We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Chateau with an interesting history”
Review of Chateau de Noizay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de Noizay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Noizay
Certificate of Excellence
WILTLSHIRE
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Chateau with an interesting history”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just a one night stop over while travelling home from a holiday in France. Stayed in a basic room which was more than adequate as the more deluxe rooms are rather pricey.

Lovely gardens and excellent friendly staff. Ate in the restaurant in the evening, not too keen on the decor but the food could not be faulted.

Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOU3993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    115
    55
    21
    12
See reviews for
74
272
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
190 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

21 year ago my wife and I spent our honeymoon night at the chateau de Noizayand we always wanted to come back when in France for vacation since we had excellent memories of our stay. This summer allowed us to just do that by having lunch at the chateau when stopping by Tours. We experienced the same great service and environment we had 21 years ago. Our lunch was delightful and service was from beginning to end superb! After a nice glass of Vouvray petillant and delicious amuse bouches taken in the salon room we moved to the dinning room and were comfortably seated by the window with view on the garden. All dishes were artistically presented and delicious. We had the gambas with squid ink risotto, then salmon and the hamburger (not the American version!). For dessert we had a sample of cheese and the abricot tart with ice cream. The wine we chose (Chinon) was excellent too. After coffee we went for stroll in the nice garden. Hopefully we won't have to wait 21 years to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixieSam59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecile37, Propriétaire at Chateau de Noizay, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
It was such a delight welcoming you a few years and a few days ago and we are really happy to read that you have enjoyed a nice lunch in our restaurant..thank you so much for the nice comments about our Chef's art...
Please do visit us again soon...
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent two nights in this historic chateau in the heard of the Chateaux de la Loire region. It was easy to get to most of the chateaux we wanted to visit from there. The property is really beautiful and the gardens are very well maintained. There are however few small additions to the chateau here and there that are a little kitsch or out of place such as the nude statute in the garden's fountain and the wall-to-wall carpet in the room. I believe that the best asset of this place, beside its historic and cozy atmosphere, is the staff. They are all so helpful and lovely. We are particularly grateful to Xavier for his warm welcome and his tactful manners. He was extremely helpful and friendly. He gave us excellent advice on what to see and what to do in the region. Un grand merci!

We should also mention that we had an excellent dinner at the chateau's restaurant. The food was fresh and delicious and the servers were lovely.

We were there in mid-July and the weather was quite hot. Our room which was located in the Chateau itself did not have A/C which we were informed about ahead of time when we made the reservation. However, despite the heat on the first night, we had a good night of sleep.

The pool is a little small. The hotel should consider enlarging it by removing the tennis court which is barely used by the clients except for a few nouveau riche Parisian clients full of attitude.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneDijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecile37, Propriétaire at Chateau de Noizay, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear guests,

It was a real pleasure reading your nice comments and we do enjoy this reward for all our work. All the staff does everything possible to make our guest's stay so special and magical...We look forward to welcoming you again anytime soon.
Best regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We concluded our trip to France in the Loire Valley by staying in this pleasant but pricey Chateau perched in the tiny town of Noizay. it is located hallway between Tours and Amboise which both reside along a picturesque river. the Chateau has a clocktower building with oversized rooms and air conditioning that actually works well. it has lovely gardens and a swimming pool and tennis court. The main house is not air conditioned which can become an issue in the dog days of summer. The restaurant is the only food choice in town but ample choices await it Amboise and Tours that will fill any whim. even the McDonald's and KFC's managed to locate amongst the medevil homes and restored buildings. Noizay is well situated as a vantage point for viewing the better known Chateaus in the area. overall a wonderful place but 500 per day is a bit much for the limited opportunity on property.

Room Tip: Clock tower rooms in the heat are a must. Excellent size in Room 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

it is hard to describe how amazing this place is.!! The building, the grounds, Everything!!
The staff is top notch.. They anticipate and take care of anything you need.. all you need to do is
ask and sometimes that is not even necessary.. do yourself a favor and if you are anywhere near
go visit the Chateau de Noizay

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main building. My only complaint was that we could not take a bottle of wine ( th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecile37, Propriétaire at Chateau de Noizay, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Silve Spring,
I would like to thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Relais & Châteaux de Noizay . You emphasize the the kindness and the quality of the whole staff and we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is tired, at best. Though a Relais and Chateau designated property, it is not up to their standards and should not cost $350 per night. We booked our room based upon this designation and the pictures on the website - big mistake. There are multiple reasons for this poor review and they are listed below.

1. Airconditioning: There is no air conditioning, so in summer it can be unbearable. They left a card in our room suggesting we should not leave the window or the drapes open due to bugs. If we had done this, we would have suffocated. So bugs did come in, but we didn't care. We sweated all but one night of our four nights. The heat was unbearable and sleeping was nearly impossible.
2. Washcloths: The towels are all stained and discolored - as though whites washed with darks. Not too big of a deal, I know. But housekeeping simply picked up the used and stained washcloths off the floor each day and folded them back up on the clean hand towels on the counter. Easy to detect when the washcloths were wet, and had distinct stains in them. This happened 3 days in a row until my husband demanded that we be given fresh washcloths.

We did not dine at the restaurant simply because eating in the unairconditioned closed in dining room in dress clothes would have been absolutely impossible and extremely unpleasant.

On a positive note, the staff were friendly enough.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShoboD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecile37, Propriétaire at Chateau de Noizay, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Is it always our pleasure to do our best for our clients during their stay at the château de Noizay. We feel sorry and amazed for your disappointment.
We would have been glad to inform you about rooms shownon our website's pictures. of course, not all our 19 rooms have picture online.
We always listen to our guests' wishes and try our best and book a room that suits them.
Please note that we do have 5 very nice air conditioned rooms in the Clock House Building, right next the Castle, as mentioned in your confirmation and on our website.
However, as you did not feel like staying in this building, we clearly specified that the main building, a 16th French Heritage building was not air conditioned but had large windows and fans in all rooms.
As described on our confirmation, it turns out that you booked a Standard room located on the 2nd floor ( at €.205 or 300 USD per night), which does not of course imply that we pay less attention to guests in this category of room. All our guest do matter to us.
This year 2013, indeed, form Januray through July, we only had 2 warm weeks unfortunately.
We understand mosquitos can disturb our guests and especially at night after warm summer days. That is why we kindly suggest them to switch off lights while windows are open at night. Our maids do so at turndown in order to avoid attracting bugs.
Finally, it is very unlikely that what is told in your review about towels can happen in a 4 stars hotel. As a matter of facts, our maids do change wet towels all mornings and evenings...
We would have been delighted to welcome you in our gourmet restaurant, with its large windows and enjoyable terrace.
All our frendly staff look forward to making you spend a magical stay in the Loire Valley anytime.
I really agree with you that your review is so poor...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Firstly I am a very picky global traveller and I focus more on negative reviews than positive to get a real feel for what I'm in for. I first found this hotel after much searching for a unique experience for my wife and I who had only a short time to explore the Loire after my business trip to Paris. I did extensive research on many websites. Having stayed at Relais and Chateaux properties before, we were happy to find that service was to the same standards as many others across the globe. Firstly regarding air conditioning, I emailed the management ahead of my trip to ask about the situation and was offered the clock tower room, but decided to stay in the main building. My email was promptly and politely answered. I was assured I would enjoy the main house. I was very impressed with the initial communication before arrival. We had a room on the first floor of the chateau with a beautiful view of the gardens, town and church below. The cathedral like windows were impressive and let the great breeze in. No air conditioning needed. The room itself was very impressive with a comfortable king bed, period furniture, antique paintings and a fireplace with an impressive mantle. Bathroom was oversized updated and modern. WOW what a room!

On arrival we were greeted to a warm and friendly reception with an introduction to the history of the chateau. It was late afternoon and lunch had already been served but the staff made an impromptu salad that was amazingly tasty and recommended a great bottle of local wine to go with it. The menu was impressive and the chef made very well presented tasty meals while the staff made sure there was not a flaw in the service. This had the potential to get a little annoying but it made for a good experience. A few comments on the dinner and dining room experience. Like others who commented, I found the service to be a bit too long and dragged out. I would have preferred a little less formality surrounding the service. For example the weather was outstanding and it would have been great to eat dinner informally in the gardens, but the impression was given by the staff that they preferred serving dinner only in the dining room. After a day of touring Chateaux after Chateaux all around the Loire Valley we would have felt relieved not feeling like we needed to be dressy or formal for dinner like most of the other dinner guests. But this in the end did not take away from the quality of the dining experience. It was awesome.

Centrally Located to many castles, vineyards and wineries (caves) in the Loire Valley! Location made Chateau de Noizay even a more special place to come back to after a long day of touring. We did alot of touring in only two days and had we picked another Relais and Chateau property we would have regretted it. The staff was friendly and helpful in the am on departure and very welcoming in the evening upon our return. It made our stay that much more impressive and relaxed. The staff was always warm and welcoming. We did use the pool and we had no issues grabbing our own towels. It was nice to have the privacy. The property is beautiful and replete with it's own gardens, forest and caves. The other buildings were very nicely done on the exterior. My only request is that the clock in the clock tower gets fixed. When it came time to check out, we did not want to leave this magical place. Our fears of the language barrier and the pretentiousness others mentioned before me were never realized and we are still talking about coming back with our two sons next year to finish touring the Loire.

Highly recommend to anyone and want to thank the staff for making this such a great getaway. Chateau de Noizay will forever be a special place for us and it can be for you as well.

Room Tip: Dont be afraid of no air conditioning the in the main building and you will be rewarded with a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecile37, Propriétaire at Chateau de Noizay, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Palmster,
Très impressionnée par le détail de votre somptueux commentaire, je vous félicite du temps que vous accordé pour décrire à nos internautes votre experience complète de nos différentes prestations tout au long de votre séjour. Votre ressenti est la meilleure récompense pour l'ensemble de nos collaborateurs tous passionnés par leur métier. Je suis enchantée que vous ayez remarqué ma priorité : le sens de l'accueil et du partage que tout le personnel exécute de façon spontanée...Votre témoignage est la plus belle des récompenses pour chacun d'entre nous. Très sincèrement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noizay
3.7 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
5.8 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
12.0 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
13.2 mi away
Domaine des Hauts de Loire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Noizay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Noizay

Property: Chateau de Noizay
Address: 124 Promenade de Waulsort sur Meuse, 37210 Noizay, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Noizay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Noizay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Noizay 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE CHATEAU: 4 luxurious rooms, 3 categories : Deluxe, Superior and Standard, all individually decorated with antiques, king size or twin beds, fitted with mini-bars, direct dial telephone, televisions with international satellite channels, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer with separate toilets. Nice view on the garden and countryside.THE CLOCK HOUSE It has always been a part of the property, an old building just renewed with five rooms, very closed to the Château (20 meters). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Chateau de Noizay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Noizay Hotel Noizay
Chateau De Hotel Noizay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing