We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost near Bergerac” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Lion D'or

Le Lion D'or
Reserve with
Le Lion D'or is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Saussignac
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: +33 5 53 24 72 30
Kent
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lost near Bergerac”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Got lost near Bergerac and found this gorgeous country inn in a very quiet village. Typical lunch time fare but fabulous value at under 40 Euros for the two of us. Good service and very filling. It is worth plugging into the sat nav. Also the village itself is worth a wander and there is a good little wine store nearby.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oneisspc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    29
    6
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary AB
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A taste of Bergerac region”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Family run restaurant was full of character and a nice litte find. Hubby does the cooking while he wife runs the dining room, and together they make you feel very comfortable. (Helps that the Mrs can speak a fair amount of English. The menu has a nice selection and is provided for you at the table on a chalk board. Portions are very generous and we could have probably shared. Had run out of soup but otherwise everything was available and cooked upon request ...so plan to spend some time there. Home made profiteroiles are a must for dessert. Local wines from the surrounding Chateaus are available and can also be purchased (after the meal) at Chateau prices ...thought they were a bit pricey on the dinner menu. No other choices of places to eat in this little village but you won;t be disappointed either.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pegletone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent small restaurant in the smallest of villages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a great meal here washed down with a bottle of organic wine from a local vineyard. We were staying locally but it's worth travelling to - lovely French character and fabulously tasty. If the menu had changed we'd have gone back the following eve.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road Town, Tortola
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pleasant, interesting but blessedly unpretentious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We'd read and heard of Le Lion D'Or several times and decided to check it out today. Saussignac is a sleepy village somewhat off the beaten track, but the Lion D'Or is easy to find and worth a stop. We eschewed the formule (Quiche Lorriane with salad to start, Dourade with saffron rice and haricots vert as the plat du jour and a glace that looked more like a profiterole for EUR12.50) in favour of the a la carte menu. Two of us opted for starters, both of which were interesting and very tasty: eggs poached in red wine and served with (in) a sauce of red wine with lardons was one, while the other was "Nage d'escargots avec ceps", which turned out to be a delicious creamy full-flavoured mushroom soup to which half a dozen escargots had been added.

Main courses offerings were less adventurous: Entrecote poelee for two and pave de saumon for the 3rd. Again, generous portions and all very tasty. However, there was the ubiquitous confit de canard, another duckling dish and two other fish/shellfish dishes, all of which sounded good.

Plenty full from entree & plat none of us wished for a desert, but there was an extensive list from which to chose. Mme. Lion D'Or made a good recommendation for a local red wine and we were very happy. The only thing that detracted from the experience was that instead of decent background music (or none at all) there was a radio program (music) complete with adverts. Not exactly a big whine.

It should be noted that in in-town restaurants the formule normally comprises very small portions but this seemed to be far from the case at Le Lion D'Or. Other things to be aware of are that opening hours are quite limited (12 - 1:30 for lunch, can't recall dinner hours), at least off-season; they don't take e-mail reservations and that Mme Lion D'Or speaks excellent English but is happy to endure tourist French without grimacing.

Will we go back? Definitely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuff-ltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Philippe du Seignal
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food but had to ask for bread!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Another restaurant very near our home. We went without a reservation on a Friday lunchtime. We had the menu du jour which includes a glass of wine or coffee for 16,50€.
The starter was the most lovely quiche lorraine with a nicely dressed salad of baby leaves. The main course was dourade which had been stuffed with herbs and baked, with saffron rice. The dessert was a a light as  a feather choux bun filled with cream. All home made and beautifully presented.
The chef patron also made the bread. Our only criticism was we had to ask for water and for some of the lovely bread - not normal in France, and service with a smile costs nothing. Maybe Madame was not "en forme"?
But overall it was the best meal we've had for some time, great value for money and we will definitely be returning soon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank laineenfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Lion D'or also viewed

Saussignac, Dordogne
Monbazillac, Bergerac
 
Gardonne, Dordogne
Monbazillac, Bergerac
 

Been to Le Lion D'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing