We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just suited our purpose”
Review of Cartwright Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cartwright Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aynho
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We needed to be near to Aynho Park because we were wedding guests and the Cartwright was just across the road, so just suited our purpose. The room at first felt cold in the unseasonal weather but finding a portable heater in the wardrobe made a huge difference. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first evening and it was excellent. We chose from the Market menu which offered a very good choice at a reasonable price, whatsmore the wine recommended with this menu was excellent value for money. The young male waiter was very attentive and works very hard to suit the needs of guests. We also found the breakfast menu just to our taste.
The room was quiet and peaceful even though it was near to the main road through Aynho. We would definitely choose this hotel again if in this area.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 which is immediately opposite the breakfast room, next to the car park and quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 449 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

The room was nice, very large but also very cold. I put the radiator up to full but it was still cold in the morning. I even lifted the curtain onto the window ledge so the heat could actually get out into the room, but still it was pretty cold in the room all night (it wasn't exactly freezing out either, about 5 to 8 degrees I guess) Ok a minor moan I know but still... The staff are first class, really very nice, professional and obviously take pride in their work which is pleasant to be around. My main annoyance with this hotel is really only one thing, and that is the price of food and drink. Please do not get me wrong, the food is really, really good but unless Gorden Ramsey was helping out Jamie Oliver tucked away out the back I think it was just to much money. I think this is also why there are no locals in the bar, which is a shame as when I stay somewhere like this I like to get that local feeling, especially if I was on a weekend break. Anyway, breakfast is great room is clean and staff are lovely so if you are in the area give it a go.... But then there is nothing else for a fair few miles so you may not have a choice!..... Again, maybe why the prices are high in the bar?

Message to the owner, get the locals back in... it creates atmosphere!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had a great stay. Hotel in quiet location, bit remote but not too far to Bicester or Banbury, found them easy enough. Breakfast was excellent, dinner okay. Both Gary and Leva were great, as was the gentlemam from Dereham, who welcomed us. Thanks guys for a fab weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debtracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

we were en route through the Cotswolds and picked the Cartwright as a potential stopping place; how glad we were that we did. This really is an excellent small hotel with a good value restaurant and friendly engaging staff. There is an excellent dinner menu which is served by attentive staff. Breakfast was a less atmospheric as most of the other guest were business folk and up and away long before we were.

Room Tip: It is worth going for an Executive Room for the extra space and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel_Corax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent one night here after an excellent meal in the Apricot room which is delightful. Our meal was excellent,the staff helpful. The drinks were very pricey though at just under £12 for 2 drinks. Our room in the courtyard was basic but pleasant enough for one night. The mattress was of at the lower quality end and the room chilly in the night even though the radiator was on all night. Its been a long time since we've had blankets on the bed in a hotel so this may have made the difference in warmth and cosy ness.

Room Tip: The rooms directly off the courtyard can be chilly if its cold weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here on a mini break for 2 nights. Booking went awry as they got part of the email address wrong but soon sorted with a phone call. Staff were great when booking in, got an upgraded room. Spacious room (no 18 in the courtyard), very large bed. Clean and the usual tea/coffee facilities. Bathhrom a good size and very clean, plenty of towels. Had the a la carte menu, lots of choice for us, well presented and decent portions. All well cooked and very tasty. The local cheeseboard ( choice of up to 4 cheeses) was almost more than I could manage. Kim, our waitress on both nights, was a joy, friendly and helpful. Paul the general manager was talkative and gave us some good advice about where to go for the rest of the day. The only problem seemed to be paying in cash for extras. I had a concerned phonecall from my daughter who had a call to say we had left without paying the bill!! It took some time to get the person at the hotel to believe we had actually paid. This included being asked to decribe the person who took the money! I presume it is now sorted as no further phone calls but no apology either. They need to sort out their computer system so that it shows all payments or tell customers they need to pay for extras using the same card as they used for booking.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnDiveguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Four of us stayed here in February and had 2 rooms in the yard which were very roomy and comfortable. We had a great weekend, helped by the fantastic staff who were very friendly and professional (a special thanks to Gary for making us laugh). We ate both nights in the restaurant and all four of us thought the food was excellent. I couldn't fault this hotel and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aynho
3.1 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
541 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
233 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
242 reviews
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#9 of 44 in Oxford
1,119 reviews
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Bicester hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartwright Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartwright Hotel

Address: 1-5 Croughton Road, Aynho OX17 3BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Aynho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aynho
Price Range: $124 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cartwright Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cartwright Hotel has 21 fully re-furbished en-suite bedrooms - each individually designed, beautifully furnished, with flat screen digital TV, hospitality trays, and free WIFI. The restaurant is popular with local diners as well as hotel residents and offers a delightful a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. The Apricot Room is ideal for functions, hosting up to 60 people, fully air-conditioned and able to host wedding receptions, private dining, and conferencing. The Cartwright is ideally situated for visits to Bicester Village Designer Shopping Village, Silverstone, Blenheim Palace, many other Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cartwright Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartwright Hotel Aynho, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing