We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty but take food with you. Closest food during week is Frosty Mango.”

Paluma and Crystal Creek Rainforest
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Paluma
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very pretty but take food with you. Closest food during week is Frosty Mango.”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

It was a lovely break from the Townsville heat. Lake Paluma is beautiful and has good facilities although it is quite a long, rough drive to get there. It would have been a fantastic day out if we had packed a picnic.

We went on a Tuesday and there was no food at either the Eco Resort or local Inn. The resort only caters for guests and the inn is closed Tuesday to Thursday. The resort is 'making signs' as we drove 40km in and out, to find out we could not get lunch there. We were annoyed that the maps showed food at 2 locations when there was nothing available during the week. We would have had lunch and spent the day there but had to leave Paluma to get lunch.

We were sent to the closest place, Frosty Mango, which was past the entry to Paluma and further along the highway towards Big Crystal Creek. Lunch there was basic, but good, and the ice creams were delicious. They also had a selection of cakes that looked nice. See notes at Big Crystal Creek and Lake Paluma also.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsMA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    36
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Absolutly stunning! A MUST See”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

One of my most Favorate places in Northern Queensland! Have traveled all of Australia and this beautiful peace of paradise is simply stunning!

Helpful?
Thank Kira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuranda, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“absolutely stunning”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

i absolutely love it in paluma.. crystal creek is one of my most favourite places.. the water is beautiful.. the trees are beautiful.. perfect place to hang out for the day and have a picnic.. if your in the area, i highly recommend checking this place out!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gingin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cool clear water and wow factor to picnic location”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The winding road to the top of Paluma has a vast array of ferns high in the trees, rather scary drop off to the sides though so not for the faint hearted, just take it easy on the drive. Stop halfway and explore the waterways, have a swim then continue to the top its much cooler up there with a wonderful lawn, barbecues and picnic settings under the trees. The rangers do a terrific job and keep the toilets and facilities clean thank you to the lady attendee for her terrific attitude on helping to maintain this area. Crystal Creek is a wonderful swimming spot idyllic is a perfect title. With a scramble over natural rocks to the clear water it is only suitable for those with no impediments in movement. Hint take a long handle gas lighter for the gas BBQ they do not have self ignition.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We got a map from a women we met. She said we had to go there, otherwise we would have passed it. We went to little crystal creek. We couldn't drive off road so we couldn't visit the other creek. Beautiful creek with lots of waterfalls and paths you can walk. There were no tourists at all. We also went to Paluma Village. And walked the small rainforest walk. There is also McClelland’s lookout, but it was too misty to see the view unfortunately.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paluma and Crystal Creek Rainforest also viewed

Ingham, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to Paluma and Crystal Creek Rainforest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing