We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in a cosy pub with great location.”
Review of Runswick Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Runswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Runswick Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked a last minute two night stay here and ended up in the family room, although there were only two of us.

The guy who greeted us was friendly and helpful and the pub is cosy and welcoming in a great location just five mins walk down to the beach (very steep walk back up the hill afterwards; beware!). Rooms were clean and had everything you'd need: towels, tea/coffee making facilities, biscuits etc. I guess the room and pub in general maybe could do with a lick of paint in some areas but it depends if that kind of thing bothers you; it doesn't us.

Pub was bustling and busy on both the Fri and Sat night, so be sure to book ahead for your meals. We ate the first night in the dining area, which has lovely views and is nice and cosy with candles on the table. You can easily spend £30 per person if you get a couple of courses and a bottle of wine, which is a fair amount for a pub, but the food and wine was really good and we were stuffed. The smoked salmon steak and maple & pecan cheesecake are delicious!!

Second night we ate a lighter meal in the bar and spent a lot less. I preferred eating in the dining area without all the dogs and people drinking at the bar, but that's a completely personal preference.

Breakfast was included in the stay and was great. The choice is basically a full English with toast or some variation on this. I got a veggie cooked breakfast and my other half got a meat version and we were both full for hours. You could also just help yourself to cereal.

Some of the waitresses are more efficient and friendly than others, but you'll get that anywhere.

There is one other pub further down in Runswick with a better view of the sea, where we stopped for a couple of very nice drinks. Less cosy and comfortable than the Runswick Bay Hotel however.

The only thing to bear in mind is food prices as you can end up spending a lot; there aren't many other options for food and the rooms aren't self-catering. I would also say that with the last minute deal, it's a good price, but without it would be double the cost and therefore not something I would want to pay. However, this is typical of most B&Bs in the UK.

Also be aware: no wireless and poor phone signal. Again, not something we minded.

8 miles from Whitby with plenty to do there if you get bored of the peace and quiet!

If you like cosy, seaside pubs with clean rooms and tasty food and you can find a good last minute deal to knock you some money off, stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Runswick Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 236 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

Good atmosphere, popular with locals and holidaymakers. Good menu. We ate in the bar - excellent starters, huge portions. We asked for our steaks medium but they came well done. Apart from that it was a very nice meal with lots of fresh vegetables. Pleasant, friendly waitresses. There's also a restaurant and lounge area both of which could do with an update, decor wise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crabby061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We ate here on 2 nights while visiting the area. The meals were very good and the staff were friendly and efficient. They also serve good cask beer and our dog was welcome in the bar.

The bar was a lot busier than when we visited last year but retained a friendly atmosphere with a mix of locals and visitors to the area

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank stevenkendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had a great two night stay here this week. Very good location, close to other places of interest which are easily accessible by walking, driving or local bus. Booked a room for two with on suite. Decent accommodation that had everything needed. Was clean and well presented. Ate in the restauratant on both evenings and the food was excellent, as were the breakfasts.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Was disappointed. The menu had changed from last time I visited, not the same range of choices. It was overpriced for what we had. It looked like the place was being renovated but even so it seems to have lost a lot of its charm
+ atmosphere, which is a shame. The staff were friendly enough though.

Room Tip: I didn't stay, just visited for a meal.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnS1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Took my mum for dinner , too hot to cook. Lovely greeting on arrival ordered pint larger shandy for me and a large red wine n lemonade for mum took our drinks and choose what we fancied to eat there was a menu and specials board both had plenty of choice.
I asked for a prawn salad as it was to hot for cooked food and mum had a crap n prawn salad both were lovely and had a few new potatoes with them plates were cleared quickly when we had finished and the staff were fab, the only thing I was a bit disappointed with was the price £30.85 which I thought was a little high for two drinks and two salads

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank sharade1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Sunday night in the Runswick Bay Hotel. We were told it was under new ownership so gave it a go. Still on going decorating but that's no problem. Had an excellent meal then in the bar for a few drinks, which was full of locals having a good night. We felt at ease and enjoyed the night. can not fault the staff, the landlord and the locals.will be going back soon. Been in other pubs locally but this one was best by far.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stopover1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
0.1 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
535 reviews
4.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,077 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
14.0 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,244 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Runswick Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runswick Bay Hotel

Address: 2 Hinderwell Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Price Range: $55 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the top of Runswick Bay, the bay itself is only a 5 minute walk down the bank.  When you decide a day on the beach is quite enough you can make your way slowly back up the hill and come join us for a refreshing drink and either a light lunch or a main meal.  We are also the ideal location for a short weekend break or a longer stay if you desire. We are situated on the long stretch of coastline and surrounded by the North Yorkshire Moors which makes for a fulfilled stay, as the amount of activities to do are endless. The Cleveland Way runs directly through our car park so we are the ideal spot for a nights stay for a break in your walk, being just a short distance from Whitby. ​ We are proud to support local businesses by supplying local beers, produce and artwork.  ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Runswick Bay Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing