We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”
Review of Cartwright Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cartwright Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aynho
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We'd been searching for a nice place to go for birthday meals in the region for some time and this is the best we've found. We went for Sunday lunch and enjoyed two excellent courses (I highly recommend the seabass) and great service. One thing that makes the Cartwright especially appealing is the high quality of desserts as so many other places that do a great job with the main courses simply seem to warm up overpriced microwave puddings but here we really enjoyed the cheesecake and the sticky toffee pudding, both of which were equally as good as many places that have much higher prices.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james_patching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 463 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Came here to meet a couple of friends for Sunday lunch. I ordered chicken liver parfait for my starter which was watery, with a grainy, unappetizing relish and one tiny slice of toast. My main of ricotta and spinach tortellini was clearly a supermarket purchase which, when you are paying £13 is unacceptable. The service was slow although the staff were pleasant, but our drinks order was forgotten. Definitely won't be returning or recommending.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MXmum48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigeloddy, Owner at Cartwright Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at The Cartwright Hotel for lunch Last Sunday.

Our Chef sources all of our ingredients locally where possible and buys from top class suppliers, (no supermarkets!) We take all comments seriously and while it is good to read the positives we also need constructive criticism to help us improve.

We have discussed your comments with Chef and Restaurant staff and will act on them. It was good to read however that you found the restaurant staff pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were expecting a querky old fashioned coaching house atmosphere with a log fire and low dark rooms. We were wrong. The bar was bright and modern with fireplace but no fire. It lacked atmosphere. However bubbly was available by the glass (sigh of relief from my wife!) and the local draught bitter excellent. The staff were efficient and fun. Again the dining room decor was modern and rather dull (nice conservatory area)but the food and service more than made up for this. There was a small problem with the risotto but this was fixed at once (by adding cheese) and more than made up for by a glass of wine on the house. Our room was functional, large and warm with a huge comfy bed. Beakfast was excellent and served v quickly as we were in a rush. The staff were exceptional and turned a night on the road into a real treat. Want to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kipper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Cartwright Hotel as guests of a wedding party and we're impressed with the ease of booking and the helpfulness of the staff in arranging room for us to use to change in when we arrived before our alloted room should have been ready (booking from 16:00, wedding from 14:00).

However, our room in the courtyard fronted onto the cobbled route to the car park, and taxis bringing guests back after midnight together with staff arriving for breakfast service disturbed our rest.

Would we go back? Yes, but I would insist on a different room (#10

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sh52mjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We, two couples, stayed at The Cartwright Hotel last weekend. We both had lovely big rooms in the Courtyard one small problem sorted out immediately (who said what is it with you and mirrors!!!)
Food was brilliant both breakfasts and evening meals. Lovely trip to Bletchley Park the weather was even kind to us. But most of all the fantastic staff, such great fun and nothing too much trouble. Paul the Manager, his wife Jo and daughter Alyce with a y!!! Gary the assistant manager, John the chef and all the others. Thanks for making our weekend so very enjoyable, cheers here's to the next time.

Room Tip: Rooms No. 11 and 19 We saw the light!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Held business meeting for 20 in conference room then had dinner and stayed for one night .Really accomodating and friendly kept bar open late and food and service very good .Sausages and buffet breakfast really good . Bedrooms were in main building or in courthouse barn .bed comfortable and room 17 massive bed and could swing 20 cats
Will go back with the wife for weekend

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked out the Cartwright Hotel for our wedding guests in Aug 2013. All of our guests thought the Cartwright was a lovely place to stay, and the Friday evening meal was fantastic - lovely flavours and great portions! The Cartwright Hotel rooms are comfortable and well equipped, and the layout of the hotel around a large courtyard works so well for a large gathering of friends and family. All of the Cartwright staff were friendly and helpful, and happy to go the extra mile. We'll certainly call in when we next pass to sample the tasty restaurant food and excellent service. The location of the hotel is in a beautiful stone-built village in the quiet countryside, but with excellent road (motorway) and rail links in the vicinity.
Pete & Lara (UK)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara_and_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aynho
3.1 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
558 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
668 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
235 reviews
4.7 mi away
Middle Aston House
Middle Aston House
#32 of 45 in Oxford
109 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartwright Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartwright Hotel

Address: 1-5 Croughton Road, Aynho OX17 3BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Aynho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aynho
Price Range: $117 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cartwright Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cartwright Hotel has 21 fully re-furbished en-suite bedrooms - each individually designed, beautifully furnished, with flat screen digital TV, hospitality trays, and free WIFI. The restaurant is popular with local diners as well as hotel residents and offers a delightful a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. The Apricot Room is ideal for functions, hosting up to 60 people, fully air-conditioned and able to host wedding receptions, private dining, and conferencing. The Cartwright is ideally situated for visits to Bicester Village Designer Shopping Village, Silverstone, Blenheim Palace, many other Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cartwright Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartwright Hotel Aynho, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing