International Airport. Guests have full use of all facilities, including the lovely thatched lapa by the pool where breakfast is served weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Chislehurst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing