We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a dream holiday destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zanzibar Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mazizini
Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you are looking for that dream 'Africa experience' I would recommend staying elsewhere. This hotel is functional, and the staff are polite and friendly, BUT (as others have said), it is quite dated, and getting a bit shabby.
There is no hot water in the showers in the morning (I think the hot water is heated by the sun, so better to have your shower in the evening).
There are cats EVERYWHERE (this seems to be a problem across Zanzibar though).
The pool is closed for maintenance until November 2013, and there are no beach services (such as sun loungers, or beach bars) nearby.
The rooms are cleaned every day, but because the bathrooms are quite old, and the taps rusty, tiles cracked etc, they just have a dirty look about them.
The complimentary coffee in the rooms is that pre-mixed coffee/creamer/sugar mix (which is sad considering the region is famous for its coffee production).
The food was average. There is only internet access in the bar/lobby area (despite the apparent availability of several wifi networks associated with the hotel)
The staff were friendly, the bed was firm and comfortable, and it was pretty quiet when you needed to sleep, and these are the reasons I am giving a rating of 3/5.
I would seriously recommend that the owner(s) invest some money in bringing this hotel up to a standard that would make someone want to come back here on holiday, rather than being thankful that they were only here for a few days on business.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissyMuzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 192 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Location is good - direct access to the beach; free daily shuttle to Stonetown (walking distance along the beach), airport 5 mins away, rooms big - I paid no single supplement via AfricaStay Groupon deal, Awesome! Wonderful breakfast buffet from 6:00 to 9:00 (Add 1 hour for Zanzi-time). Remember to bring electric plug adapter. Swaili speaking staff friendly and English is understandable. Great air-conditioning in rooms - fans and air-cons that work! Negotiate tour prices with Safari Blue and Sun Tours! Resort has dynamic management - now part of Three Cities Group - after renovations prices may be increased - might be a good time to get a good deal now. : )

Room Tip: Rooms away from the restaurant and swimming pool are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Only good thing about this hotel is nearer to the stone town.stayed for 2 nights on 28/29 of june.food is ok, but the management have to seriously take care if stray cats in dinning hall.imagine u leave your plate with food in it and go to get juice or u leave your table unattended u find cats on your table enjoying ur food and having dinner they are all around you, under the table moving between your legs.that's really unhygienic and disguthing.though the staff tried to chase them but they returned within few mins.staff are very helpful.wouldgo for better hotel which are easily avilable.the beach in front is not good as u could find in other beach hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seifi-munira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This resort has a beautiful view and an amazing swimming pool :) It also offers good food,apart from cats wandering all around the place,and dirty toilets. Adding on this,there are too many mosquitoes in the rooms.that needs to change!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nailanaeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

As a returning Tanzanian resident working in Zanzibar I stayed here for 1.5 months so know it very well. Overall staff is nice and the rooms are ok.

Number 1--something NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THE MOSQUITOS...they are absolutely horrible!!!! The fumigation is obviously not working. The first week or 2 they offered "mosquito coils" but the remainder of my stay non were offered and it was miserable to sit in the lobby for wifi (no wifi in the rooms) to search the Internet.

DIRTY CATS--Also the dirty cats need to be removed from the compound-they are an absolute joke and the staff does not care (most likely because they live in these types of environments) they are gross, have rabbies and flock to you when you are eating.

That being said...the ocean view and kayak is spectacular...it is the only hotel in Stonetown with a gym (although it is limited). The food service is limited as most of them do not speak English...I speak fluent Swahili and my orders were constantly wrong but the food quality was ok. Many things on the menu not available unless a big group in town. Breakfast generally decent with the exception of strange things like spaghetti and eggs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Americanincognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at this resort for two nights in August 2011 and it was excellent stay. The place is a little out of the main Stone town but then it is very easy taxi ride. The staff was helpful and courteous. They have a seaside restaurant and a poolside bar, and if you prefer to experience the foods at Forodhani than you are just a ride away. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chakumaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I came as a '' day visitor '' - I caood nnot give a review of the Rooms but the location is great ! The entrance is enchanting as everything in Zanzibar - but the moment you enter the Lobby or '' open hall '' you can see the attitude of everybody :
1. ponds are smelling and dirty but good looking - but hardly any Pond works well
2. Waiters are only care for the " booked staff '' with a mediocre Buffet - all other visitors are way over their head ....
3. Food was shocking.......a chinese hot and sour soup for 9500 TZ shilling is a cheap tomato soup with loads of vinegar .....then the replacement is a: surprise surprise a : Cheap Tomato Soup without Vinegar .....sizzling platter was ok with local ingredients but forgot to replace rice with chips .....always after 3 x rounds forgot to bring ice ( and i especially ask ) ....Bread for soup was wonderful ....a really great soft roll - will totally melted butter ....which cancel this great roll....all in all - a typical excuse for zanzibarean exprerience : sorry the chef dont know and he ''made a mistake'' and this is africa......well done my friend I paid the full price and when ask to pay half only - it did not work ( WHY ? i only had half the service ???) ... My local friends has pepper steak which even she said was from a donkey - not a local cow - the replacement rice was mush rice and overcooked ...and we still made it a good time because we live here .....but what a shame to show this to any Tourist......but nevertheless the Beach View and swimming is fantastic but do not expect any good food besides been fed....at least you not go hungry if you have a lion stomach or no tastebuds....or alternatively as my previous friend stated ...the \prawns are wonderful ( if the Chef is in top form ! - inshallah !)

Room Tip: i never seen the Room as i came as a '' Day Visitor''
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ingmarstief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazizini
16.1 mi away
Maars Resort
Maars Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
29 reviews
6.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
#21 of 37 in Zanzibar City
90 reviews
20.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
570 reviews
33.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Beach Resort

Address: Mazizini | Kiembe Samaki, Mazizini 2586, Tanzania (Formerly Fisherman's Resort)
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Mazizini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mazizini
Price Range: $78 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zanzibar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Beach Resort, located only 5 minutes from the airport and 10 minutes from the famous Stone Town. 4-Star, 72 en-suite rooms, 2 unique restaurants, 2 bars including a pool bar, 8 conference & banquet halls Having one of Zanzibar's Largest Pools, Gym, Spa, Corporate Meeting Facilities, Laundry, Shisha Lounge, Weekend & Festive Poolside Entertainment, Menu Variety from Continental-Indian-Swahili-Arabic Cuisines... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Zanzibar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Beach Hotel Mazizini
Zanzibar Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Mazizini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing