We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden gem- Amazing place and lovely hosts!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 1500

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Saussignac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Belle_d_8...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem- Amazing place and lovely hosts!”
Reviewed June 22, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Myself and a friend stayed for a few nights at this amazing BnB. Where to start... from the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Lee, one of the two owners of the BnB who kindly took our bags to our room. Lee then took us for a tour of the BnB, which is incredibly stylish yet still managed to feel very homely. You can tell a lot of thought and love has gone into this place, from all of the things both Lee and Mike have collected over the years and it was really interesting hearing about the history of the pieces in the house.
Myself and Amy loved this place so much we realised we didn't actually leave the front door for the first 2 days!
The outside pool area feels like a little slice of chilled out Ibiza and Lee and Mike were very accommodating, asking what types of music we'd like to listen too by the pool and supplying us with refreshments- All of which are provided by the hosts for a very reasonable cost.
We also decided that we would take up their offer to book the 3 course meal cooked by Mike, on our first night. The food was so delicious and their company so lovely we actually booked to eat there every night and throughly enjoyed being entertained by the hosts in the dining room.
We really enjoyed our stay here and it was made all the better by having such amazing hosts. I couldn't recommend this place enough and I will definitely be back in future!

Ellie

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citisurfe...
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Awesome B&B and Hosts”
Reviewed June 5, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at 1500 for the second time and it is even better than before.

Our hosts Lee & Mike have made some great improvements since our last visit - as if it wasn’t good enough before. We were greeted on arrival with a friendly welcome and shown to our room which is tastefully decorated and has a very comfortable bed and spacious ensuite - totes modern with history.

Breakfast has an excellent selection of fresh bread (the French really know their bread), jams and croissant, juice, coffee etc. Lee checked our food preferences and tailored breakfast for us.

Inside is cool and calming when outside is too warm. The weather was great so we spent time by the pool and in the garden. This area is perfect for relaxing, drinking wine and reading or getting a tan.

During our stay Lee also helped us with directions to some nearby vineyards and some caves I wanted to visit to the East. The region is really good for different activities but aside from a day trip and visit to the fab local markets we just chilled in the garden by the pool.

We also tried the food at the cafe which was exceptional and meant we didn’t have to go far but we noticed some other options in the village - maybe next time...

Overall, we had a great weekend away where we didn’t need to think about much and could completely unwind from our busy city jobs.

Thanks guys - we might buy one of those paintings next time!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxine S
2 reviews
“Stunning house, location and hosts, we will return!”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a very special place. We highly recommend you visit if you can. We have spent 10 fabulous days in the beautiful home of our superb hosts Mike and Lee. Accommodation was spacious, clean and very tastefully decorated and furnished. A house full of character and charm, fully equipped, incorporating contemporary modern technology. Outdoor space equally beautiful, with quality outdoor furniture, a tranquil pool area in a gorgeous walled garden completely private. Pool area is peaceful and tranquil, surrounded by fruit trees. We loved our stay in this lovely place. Mike and Lee are the most wonderful hosts. On hand when you need them, and available to answer questions, and share their knowledge of the area. As a family of mixed ages all our needs were met in one place and we had a blast!! Thank you Mike and Lee for sharing your home, your time and your amazing humour. We are planning a return with friends asap. We arrived as your guests but feel like we left as friends. See you soon. xxxx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lbarnes52...
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Simply stunning property and amazing hosts”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What an amazing place, the villa, the pool, the location and the hosts. The house is one of the best holiday rentals that we have ever stayed in. Originally the owners home, it certainly feels like one (rather than a holiday let!). Lots of original quirky features and memorabilia from the owners global travels. The property has everything you could possibly need for a relaxing holiday. The owners (Lee & Mike) who also run the cafe next door could not do enough for us whilst we were there, from catering for our daughter who follows a Vegan diet, to booking other restaurants for us. We will definitely go back. Very highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
95damianw
1 review
“Great accommodation to relax and experience the region”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

From the very start, Mike and Lee were the perfect hosts, making us feel welcome and well acquainted with the property. They were quick to give us a tour of our home for the week, and were always available to help out.
The property is stunning. They have taken great care to preserve and display the house with its rustic local charm, and ensure the property has the modern touches and amenities. Our room was large and bright, full of character and given a personal touch with Mike's own artwork lining the corridor to our room.
The property is well located to explore the region by car, but my favorite aspect of the location was the morning walk through the back of the property, along trails adjacent to vineyards and countryside.
The pool is fantastic, and ideal for lazing around with a glass of wine. For something more energetic, a 10min drive took us to the Dordogne where kayaks are available for rental.
Overall, its a great location to explore the region, fantastic hosts, and leaves you feeling thoroughly refreshed after a relaxing stay. We will be sure to go back very soon. Thanks guys.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deja17
birmingham united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Blissful break”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a fantastic holiday at Le Dit Le Bourg, in a sleepy hilltop village in the Dordogne. Lee & Mike our hosts made our stay wonderful, the house had everything we could possibly need, beautifully styled with their eclectic finds from their travels. Very spacious, which we shared together with. our family and friends. The outside areas were beautifully laid out, eating in various parts of the gardens, the pool was used daily for swims and relaxation. We sampled wines from the local area, that Lee & Mike recommended, they were very knowledgable and were always able to help. There is so much to do in this area, we visited many villages, markets, Bergerac is only 15minutes away, Bordeaux about 11/2 hours, all worth seeing. Eating out in Saussignac, Lee& Mike have a gorgeous cafe, which is open Thursday-Saturday , which is a must, we had a fantastic meal here, please see review on that, worth a visit..Also a little restaurant in the square, which is also worth a visit, if a little expensive. We highly recommend a holiday in Le Dit Le Bourg, and it's wonderful hosts Lee & Mike, hope to see you again....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful accomodation
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles M
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing time staying here. The accommodation is fantastic, a beautifully maintained traditional property with original features and fantastic artwork dotted around the place, and would happily recommend it on that alone. But it's the hosts (Lee and Mike) that make it an extra special experience, their warmth and kindness make it feel like you are staying with friends (who have an awesome house). I don't normally write reviews but we had such a good time we felt we really should. We would highly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing