We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Paradise!”
Review of Casa Rio Blanco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Rio Blanco
Ranked #1 of 4 Guapiles B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at Casa Rio Blanco the night before and after a two-day trip down the Pacuare. Our hosts, Annette and Herbie, were very welcoming and accommodating. Getting to the Casa Rio Blanco Eco Lodge was easy, our GPS that came with our rental car already knew it as a "point of interest".
Annette provided a wonderful home-cooked dinner shortly after our arrival. The water glasses were always filled with the deep mountain spring water that flows under her property. While it comes from her kitchen tap, to call it "tap water" is a mischaracterization. It was the best tasting water I've ever had. Breakfast the next morning was also very nice, and was prepared to fit with our schedule for that day.
Our cabin was simple, but absolutely wonderful. There are screened windows all around the cabin, letting in the fresh air and allowing you to see out into the forest, gardens, and hear the river below. (The screens were in excellent condition, you don't need to worry about bugs getting in.)The sounds of the river below and the light breeze made for a wonderful nights sleep -priceless!
Hiking down along a stream to the river for a swim was a great way to start our adventures in Costa Rica. The scenery is lush, the water is crystal clear, and the best part, we had the stream and the river all to ourselves.
Annette and Herbie were such accommodating hosts, they allowed us to leave the bulk of our luggage at the lodge while we were on our overnight rafting trip on the Pacuare.
Overall, we had a wonderful experience and are planning to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggys_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 172 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at Casa Rio Blanco just 1 night but wish we'd had more time to explore the area as it was beautiful, quiet, private and serene. We slept like babies despite a wild thunderstorm during the night. Our cabin was immaculately clean. Loved the screened windows which made us feel like we were camping. Eating the delicious breakfast Annette served us on the screened porch was a highlight! Karen, Rich, Emma, Lily and Eva

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the lodge. The location of the cabins is great, (but a little hard to reach) right at the edge of the forest and a small river. You feel like you are in the middle of the jungle. The cabins itself are comfortable, all with private bathrooms, maybe a bit overpriced(37$ p.P). The hosts are very friendly and helpful.
What we missed was WIFI and a kitchen we could use (there was a good homestyle dinner available for 12$ p.P. and breakfast -also good- was included).
If you are not on a tight budget and around this area, we recommend you staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triplife_de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in Feb 2012 and had a wonderful stay. The cabins are perched high above the Rio Blanco at the edge of a beautiful, lush piece of rainforest. This is a perfect spot for nature lovers who like comfy but simple accomodations. Lots of nice places to walk along the road, up to a great swimming hole, or to great bird watching up the hill. The grounds are well kept as are the cabins. The hosts, Annette and Herbie, are friendly, helpful, and accomodating. We asked for a few extras (more pillows and an extra chair) and not only did they bring them, but they were back in place also on our return trip. A previous review complained that there was no sign on the road indicating location, but there is a huge sign at the lodge location. Also, we did not find them to be disorganized at all. They helped arrange our transportation prior to our ever arriving in Costa Rica and all worked like clockwork. The food was very good and plentiful and both Herbie and Annette went out of their way to accommodate eating preferences. The breakfast porch and sitting area were extremely pleasant. We would highly recommend Casa Rio Blanco as a place to stay multiple nights to enjoy the natural surroundings, or as a stop over between San Jose to Beach or Tortuguero destinations. You won't be sorry....it's one of the best, most beautiful places we've ever stayed! Carol, Barbara, and Brenda

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeeBee1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The dutch hosts took over the management of this lodge in 2004. They are a little unorganized.

There is no sign on the road indicating the lodge's location. Also: no internet available at all.

The lodge itself is pretty unique. You sleep in one of 3 wooden cabins right in the canopy and feel like in an old adventurer movie.

There is a mountain river about 500m walking distance. Great refreshing experience.

Breakfast is okay, dinner is average. The dutch hostess cooks it herself. Don't expect too much. No deserts are served. But the price for dinner is okay. You will have to ask for drinks, even for tap water.

We made friends with other guests and had a great conversation. But at about 8 pm the hostess cleared our table and quietly forced us to go to bed. An awkward experience.

Overall still worth to go, cause the lodge is unique.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ffemedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I found the casa rio blanco via tripadvisor and after having a very friendly email exchange with the owners on my reservation, I stayed there in December during our 3 week trip and I can best summarize it via one word: Precious.

- Costa Rica offers a lot of great places of nature, you can't miss it but the Casa Rio Blanco is a class of its own. I stayed there with my girlfriend and we were extremely touched and impressed with the natural environment of the Casa Rio Blanco. It made for the most romantic and beautiful experience, imaginable, it actually left us speechless at some point, it was so nice.

- This was combined with very clean and comfortable cabins. We slept very well in very comfortable beds and were very grateful for our flawless shower to enjoy after our days of excursion.

- Security wise we felt as secure as it gets, with the whole huge premises being fenced in very solidly, instantly it felt like a paradisiac and secure oasis :-)

-The owners, Annette and Herbie are not only awesomely friendly but very knowledgeable as well, having given us great advice and helping us to plan things for our visit to Tortuguero, which was a 1-day trip via rental car from there. Annette organized even a guide for us, even though we were late with our planning and after having compared the guides' rates later on, it was a great deal financially as well!

- Food was fittingly great as well, we had large dinners, awesomely tasty (Annette cooks organically!) a very nice breakfast and probably the best coffee we had in all of Costa Rica.

Sincerely, tt's hard to review this place without getting overly enthusiastic, though with so many fantastic places we had been to in CR, none of them came even close to the fantastic experience we enjoyed at casa rio blanco. One could only wish for all hotels would be run like this!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boris2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

I have stayed with Herbie and Annette three times and cant wait to go back! Very quiet, lush location, private rustic cabins right above the Rio Blanco river and immersed in the forest! The property is fenced and very secure. The grounds are very well maintained. The food is great and Herbie and Annette and great fun! At night the rain forest comes alive with the glorious night sounds and during the day you can walk the grounds, walk down to the river go for a swim or just sit and relax on a rock, walk along the road and see a plethora of rain forest creatures. We experienced the most amazing thunder and lightening and rain storm on our first night there and the next morning the forest was alive with activity! Wonderful experience!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolen6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guapiles
4.1 mi away
Hotel Suerre
Hotel Suerre
#1 of 1 in Guapiles
125 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
204 reviews
5.7 mi away
Tapirus Lodge
Tapirus Lodge
#2 of 4 in Guapiles
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Vista al Tortuguero
5.4 mi away
Hacienda La Isla Lodge
Hacienda La Isla Lodge
#2 of 5 in Horquetas
294 reviews
23.3 mi away
Green Mountain and Lodge
Green Mountain and Lodge
#6 of 12 in Turrialba
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rio Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rio Blanco

Address: South of the Rio Blanco bridge 1 km | P.O. Box 241-7210, Guapiles, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Guapiles
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Guapiles
Price Range: $88 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Rio Blanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rio Blanco Hotel Guapiles
Casa Rio Blanco Costa Rica/Guapiles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing