We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at Casa Rio Blanca”
Review of Casa Rio Blanco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Rio Blanco
Ranked #1 of 4 Guapiles B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I and our two daughters stayed for one night at Casa Rio Blanca in mid-February. After flying into San Jose airport we drove to the B & B and had dinner there. We went for a swim in the river which was beautiful. Be sure to go futher upstream about 1/4 mile where there is a longer and deeper swimming hole. Our daughters got a few mosquito bites when we were at the river, but otherwise we weren't bitten by bugs. The cabins are a great combination of simplicity and charm. The decorations are very attractive. The wood floors are polished. It's all very clean. We enjoyed waking up in the morning and seeing the sun rise over the hill from our bed. There are screened "windows" all around the cabin so the view is great. You feel like you are outdoors. Then we enjoyed watching the hummingbirds and other birds in thier gardens. The grounds are beautiful. When we were there the orange blossoms added a great aroma. The meals were fine. They didn't have wine or desert, so bring those if you want them. This place is for people who love nature. It's not fancy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garytros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 165 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night (before going to tortuguero)

Pro's
- very big bed! Biggest in whole CR in our 4 week trip..!
- big room with veranda to sit and watch nature / hear the river and so
- hot shower
- nice owners , help you with what you need
- good breakfast
- good dinner
- free wifi
- sleeping in the middle of nature
- swimming in the river (5 min walk)
- small B&b


Cons:
- only wifi in the lounge area
That's the only one!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacquelinevdhaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Flew into SJO in the afternoon with husband and two young children (6 & 8) and stayed one night with Herbie and Annette on our way to the Caribbean side. We had a driver take us from airport to here. Not a bad drive. Couple of hours and partly through the Braulio Carillo National Park. Beautiful. This is the main artery to the port of Limon so lots of trucks going slowly up and down the mountain.

Place is set back off the main road. Quiet. A few one room cabins with private bathrooms/showers. It's rustic, but clean. Large screened windows. Lush vegetation all around. Nice intro to the beauty of Costa Rica.

Trail behind main house takes you down to the river, about 10 minute fairly easy hike down.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuckyMomNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent one night at Casa Rio Blanco. Loved the way the cabin is set in the forest and right next to the river. Too bad we got in late and had to depart early the next morning, and were not able to spend more time just enjoying the surroundings. Herbie and Anette are extremely nice. We also loved the homemade dinner that was prepared for us. For those of you who love to be part of the nature. I would definitely recommend it.
我们在这里住了一晚。特别喜欢小屋在森林中,靠着河的感觉。主任特别好客,自家制作的晚餐也很可口。如果喜欢亲近大自然,那我们绝对推荐这里的。

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Manzhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We sleeped in a fabulous cabin with screen(no Window) all over, we heard bird and animal and the sound of the river all night long, we swim in a refreshing cold river after a short walk in the forest back of the resort. Annette is polyglot and have many talents , if you are Hungry tell her in advanced and she will served you " le plat du Jour". We rec
commend this place to anyone who like Nature, it's the perfect ecolo-econo lodge in the garden of Costa Rica

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bernard747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Unfortunately we could only stay one night in this lovely lodge. Annette & Herbie are super friendly and the food is excellent! The little lodges are very well equiped and perfectly located in the jungle. It's fantastic to sleep without windows and to be a part of the nightly jungle :)
We can highly recommend this lodge to everyone!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good and recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank longislands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at Casa Rio Blanco the night before and after a two-day trip down the Pacuare. Our hosts, Annette and Herbie, were very welcoming and accommodating. Getting to the Casa Rio Blanco Eco Lodge was easy, our GPS that came with our rental car already knew it as a "point of interest".
Annette provided a wonderful home-cooked dinner shortly after our arrival. The water glasses were always filled with the deep mountain spring water that flows under her property. While it comes from her kitchen tap, to call it "tap water" is a mischaracterization. It was the best tasting water I've ever had. Breakfast the next morning was also very nice, and was prepared to fit with our schedule for that day.
Our cabin was simple, but absolutely wonderful. There are screened windows all around the cabin, letting in the fresh air and allowing you to see out into the forest, gardens, and hear the river below. (The screens were in excellent condition, you don't need to worry about bugs getting in.)The sounds of the river below and the light breeze made for a wonderful nights sleep -priceless!
Hiking down along a stream to the river for a swim was a great way to start our adventures in Costa Rica. The scenery is lush, the water is crystal clear, and the best part, we had the stream and the river all to ourselves.
Annette and Herbie were such accommodating hosts, they allowed us to leave the bulk of our luggage at the lodge while we were on our overnight rafting trip on the Pacuare.
Overall, we had a wonderful experience and are planning to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggys_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guapiles
4.1 mi away
Hotel Suerre
Hotel Suerre
#1 of 1 in Guapiles
120 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
198 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
649 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Vista al Tortuguero
1.5 mi away
Tapirus Lodge
Tapirus Lodge
#2 of 4 in Guapiles
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rio Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rio Blanco

Address: South of the Rio Blanco bridge 1 km | P.O. Box 241-7210, Guapiles, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Guapiles
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Guapiles
Price Range: $88 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Rio Blanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rio Blanco Hotel Guapiles
Casa Rio Blanco Costa Rica/Guapiles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing