We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved being in the forrest”
Review of Casa Rio Blanco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Rio Blanco
Ranked #1 of 4 Guapiles B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent one night at Casa Rio Blanco. Loved the way the cabin is set in the forest and right next to the river. Too bad we got in late and had to depart early the next morning, and were not able to spend more time just enjoying the surroundings. Herbie and Anette are extremely nice. We also loved the homemade dinner that was prepared for us. For those of you who love to be part of the nature. I would definitely recommend it.
我们在这里住了一晚。特别喜欢小屋在森林中,靠着河的感觉。主任特别好客,自家制作的晚餐也很可口。如果喜欢亲近大自然,那我们绝对推荐这里的。

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Manzhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Casa Rio Blanco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 164 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

We sleeped in a fabulous cabin with screen(no Window) all over, we heard bird and animal and the sound of the river all night long, we swim in a refreshing cold river after a short walk in the forest back of the resort. Annette is polyglot and have many talents , if you are Hungry tell her in advanced and she will served you " le plat du Jour". We rec
commend this place to anyone who like Nature, it's the perfect ecolo-econo lodge in the garden of Costa Rica

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bernard747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Unfortunately we could only stay one night in this lovely lodge. Annette & Herbie are super friendly and the food is excellent! The little lodges are very well equiped and perfectly located in the jungle. It's fantastic to sleep without windows and to be a part of the nightly jungle :)
We can highly recommend this lodge to everyone!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good and recommended
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank longislands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at Casa Rio Blanco the night before and after a two-day trip down the Pacuare. Our hosts, Annette and Herbie, were very welcoming and accommodating. Getting to the Casa Rio Blanco Eco Lodge was easy, our GPS that came with our rental car already knew it as a "point of interest".
Annette provided a wonderful home-cooked dinner shortly after our arrival. The water glasses were always filled with the deep mountain spring water that flows under her property. While it comes from her kitchen tap, to call it "tap water" is a mischaracterization. It was the best tasting water I've ever had. Breakfast the next morning was also very nice, and was prepared to fit with our schedule for that day.
Our cabin was simple, but absolutely wonderful. There are screened windows all around the cabin, letting in the fresh air and allowing you to see out into the forest, gardens, and hear the river below. (The screens were in excellent condition, you don't need to worry about bugs getting in.)The sounds of the river below and the light breeze made for a wonderful nights sleep -priceless!
Hiking down along a stream to the river for a swim was a great way to start our adventures in Costa Rica. The scenery is lush, the water is crystal clear, and the best part, we had the stream and the river all to ourselves.
Annette and Herbie were such accommodating hosts, they allowed us to leave the bulk of our luggage at the lodge while we were on our overnight rafting trip on the Pacuare.
Overall, we had a wonderful experience and are planning to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggys_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at Casa Rio Blanco just 1 night but wish we'd had more time to explore the area as it was beautiful, quiet, private and serene. We slept like babies despite a wild thunderstorm during the night. Our cabin was immaculately clean. Loved the screened windows which made us feel like we were camping. Eating the delicious breakfast Annette served us on the screened porch was a highlight! Karen, Rich, Emma, Lily and Eva

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the lodge. The location of the cabins is great, (but a little hard to reach) right at the edge of the forest and a small river. You feel like you are in the middle of the jungle. The cabins itself are comfortable, all with private bathrooms, maybe a bit overpriced(37$ p.P). The hosts are very friendly and helpful.
What we missed was WIFI and a kitchen we could use (there was a good homestyle dinner available for 12$ p.P. and breakfast -also good- was included).
If you are not on a tight budget and around this area, we recommend you staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triplife_de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in Feb 2012 and had a wonderful stay. The cabins are perched high above the Rio Blanco at the edge of a beautiful, lush piece of rainforest. This is a perfect spot for nature lovers who like comfy but simple accomodations. Lots of nice places to walk along the road, up to a great swimming hole, or to great bird watching up the hill. The grounds are well kept as are the cabins. The hosts, Annette and Herbie, are friendly, helpful, and accomodating. We asked for a few extras (more pillows and an extra chair) and not only did they bring them, but they were back in place also on our return trip. A previous review complained that there was no sign on the road indicating location, but there is a huge sign at the lodge location. Also, we did not find them to be disorganized at all. They helped arrange our transportation prior to our ever arriving in Costa Rica and all worked like clockwork. The food was very good and plentiful and both Herbie and Annette went out of their way to accommodate eating preferences. The breakfast porch and sitting area were extremely pleasant. We would highly recommend Casa Rio Blanco as a place to stay multiple nights to enjoy the natural surroundings, or as a stop over between San Jose to Beach or Tortuguero destinations. You won't be sorry....it's one of the best, most beautiful places we've ever stayed! Carol, Barbara, and Brenda

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeeBee1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guapiles
4.1 mi away
Hotel Suerre
Hotel Suerre
#1 of 1 in Guapiles
118 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
198 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#2 of 12 in Turrialba
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
242 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Vista al Tortuguero
1.5 mi away
Tapirus Lodge
Tapirus Lodge
#2 of 4 in Guapiles
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rio Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rio Blanco

Address: South of the Rio Blanco bridge 1 km | P.O. Box 241-7210, Guapiles, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Guapiles
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Guapiles
Price Range: $88 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Rio Blanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rio Blanco Hotel Guapiles
Casa Rio Blanco Costa Rica/Guapiles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing