We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Newfound Haven”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calatagan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stilts Calatagan Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Calatagan
Certificate of Excellence
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Newfound Haven”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were at Stilts May1-3. It was our family's long planned bonding and "gadget detox".
The children loved the place for there were lots of things to do. The ATV activity tops them all. Thank you Mr.Lito and Bok for the patience of showing us how to maneuver the ATV at dusk to nighttime around the challenging track of the resort, it was an awesome experience. Water sports facilities were good as well as the people manning the area.
We stayed at the "Delight" beach front cottage and indeed it was a delight having the space and the comfort of the all white motif as well as the good mattress to rest our tired bodies.
The food selection was average, however the "binalot" was something to look forward too.
The staff were kind and polite, special mention to Perfect at the reception who answered all our
queries. We are planning to be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gigitiongson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    138
    44
    9
    12
See reviews for
152
44
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

There's no need to fly and go far to have a perfect vacation, this is just a few hours away from the Metro. We were able to get a good deal for 6 persons, but this stilt house was big enough to house 10 more people because of the attic area. I never thought I could find a place this beautiful in Batangas that did not burn our pockets. Even the food in the restaurant met our expectations as they were affordable and tastes good, we got to eat our lunch in our stilt house. It was complete like a house, there was a receiving area, dining area (table), mini kitchen with ref and water (no cooking), rooms with aircon, two toilets: one outside and one inside the house. There's also a hammock and seats outside so you can enjoy the sea wind and can even go down the stairs to swim. At night, we ate at the restaurant and there was presentation of Philippine folk dances which invited the guests to join in, it was really fun. The beach was also nice, they had a lot of activities but we only tried volleyball and kayak. The breakfast buffet did not disappoint and their service was superb. There was a telephone in the house so there was no problem asking for anything, wifi was also available. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back :)

Stayed September 2012

Room Tip: choose the stilt houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith_Cabanatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Came here for a company outing but for an overnight trip. We arrived on a Friday morning around 11:30 am, only 1 person offered to help us with our bags. It was still early so we were asked to wait for the other cottages. 1 beachfront cottage was already prepared & our cottage was just beside it so we decided to wait there. They told us that we would get our cottage at 2 pm. At around 2:30 pm we decided to call the front desk to ask if our room was ready & they checked it & no one informed us that we could transfer already. Nobody helped us move our things. They just gave us the key & left.
I like that they have a curfew for the karaoke machine up till 9pm only so you can relax. I noticed that they were setting up at the beach for tents, tables & chairs & found out they have a day tour the next day. 6am we were woken up by music. We tried to sleep still but at around 7am the music got louder. We checked outside & there were no people yet so we called the front desk to ask if the sound system was theirs & they said yes & asked what the problem was. We told them that it woke us up. They were just beside our cottage (Play) & it's really loud. They said it's because there was a company arriving that day. My husband told them that there was nobody there so how come they have to play the music so early in the morning. They just asked for an apology but did nothing about it. We just got up & had breakfast because we were up anyway & just around 830 am the coffee ran out. They didn't bother refilling it.

We still have until 12 noon before we check out & they cordoned off the beach front property for the company who was coming for a day trip. We should have had the rights to that beach front because we rented that cottage but when the company came we had nowhere to go. They told us we could still use the beach but we had to walk around the area they cordoned off to get to the beach & we just had a small portion that was too much of a hassle.

When lunch came they served us salted eggs with worms. Our company had pre-arranged for all our meals there. They didn't have a dedicated section for us & so I saw a man getting drinks there for him & his daughter thinking that it was free for all. I say if you want your moneys worth don't go here. The place is nice to look at but it was poorly maintained & layout was confusing. The pool was murky & they have a canal that smells & shower heads near the pool were so dirty. Never coming back again.

Room Tip: If you want to relax don't get the beach front cottages. They rent the beach front for companies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KayC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amor and Mina H, Owner at Stilts Calatagan Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.

Please be advised that we have thoroughly investigated your concerns and taken steps to
to further improve our services.

We have put in place stricter restrictions on the use of videoke and the playing of music early in the morning. We have also taken into consideration the spacing of the beachfront for overnight guests and day tours.

We have redoubled our efforts to maintain the cleanliness of our pool and other facilities. We have also spoken to our F&B staff regarding the importance of maintaining the quality of our food.

We would just like to clarify that you were not restricted from using the beachfront. Our staff politely asked you to move from the tents that were set up since these had been reserved and paid for by other guests. We apologize if there was any miscommunication regarding this matter.

We have successfully hosted both day tour and overnight company outings over the years. We have received many compliments from company heads and coordinators regarding our services, facilities and staff. We will continue to do our best to provide excellent service to all of our guests.

Thank you for giving us this opportunity to address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at stilts to attend a friend's wedding. We stayed one night at one of the Destiny rooms, located at the farthest end of the resort. The highlight of this resort is obviously the rooms that are on stilts. These provide a nice view as well as direct access to water and lounging areas for groups. Most of these rooms though are intended for larger groups, not just for two people, so we opted for the Destiny room.

If you're coming from Manila, you can expect to travel around 2.5 to 3 hours to get to the resort. Good thing we brought a car because if you opt for a Destiny room, you'll need to travel around 2-3 minutes by car to reach the main area of the resort from the room. Walking would be a difficult task, especially when it's hot. Your own car is helpful if you expect to be moving back and forth from the room to the main resort area as I was.

We had terrible service by the wait staff at the main restaurant on the first day we got there. We decided to have lunch upon arrival. For some reason, our server looked really irritated as if he couldn't be bothered to help us. It wasn't just me as all of us at our table felt the same way about our server.

In my opinion, the rooms were average. I didn't find the destiny room to be worth the price per night. They were relatively clean but not entirely. I was sitting on the chair when I got back from the wedding and had fallen asleep a bit. When I woke up I found a cockroach crawling up my back. I don't know if this was because the room wasn't that clean or if it's a consequence of the location.

The breakfast was average, sufficient, but nothing really special. The beach was nice and clean but it seems that the water is a little bit uncomfortable to get into because of the rocks and plants. We were able to go snorkeling and the staff at the activities center were very helpful. The boat we rode had some trouble getting out of shallow water (probably because we were so many on the boat) but the staff were helpful and tried their hardest to get us out.

Overall, the resort is okay but could use some improvements to make their visitors feel that their money was well spent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rjyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We went to Stilts for a Day Trip and were given cool and refreshing welcome drinks upon arrival. The front desk people were very nice and accommodating. They had guides to help pick our bags up from the cars, and brought our things to the cabana.

Since it was very early, we decided to go island hopping and snorkeling before the heat became unbearable. We decided to go to the sandbar (where apparently everyone goes) and go snorkeling/swimming after. One of the Stilts people, named Jhigz, suddenly changed out of his uniform into casual clothes. then, our bangka named "Eduard" came, and we were surprised that Jhigz from Stilts accompanied us. Talk about good service!

After a trip to the sandbar, snorkeling and swimming, we went back to Stilts and had a most amazing lunch at their outdoor restaurant. You should try their "Love me Tender" Beef, not only cos its name was hilarious, but also because it was yummy!

I liked that they had a lot of changing rooms, shower rooms and restrooms available for Day trip people, and the sand was surprisingly soft. The staff were everywhere, and would efficiently and speedily answer/do/suggest things we asked for (considering we went during Holy Week)

Despite our neighboring Day Trippers annoying us by playing loud karaoke, I would definitely book an overnight stay here in the future, and will definitely recommend this place to others. (And probably reserve all karaoke machines first so no one else can rent it and annoy the others)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinkypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We went here just for a day tour. It's actually possible to just go here without having to stay overnight. We were 3 in the group and we commuted going here, spur of the moment decision. After 2 tricycle rides from Balayan, we arrived in Calatagan Stilts at about 11am. We are the only guests who went there by tricycle. The guards were nice enough to remind us to get the tricycle driver's name so he can pick us up or else it'd be hard for us to go back to the town proper.

We were welcomed with 3 glasses of cold orange juice.The 2 receptionists were accommodating, they asked until when we are going to stay to which we responded "we'll leave by 4pm". They suggested the Open Huts (good for 4-8 people priced at 1,200php) but we told them we will not stay there for long. One of the receptionists suggested that if we want, we can only pay the entrance fee of 385php per person and they will just set up table and chairs under the tree. Of course that is more than okay! One personnel took my backpack and assisted us to one of the shady trees about 5 meters away from the shore. There are 3 beach benches but the personnel still setup the monoblock chairs and table (with table cloth).

Restaurant: We ordered watermelon juice, rice, liempo (very small serving) and eggplant with mushroom and cheese (we like this very much!). The food was great, a bit prices but since we shared, we only paid about 250php each. Not bad.

Water: The water is really shallow, very good for kids and those who don't know how to swim. We stayed in the floating cottage and swam around the perimeter. We noticed, though, that there are tiny jelly fishes around that area so we went back close to the stilts.

Although there are a lot of activities offered by the resort, since we were on a day tour, we didn't have much time. Next time we go here, we want to try staying in the Stilts. And we also want to try exploring the entire stretch of the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yasameen_desu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had a few days off and wanted a quick vacation near Manila with our 2 kids (11 and 15 years old). Called a few friends for suggestions, while being particular about distance, cleanliness and amenities. A friend of mine recommended Stilts Calatagan Beach Resort, while others recommended the usual beaches. We have not heard of the place so we researched online and loved what we saw. Room reservations were running out so we had to immediately book. The following day, we drove off to see what Stilts had to offer. We braced ourselves as we were going in the property…and upon entering it, we immediately FELL IN LOVE. The place is SO CLEAN! The road going to the reception area is filled with beautiful poetry to set the mood for a calm, serene stay. We were greeted by VERY FRIENDLY staff - consistently so from the reception, to the cooks and waiters, gardener, boat man, bike and ATV rental guy, gardener, etc.

We stayed at Destiny Cottage. It's a 15 minute walk to the main area but we had our mountain bikes with us so it was not a problem. You can bring your cars and park near the cottages, so the distance is no big deal. In fact, we loved that we were in Destiny cottage! But next time, we'll try the stilts (we'll just have to book much much earlier though).

Rooms are VERY CLEAN. Even the restrooms near the pool area are VERY CLEAN.

Lifeguards are on a lookout the whole time. The pool is consistently being cleaned from falling leaves. Towels look brand new and are thick, and they smell good too.

We had an activity-filled 3 days. Kids learned how to play Sungka and it became a never-ending family battle of the masterminds. We rented the peddle boat for only P600/hour. Not bad. The sea is very calm so it was a very relaxing ride. We also rented the ATVs for P750 / hour / ATV. Not bad either. We had a very nice and smiley guide (shucks, I forgot his name!) - he's the concessionaire of the bikes there so you won't miss him. He's really very helpful. The trails are such a challenge which made our experience more fun! All the equipment are clean, even the masks we used for the ATV ride smell very good.

Food serving size is little. Although the menu says a dish is good for 2 to 3 persons, expect that 1 viand is good for just 1 adult and probably 2 little kids. But for a family of 4 like ours, we had to order 1 viand each, and averaged about P1,200 to P1,500 per meal. But breakfast is really good and it's part of the cottage fee. Suggest you bring chips because they don't sell those in the resort. We brought our own bottled juices too which helped us a lot.

Over-all, we LOVED the place. We're definitely going back soon…probably with our friends this time around and have more activities planned out. :)

Room Tip: Destiny cottage is the farthest (about 15 minutes walk to the pool and restaurant). We initially wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShiningShimmering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calatagan
10.8 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 4 in Lian
191 reviews
17.1 mi away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
287 reviews
10.3 mi away
Matabungkay Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
White Castle Resort & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Villa Del Faro
Villa Del Faro
#2 of 5 in Calatagan
2 reviews
20.2 mi away
Canyon Cove Beach Club
Canyon Cove Beach Club
#2 of 4 in Nasugbu
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stilts Calatagan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilts Calatagan Beach Resort

Property: Stilts Calatagan Beach Resort
Address: Calatagan, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Calatagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Calatagan
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Stilts Catalagan Beach Hotel Santa Ana
Stilts Calatagan Beach Resort Batangas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing