We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience - could be better with a few simple things”
Review of Devi Darshan Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Auli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Devi Darshan Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Auli
Dehradun, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good experience - could be better with a few simple things”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed at Devi Darshan Lodge from 1st - 4th March 2013 in a group of 6 -

==========
THE GOOD
==========

Excellent, friendly service - they take complete care of you. Had a Jain couple in our group and the lady preferred dinner before sunset - they made it specially for her - what else could you ask for?

Location is excellent with panoramic view of the mountainside from the glass-house - there was no need to go out in the cold to witness the exhilarating sunrises and sunsets - Note that GMVN's guest house does not have any view of the Nanda-Devi peak!

The boys Mukesh, Aryan & Co. are quite knowledgeable w.r.t. trekking, birding information and the geography of the surrounding mountainside.

==========
THE BAD
==========

The beds creaked terribly in our room. My friend had a bed which shook sufficiently for him to feel he was sleeping in a ship.

The bathroom for the 4 pax family room is extremely tiny - smaller than the other bathrooms for 2 pax.

Rooms have very little elbow room. Being a winter destination, the quantity of luggage is high and it gets littered easily with very basic furniture available in the rooms.

==========
THE UGLY
==========

Any prospective travellers, this is a WARNING!. The hotel is a descent of about 150-200 feet from the helipad which must be undertaken on foot. We went there when it had snowed the previous week and the snow had started to melt. The entire walkway was a big mudslide which was extremely dangerous. Four out of our party of 6 slipped and fell in the mud but were lucky to not get injured. Negotiating the mud was a pain and it was even worse at night because the path had no lighting at all. The mud really made us think twice before venturing out. The owners must look into this.

TRAVEL TIP:

If you are reaching late, call up the Lodge when you start your ascent from Joshimath and the boys will be there to help you at the Helipad OTW you are bound to be floored upon reaching because there are no signboards for the lodge anywhere and the place is incorrectly marked on googlemaps.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Rahul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain_Shepherds, Director of Sales at Devi Darshan Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for providing the feedback. As rightly pointed out by you, we are replacing the beds in the family room with immediate effect. The present access route is through army helipad hence out of bound for any development activity. However, the municipal committee of Joshimath is planning to build an alternate access road and we hope that it will materialize soon. As for small bathrooms in the family room, plz note that the property is on lease. Actually it’s a traditional mountain house and as per customs, the locals prefer to have the toilets away from the main house. Hence the toilet provision remains absent in the design and architecture. Unfortunately we can’t increase the size due to the limitations of the traditional design of the property.

We agree with you that space is definitely needed for putting baggage of 4 persons in the family room and therefore opening the attached store for baggage. The lodge was initially started as a base camp facility for treks, where in guests arrive in the afternoon and leave for trek next morning. As more and more guests are arriving for extended stays, we are gradually learning the needs of this segment. As a community owned responsible tourism enterprise, we are aware that our livelihood is directly linked to the levels of satisfaction of our esteemed guests. Thanks again for your feedback, Sir!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    14
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
12
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed there as part of a Mountain Shepherds trek and found it a welcoming, wonderful, and warm atmosphere. The food is really great, the rooms very clean and comfortable, and the views out the large windows are beyond compare. The first morning we woke up to exhilarating views of the mountains including Nanda Devi! The people there make EVERY effort to give you a really memorable and comfortable experience. We absolutely loved it. Mountain Shepherds is a terrific, really well run organization that does great things for the young people and community there. And I will never, never forget our beautiful trek to the Nanda Devi Sanctuary with Nandu Martalia and all the other wonderful guides and porters. Many thanks to Sunil for great organizing!

Room Tip: All rooms I saw were really good. The first one may have a geyser, too. All have clean bathrooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rchance1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I went with six of my friends.. Devi darshan lodge made our trip as once in a lifetime.. Since the weather is extreme there, they have plenty of problems like power, water, roads etc.. but you will not feel any of them.. I cant find one negative thing in this stay.. They helped us a lot in planning the trip and made it a wonderful one..
They also provided the Boots, Windcheaters etc.. for trekking and skiing..Thanks a lot to Sunil, Biju, Mukesh, Aryan and Govind..

Room Tip: Choose the Rooms on the first floor for the beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dineshary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Devi darshan is a really good place to stay, especially for students and young ppl.. excellent food, warm and well furnished rooms really made our stay worthwhile... above all the hospitality there is amazing which makes u want to come again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Niket J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

What an awesome place and warm people !!!My 3 day stay last month was extremely comfortable with homely atmosphere and royal treatment by the hosts.Hatsoff to Sunil,Aryan & Mukesh for ensuring that our stay was warm & pleasant.To start with the view from the gallery is divine.The food was super awesome and heaters & moreso the warmth extended by hosts ensure that the isnside temperature was 11 degrees while the outside temp froze to -5 degree.If its Auli it has to be devidarshan.Once again thanks Sunil & mountain Sheperds for making our stay an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Any Room -we tayed in the four bedded aptly titled the Sparrow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bijalg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Me along with my 3 other Friends went all the Way from Delhi to this Place Via Haridwar, we had booked our Stay with Devi Darshan Lodge for 2 Nights,There were all surprises planned for us there by Mr Sunil & His Team, we had a Majestic View of Shri Nanda Devi Peak from this Place, we had done Skying the First Day, The Food served here was ossom. the Other day we went out to Climb Gorssom Peak with the Tracking experts. just could not forget the Place. it was just like Heaven, all the Amenities Provided by Devi Darshan Lodge Team were Ossom & at a Very Reasonable Rates. you should book your Stay here.. if you want to make your Visit Memorable. Mountain Shepherds made our New Year Memorable .... Thanks for all Services & Hospitality provided by Devi Darshan Team... i will for sure visit the place again in coming Years...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawan291085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I wont be able to detail our experience too much since I am a miser at words but would like to say that our stay at Auli was one of the best ever. The place, the team, the warmth, the concern, everything added to an amazing experience.

The views from the cafe are awesome and so is the food. I really endorse all other reviews for Devi Darshan Lodge.

Looking forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auli
0.0 mi away
Heritage Resort Kausani
0.0 mi away
Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet
0.0 mi away
Sun n Snow Inn by Leisure Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Suman Royal Resort
Suman Royal Resort
#5 of 8 in Kausani
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cosmos Himalayan Villas
Cosmos Himalayan Villas
#8 of 9 in Ranikhet
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clifftop Club
Clifftop Club
#4 of 4 in Auli
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devi Darshan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devi Darshan Lodge

Property: Devi Darshan Lodge
Address: near Helipad, Auli 246443, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Chamoli District > Auli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Auli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please read carefully as Devi Darshan is a lodge and not a luxury resort. Nestled in the high Himalayas, Devi Darshan Lodge is a small 16 bed facility at the famous Ski Resort of Auli in Uttarakhand, INDIA. There are 6 twin beds and 1 four bed rooms in the lodge all with attached bathrooms and toilets. As a community owned and operated enterprise, the place is ideal for family outdoors and as a base camp for trekking in and around the Nanda Devi National Park. The lodge staff is certified in WFR, mountaineering & nature guiding. There is no TV in the lodge and we don't promote bonfire or DJs. There is a small library, games for kids and a community shop to buy woolen products made by the Bhotiya women. The lodge has a small equipment store for hiring trekking gear and cloths. Front desk remains open 24/7 to assist the guests. Tariff quoted is inclusive of daily housekeeping, dinner and breakfast with 24 hours tea/coffee at the tea bar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing