We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek break -great value”
Review of Cartwright Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cartwright Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aynho
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for my husband's birthday treat and took advantage of its location to visit Oxford and Blenheim Palace. Our room was lovely, very comfortable and spacious. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make our visit enjoyable. The restaurant food was excellent and reasonably priced so if you stay there go for bed, breakfast and evening meal.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 450 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were really well looked after at the Cartwright Hotel. Very comfortable room, excellent food and helpful, friendly and attentive staff who went out of their way to look after us. Would recommend eating in the restaurant for dinner and the breakfast was good too. Would strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DG016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

A nights stay in awful weather made into a lovely stay by the friendly staff and good hospitality we found at this hotel.
The room we stayed in the courtyard was excellent with comfy bed and pillows- food was really good and excellent value Yorkshire chef excellent

Full marks for good service and value

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jacqueline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We needed a place to stay so that we could be up early to drive tractors at adayinthecountry.co.uk and the Cartwright Hotel was recommended by that site. The hotel is spick and span, the service is good and the food spot on. I can particularly recommend the cooked breakfast.

Overall, I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlrobertwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just returned from a 2 night deal with dinner b&b and local attraction tickets.
We were shown to our room 19, in the courtyard. It was huge with a kingsize bed but sparsely furnished, would have had room for a couple of comfy chairs however it was comfortable and cozy.
Main gripe was no shelving or storage space in bathroom and curtains in bedroom when drawn covered the radiator so tucked them into window recess.
Staff and food were excellent, power cuts caused the boiler to malfunction overnight so no heating or hot water on Saturday morning but we were given an electric fan heater that did the trick. It was back on when we returned from our day out.
We chose Bletchley Park tickets even though the weather was atrocious we found it very interesting. Drove into Milton Keynes after for a spot of retail therapy,huge shopping mall.
Would recommend any from this group of Oxfordshire Hotels all doing the same type of deal

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jane53England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My partner and I have just spent 3 nights here on dinner, b and b basis. Absolutely brilliant, great value for money. Beautiful food and lovely staff - could not fault anyone. They are all so willing to help and very friendly. Will certainly return !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotel, part of the Oxfordshire Hotels, is located in a great village, benefits from a beautiful refurbishment and has fantastic bedrooms, many located around a historic courtyard. However the staff and the quality of the food really let it down. On the night I stayed, the staff appeared unmotivated and only wanted to do the minimum, with little enthusiasm. I wasn't shown to my room, service at dinner and breakfast was unremarkable and the quality of the food was no better than a chain restaurant or pub group. This is all fine - and I would expect nothing less from a large corporate hotel chain - but Oxfordshire Hotels promised much more in their marketing literature. It looks like they have invested significant money in this hotel and it is a shame poor management looks like letting it down.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRWK1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigeloddy, Owner at Cartwright Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel although I'm obviously disappointed that your experience did not mirror that of most of our guests. Paul Haverson, General Manager of the hotel is keen to address your issues - if possible could you phone or e-mail him with the detail re service and food. I do hope you are able to give The Cartwright or any of our other hotels a try. I am confident that you will enjoy our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aynho
3.1 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
544 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
233 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chesterton
448 reviews
14.7 mi away
Burlington House Hotel
Burlington House Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
489 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartwright Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartwright Hotel

Address: 1-5 Croughton Road, Aynho OX17 3BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Aynho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aynho
Price Range: $125 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cartwright Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cartwright Hotel has 21 fully re-furbished en-suite bedrooms - each individually designed, beautifully furnished, with flat screen digital TV, hospitality trays, and free WIFI. The restaurant is popular with local diners as well as hotel residents and offers a delightful a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. The Apricot Room is ideal for functions, hosting up to 60 people, fully air-conditioned and able to host wedding receptions, private dining, and conferencing. The Cartwright is ideally situated for visits to Bicester Village Designer Shopping Village, Silverstone, Blenheim Palace, many other Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cartwright Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartwright Hotel Aynho, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing