We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place with amazing view and perfect location”
Review of Cliffemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cliffemount Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Cliffemount hotel was a great choice to spend one day/night break. I loved the cosiness of a room overlooking the bay, the friendly and helpful staff (they swapped rooms for us as we wanted a bathroom with a tab), fine food - menu in the restaurant was exquisite and we loved a breakfast served to room. It was quite cold and hazy outside on that day but it made the whole experience at the Cliffemount even more warm and unforgettable. The walk down to the beach after we checked out in the morning was just a cherry on top!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstPast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 545 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

We have just returned from an excellent 3 day break where we stayed at the Cliffemount. It is the second time we have had the pleasure of experiencing a warm, friendly welcome from the owners and staff who made our stay a most enjoyable one. The rooms we have stayed in over two visits have been spacious and cleaned to a high standard; the quality of the sheets certainly made for a comfortable sleep. Everything we required for our stay was in the room, including tea/coffee making facilities/ bottled water and a lovely view over the bay.
Our love of tasting different dishes was well met within the restaurant, the venison pie was delicious, as was the scallops/scampi, the chips were the best I've ever tasted in a restaurant. In fact, we would recommend any meal on the menu as we could taste flavours throughout every dish we had - they had our taste buds wanting more.
The service from staffs could not be faulted. They offered their advice when asked and their local knowledge was good which enabled us to walk part of the Cleveland Way which is beside the hotel and the walk to the beach was interesting through the seaside cottages which was like a maze.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here once again, it's a great hotel with stunning views, friendly staffs, brilliant food, lovely and clean, a warm welcome will be made to all who visit the Cliffemount.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Have just spent four nights at the stunning Cliffemount hotel. The weather was glorious, and the views from my room were outstanding in the sunshine. Once again the food, service, welcome and warmth are the best I have encountered on my travels especially in this country. I ate every evening in the restaurant as I was keen to sample as many dishes as possible all were excellent especially the 28 day matured steak, there is a comprehensive wine list to suit all tastes, a great hotel for foodies.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank june t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

after having a weekend here for our wedding anniversary we were very disappointed. Our room called roxby was next to the heating boiler which came on at regular intervals, the room above us, their sanitary pipes were in the corner of our room, so when the toilet was flushed and the shower was used, the noise of the water was very loud. The shower over the bath had a fixed screen that i couldn't reach to turn the shower or bath on, and the fan didn't work in the bathroom so the walls were very wet all the time. The radiators in the room would not turn off so the room was very hot. The sea view we didn't have just metal sheds and the farm yard next door. The restaurant prices were very expensive for a 3 * hotel, £15 for scampi and chips!! When we discussed our problems when leaving we were just fobbed off, won't be staying again

Room Tip: do not get the roxby room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna N Micha... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We travelled up from Wakefield, arriving mid morning and called into the Cliffemount hotel hoping for a late breakfast and was warmly received. Lovely table with terrific views over the bay. Had the best poached eggs on toast, fresh tasting with bright yellow yokes, a fantastic start to our holiday.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have just had a lovely relaxing stay at Cliffemount. Perfect to do as little or as much as you want. Amazing views and walks with local towns only a short drive away. We were given a very warm welcome and the room was lovely with everything we wanted. The restaurant is certainly worth a visit, the menu is excellent and the food delicious. We will certainly be returning

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Its been several years since we last stayed in Runswick, and back in Yorkshire the other week for a family wedding I was tempted by other hotels in the Whitby area but my wife insisted on returning to the Cliffemount, happy wife happy life I thought and it was an excellent decision. Warmly greeted by the proprietor and his loveable terrier, who remembered us from our previous visit over two years ago, we had a delightful bedroom with the most amazing view over the bay, an excellent full English breakfast in the morning & a bracing walk on the windswept but beautiful beach. We attended the wedding the following day and were joined by two friends for dinner at the Cliffemount who had also attended the same wedding with us but with age against us we decided a lovely supper would engage us far better than a night dancing with the newly weds and all the young ones! The food was quite simply divine, as good as I've tasted for many a year, we all chose different starters & mains and on each course were jealously looking at the others plates with envy, the fillet steak was to die for, well hung locally sourced & cooked to perfection medium-rare, and with my ever expanding waistline I even managed to share a deconstructed lemon meringue pie served in a small kilner jar with my good lady wife.....it was superb. Our friends had been staying at Raithwaite Hall the previous evening and said that the food there whilst good was not in the same class as the Cliffemount. We won't wait another three years to return to this wonderful & very hospitable venue...thankyou to Carol & Ian and their amazing team

Room Tip: You must choose a room overlooking the bay, its worth paying that little bit more and you will strug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatJockLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
4.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,118 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
646 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,070 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffemount Hotel

Address: Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Runswick
Price Range: $123 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great views of Runswick Bay harbour with a large open garden and a sea view restaurant. Great value, quality and service offered to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cliffemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffemount Hotel Runswick, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing