We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, good restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Donchery
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp
Level Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nicely decorated room. Bed, towels, sheets, etc of very good quality. Keep in mind that you are not staying in the chateau itself. Only reception and breakfast are in the main castle building.
In the restaurant we had the menu. Traditional french in a present day presentation Fine food with good ingredients. Good value!!! Winelist is "typically Paris": mainly bordeaux and burgundy and rather expensive. Advantage is that they have older vintages that are ready to drink.
Overall you get good value in this place, both in the hotel as in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edhimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    62
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
84
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

What a disappointing experience! We spent one month touring France and staying in beautiful chateau hotels. This was not a chatea experience. We stayed in a modern block outside the chateau and ate in a modern restaurant which lacked atmosphere and the food was very poor. Breakfast is now served in an uninspiring room in the chateau and the family have most of the rooms. We had slept in beautiful chateau bedrooms and eaten in fabulous dining rooms and this was very disappointng for our last night in France- we might as well have stayed in a city hotel. We even got drenched going from our room to the restaurant as it does not connect with the rooms. This was not a chateau experience and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Go to a real chateau hotel, sleep in a 4 poster bed in a beautiful room with a lovely dining room se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The room in the courtyard upstairs No 202 which is one of their best rooms yet good value.

This room was outstanding, the bed was super king size and very comfortable.

The furnishings were very high end quality items.

The bathroom was something else !!! We have done posh often however you need an engineering degree to operate the showers, music,lights,steam,water outlets etc. The sinks you touched flat surfaces to turn on the water which then flowed out like a water fall and was coloured by lights blue for cold and red for hot and in between temperatures had in between colours it was a gadget lovers dream.

I could say more but if you want to be impressed pay to stay at this Chateau in this room/suite.

The Chateau was lovely and served tea and coffee in various lounges and was very nice.

The only real let down was it had a beautiful restaurant that should of been open from 11am and especially 4pm for pastries etc however it was closed all day until 7 pm and we found this very disappointing.

The food at night was ok but why do chefs try to create things that taste of nothing in particular we prefer wholesome food that is cooked correctly and presented nicely.

To sum up lovely place beautiful rooms and grounds with good breakfast. Just have normal, wholesome beautiful food available please.

Room Tip: Room/suite 202 is incredible !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed there with the kids during our long weekend travel in France. The old chateaux with a lot of charm and comfort in the countryside, close to autobahn. They also a have very good restaurant at site. Enjoyed!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasute_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donchery
4.6 mi away
Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort
6.7 mi away
Le Dormeur du Val
Le Dormeur du Val
#4 of 15 in Charleville-Mezieres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
7.8 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#8 of 42 in Ardennes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Le Saint-Michel
Le Saint-Michel
#2 of 8 in Sedan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
7.2 mi away
Kyriad Charleville Mezieres
Kyriad Charleville Mezieres
#2 of 15 in Charleville-Mezieres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ibis Charleville Mezieres
Ibis Charleville Mezieres
#1 of 1 in Villers-Semeuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon

Property: Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon
Address: 08350 Donchery, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Ardennes > Donchery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Donchery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing