We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Runswick Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Dunsley Hall(Whitby)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Grapes Inn(Easington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
126
82
15
10
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
126
82
15
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscleveland waythe pubdogs are allowedfantastic mealfamily rooman evening mealsteak and ale piespecials boardfour postercooked to perfectionfeel very welcomea lovely place to staythree nightscar parkcomfortable roomgood nights sleepfull english
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 246 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed last week, whilst walking Cleveland Way. It us a lovely Bay, although we did not have Bay views.

The location was perfect. The welcome was warm. The rooms were clean, cheerful, functional and on generous, size space-wise, which was good for unpacking contents of rucksack, which we chose to carry, rather than use a Sherpa.

The food (dinner and breakfast) was hearty. The staff couldn't have been nicer. It's not 'posh' but comfortable and ideal for our purposes. We thoroughly enjoyed our night in the bar for the 'general knowledge' quiz.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel is a little tired, but is ungoing refurbishment. Having said that it is very clean and tidy. Staff were all great and provided a good service with excellent, freshly cooked meals. The breakfast was so hearty it kept us going all day. The hotel is very doggie friendly which is great for people like us who always like to take our girls with us.
Overall ......Top Notch. This was a girlie break but I will be returning with my husband.

Room Tip: Once the refurb is complete without doubt it will get top marks all the way.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3Nanas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in Runswick Bay hotel on a spur of the moment trip to Whitby.

The decor is a little dated (shabby chic) but the room was clean and spacious, and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. They serve a mean breakfast as well!

The ultimate plus for us is that they were dog friendly, and meant it...they love our four legged friends.

For the money you can't go wrong. It's in a beautiful location, a hop, skip and jump away from a lovely secluded beach, and just 9 miles outside the hustle and bustle of Whitby.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bifster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We visited for a 1 night stay with our 2 children. Very warm welcome. Helpful staff, lovely room, ample car park, breakfast was fabulous and Ted the dog was nearly dognapped by our children as he is so lovely but we left him sleeping happily by the huge log burner !. Will hopefully be back very soon. Refurbishment is ongoing so should be even better when we return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sleep33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Lovely welcome from the friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere, made to feel very welcome indeed. ExCellent food in the evenings, good breakfast. Nice, comfortable room. Plumbing a bit noisy but no big deal. Excellent location. Pub dog Ted is the star of the stay! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toffeenosebooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews