We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
141
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
141
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe reservehard worklife changing experienceafrican bushamazing experiencetwo monthswonderful placemakes you feelstayed longerwild animalslearning experienceexciting thingsfeel at homefood chaina lot of funbeautiful settingcommunal atmosphere
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 142 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2011

If you are with your partner or on your own, Askari is the perfect place to go to experience African wildlife and conservation as it should be. The reserve is ethically run and truly is one of a kind in S.A.
The accomodation is spacious and comfortable, even for the most apprehensive of travellers, there is plenty of home comforts- that you will realise you don't need!!! I always dreamed of visiting South Africa, especially Kruger park, Askari is a well situated location to do just that,so if you feel the need to leave the reserve, which I doubt you would, then Kruger is a short journey in a hire car away (cheap trip)!!
I was at Askari for 4 months in 2010 and all I've wanted to do since is go back, so beware, it is contageous!
Enjoy, Matt x

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hakunamatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

I have seen a lot of people call it "Once in a liftime experience" and "dream come true" and was hestitating to call it that way as well, but it just simply is!!! There are no other words to describe this experience if you are interested in wilderness conservation. This experience is a unique opportunity to become one of the staff members and really do what they do. You won't spend your time just watching from the car as in many volunteer programs, but this progam is really hands on and will give you some of the most amazing animal experiences you will ever have. From a lion roaring with the full power of his throat just a few meters away from you, lion cubs playing and feeding on a zebra, to tracking cheetahs on foot and we had even the luck to experience a darting & relocation, to having hyenas circle you on a night sleep out and a big herd of elephants welcoming you in the middle and just doing what they do. The accomodation is really high standard for a "bush camp", the food is more than sufficient and good variety (you take turns in cooking), there is even cleaning staff to keep the house clean and do the laundry, and now there is also a proper internet connection available. The only thing I would say if you plan to do things on the weekend is to not forget your driving licence as the reserve is quite far out and it is a 1 hour drive on average to any of the small "towns" nearby. There is no other chance to leave the reserve without hiring your own car.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank london_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

I spent 4 weeks at Askari and it wasn't long enough! Doing conservation in Africa had always been my dream and being at Askari was like living the dream. I could easily have stayed longer. Set on the amazing Pidwa wilderness reserve Askari WCP plays an integral role in the reserve maintenance. The accomadation is great as it the food which everyone takes it in turn to cook. Driving to and from different activities and just bumping into a hugh varity of wildlife is something very special. Having an elephant walk straight past the vehicle is an experience that cannot be matched! The staff are great, so knowledgeable and I learnt loads. They obviously love what they are doing and they're enthusiasm is infectious, even moths were exciting! They really make sure that you understand what you are doing and how it will have a positive effect on the reserve and its wildlife. I couldn't recommend Askari more highly, I had the most incrediable experiences there and will definitely go back if I get the opportunity!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryony14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Askari WCP is an amazing project located in an absolutely stunning reserve! The staff are very friendly and welcoming, they also know and teach you so much about the reserve and the bush. The accommodation is great and all the services provided make it very luxurious for a volunteer project. The food is provided and is very good, also taking your turns to cook is fun :) Apart from that the activities all meaningful, varied and well organised, so they keep you entertained during the day. The best part is driving around the reserve and seeing all this beautiful nature and incredible animals! If you're contemplating going - don't hesitate, it's worth it!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KV04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Askari for me was a life time dream i always knew would be breathtaking, however i never imagined the whole experience to be so amazing. The staff are so welcoming and friendly, not to mention experienced in all the outback training you need to be safe and see the most beautiful animals. This trip isnt justy for animal backgrounded people like myself i cannot imagine anyone not loving Askari; i plan to go back either this year or next depending on work commitments as its such a breath of fresh air from everyday life. The accomoadtion is what i would expect from a 3star hotel, all meal are provided and its nice to take part and help out with the tasks set out by staff.
There arent the words to express how greath this place is, what you'll see, learn and love so my best advice is just go!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews