We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Domaine de Beausejour
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Au Sans Souci(Chinon)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Le Plantagenet(Chinon)(Great Value!)
$83
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Lion d'Or(Chinon)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Boule d'Or(Chinon)(Great Value!)
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Saint Jacques(Chinon)(Great Value!)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostellerie Gargantua(Chinon)(Great Value!)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Ibis Styles Chinon(Chinon)(Great Value!)
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Ecureuils(Azay-le-Rideau)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
14
3
3
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
3
3
3
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 24 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay here. It's quite something to wake up and look out of your bedroom window to see vines all around. The location is perfect for day visits to all the sights. Mme Chauvau is more than happy to make recommendations provide leaflets advise on driving routes and suggest places to eat. We had a great picnic thanks to her suggestion on location. We stayed in the High Turret, which suited us perfectly; not too fussy but very comfortable. It was nice having a pool on site, but it was chilly even on the warmest day. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment but ok to start the day with.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Neil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We stayed here two nights in late October. Our room was the bottom floor of the "low turret" (see photos). It was very quiet, except for the couple in the room above us, who made the bed springs bounce for a while, but that was fine. The woman of the house was most charming and helpful, and she gave us a winery tour and tasting. After discussing a number of dining options, she made for us two dinner reservations in nearby Chinon, where we were very well cared for -- in fact at one restaurant we were brought extra local sparking wine after dinner (at a point when we did not need it). That makes us remember -- beware of the sobriety roadblocks set up outside Chinon at about midnight on a Friday!

We also enjoyed breakfast in the airy breakfast room while chatting with Madame about politics and her rather libertarian views on restrictive French laws (including a then-discussed smoking ban that has, thankfully for us, since come about).

-- Jake ( http://parisandbeyondinfrance.blogspot.com/ )

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PByF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

We stayed with another couple at Marie's lovely home. We had great difficulty finding it due to it being well after dark and the fact that we did not understand the confusing french highway signs. Nevertheless, we ended up there after midnight but Marie greeted us and quickly showed us our rooms.

The house is stone and is only 30 years old but well designed architecturally and looks quite historic. She has collected antiques over the years and displays them quite in an eclectic manner along with numerous silk flower arrangements. She has a wonderful historic painting but it is hidden by a Budda. Fun to look at!

We had a room in the main house and our friends had one in the guest house by the pool. Their room was cold when we arrived as Marie had turned off the heat due to our lateness. It had a damp, musty smell to it but was quaint. The bathroom was decorated with dark brown/rust colored tiles.

Our room was of moderate size overlooking the vineyard. The lamp on one table was quite unbalanced but otherwise the rrom decor was very nice antiques. The bath was very similar to the one in the guest house but the lighting was pretty terrible. The soaps and shampoos were adequate but not elegant or of high quality.

The hillside that the house is located upon overlooks the vineyard. Behind it is a hill of stone which has been carved out with mini-caves for picnicking, grilling, and storage of some winery equipment. It is extremely picturesque.

The room and the house itself was clean overall, but more attention should be given to dusting. This is afterall a farmhouse, and does not take away from the quaint setting and gracious treatment.

Marie's husband still manages the operations of the winery, altho he is 83 years old. She is a full partner in the winery and the property and she appears to be a very wise and intelligent business woman. She was very gracious to us and our friends.

The breakfast was offered in a sunroom and included croissants, coffee, fruit, and juice. It was certainly adequate, tasty, and the norm of France.

Marie does not want to accept credit cards, so it is important to take cash for your room. Although we discussed a winery tour the first morning, it was never mentioned again, to our disappointment. We were unable to taste or buy their wine.

The location was beautiful and the accomodations adequate, and the price very good at Domaine de Beauséjour.

Marie and her husband both smoke. I detected it the 2nd morning on Saturday as he had not left to go down to the winery and was in the living room smoking. While it was a bit disconcerting, the air quickly cleared.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deputysher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2007

I can't say enough about how wonderful this place is. We stayed in the suite for three nights in April, and we couldn't have been happier. That's a lot coming from me - I'm extremely hard to please when it comes to lodging.
Everything was perfect - the suite was marvelous and very spacious, the property and vineyards gorgeous, and Madame was extremely accomodating, friendly, and helpful. We were greeted by her big dog (I forgot his name, but he was so sweet and friendly!) and loved watching the beautiful cat Tigrette stroll around the property. The weather was amazing when we were there, and the pool was just gorgeous. Breakfast was wonderful - fresh croissants and breads with jam, coffee, orange juice and yogurt. Madame had a refrigerator we were able to put our things in, and offered a washing machine and microwave to boot. She has all kinds of brochures on area attractions and restaurants, and helped us map out our routes - she even got her husband to draw a map for us back to CDG airport!
I didn't want to leave - it was paradise. When I go back to the Loire, this is the only place I want to stay. It's also close to Chinon - the perfect village for shopping and dinners (nice open-air market on Thursdays, too!).

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unicorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2007

My sister and I travelled to Chinon at very short notice to visit a friend who lives locally. Being out of season I found many of the local hotels / B&B's were closed.

My internet searching found this wonderful vineyard approx 10 mins east of Chinon, which was bought by the present owners some 50 years ago as a farm and developed into a vineyard specialising in red and rose wines.

The vineyard also offers rooms on B&B basis, and a one bedroom gite (the lower ground floor of the farmhouse which we occupied), with sitting room, kitchen/diner, laundry room and bathroom and separate shower room. It has wonderful views across the vineyards and is adjacent to the owners swimming pool, also available for use by residents. The pool was fully operational when we were there, but with air temperatures in Feb at 10C we didn't partake! Another time though.

Mdme Chauveau was a wonderful host, very welcoming. We arrived late on a Friday night and she quickly booked us into a local restaurant for our evening meal. Also very good.

Very good continental breakfasts were provided by the host and were enough to see you through to lunchtime.

This is a good base to see the Chinon area of the Loire valley. We were only there 2 days, so didn't have time to take our hosts up on the offer of wine tasting and a tour of their cellars. Another reason to go back when we have more time.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank plutus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews