We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exclusive and Quiet Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand View Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nahan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand View Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nahan
Patiala, India
Level Contributor
119 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Exclusive and Quiet Place”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Grand View Resort is situated in a small village on a hill top by the name of Jamta. Jamta is 16 km from Nahan in Himachal Pradesh. We had booked 6 rooms for our couple kitty group. The place is very calm and quiet since it is isolated from big towns or cities. The resort is well maintained. Rooms are very good. The garden overlooking the valley is fantastic and you can spend the evening there enjoying the natural beauty. The resort has the facility of a Swimming Pool, Gym, Disco, Restaurant, Indoor Games etc. The food quality in the restaurant is very good. The staff is also very cooperative. However my review will be incomplete without mentioning the negatives. There was no bar in the resort. The service in the restaurant was very slow maybe because they do not have adequate number of staff people in the restaurant. The swimming pool water was not clean maybe because they do not change it due to scarcity of water being a mountain region. The most important point to note is that you can easily get bored if you are not in a large group. Since there is nothing near the resort where you can go and spend time, you have to be in a large group to keep yourself occupied.

Room Tip: Select Rooms with a view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Akashbansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    88
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
106
22
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Panipat, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We were a group of 4 families and everyone had a different choice of location and distance they wanted to drive to, therefore,the selection of this location was rather a compromise formula and I haven't heard about this place before. The expectations further shortened when milestone read 'Nahan 20' and there were no signs of any hills.
But after 'Kala Amb' drive was a pleasure and altitude increased fastly. the resort is a further 14 km drive from Nahan, and once we drove in we were quite happy to see the facility, nice lawns and a good lobby took away all the apprehensions we had.
We rented presidential suit and premium rooms, which were nice and tidy, average size, bathroom is my main concern and that didn't disappoint.
The resort has all the facilities to keep you busy and occupied for the weekend, Even in December,swimming pool was clean and operational, though we didn't use it.
We enjoyed bonfire on both the nights and the restaurant staff served us till late hours without fuss, food also was good, and they offered wide variety in their buffet also.
Staff was very courteous, waiters or room service people didn't wait or look expectantly towards us after they done whatever we told them to (not to mention, we tipped them generously while checking out).
It was a pleasant stay for all of us and we returned with nice memories. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Have been to GV twice, once when I did a 250 people luncheon for family for my elder son's fist birthday and second for a dinner with family friends.

250 People Gathering
I was really upset to see that nothing was ready in the party hall when my guests started to arrive. The manager made a lame excuse that his earlier breakfast (in a different room) finished late. He agreed to decorate the room with stuff we provided but not even chairs were put in order... we had some man power and did what we could, overall ended with decent gathering.

Dinner
I was really hesitant to go there again even for a dinner but to my surprize food was better than average although service can really use some help. Overall we did enjoy. Scenic beauty from Grand View, lights of Nahan town exnhances the experience.

I did see signs of poor management again with missing paintings though ... wish they can maintain their investment instead od "who cares" - "dont worry noone will even notice" - people do and does not give all the stars that you claim.

Never stayed - wont either

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keeper007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We went to Nahan in Mar 11 from Delhi by self driving. The hotel is very nice and staff is very co-operative. The rooms are very clean and spacious. They have a nice pool and playing area for kids, though swings are less.At evening they play music in their DiscoTheque which is very nice to enjoy. The food is amazing...!!! Though we stayed only for one night but it was a memorable trip. Near sight seeing are Renuka Lake and zoo which is quite nice specially the lion and lioness.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guptanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

had a two night stay at grand view.its amazing place.had lot of fun.service nd food was very gud nd rooms were spic nd span nd comfortable.would like to visit again soon.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mamtas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I went on a short trip to this hotel suggested to me by some one.
Wanted to go to a place where my child can enjoy.

It turned out to be just the same. There are a lot of activities for children and adults to enjoy together.

The best place to enjoy virgin natural beauty.

They have a nice pool, a recreational area (tt.carom,pool,disc. and a spa ), swings, very nice sculpted gardens and evening activities for Kids as well as adults.

The resort is situated at a beautiful location and have breathtaking views.
The staff is warm and welcoming barring 1 or 2 waiters.

The manager of the resort Mr. Vikas is an amazing person and goes to every length for his guests, he really gets the spirit going and is a one man show has a very warm and pleasing personality.

All in all it was a nice experiance away from hustle and bustle of city life and overcrowded hill stations like shimla mussoorie etc which are more or less commercialized now.

Went for a day trip to Renukaji from the hotel and it was a pleasent outing.
Beautiful lake and a small zoo for kids to enjoy.

Only glitch I found in the resort was there rooms were not really upto the mark it can be better (though not really complaining because you dont really be in room when theres so much to do).

If you are going there in rainy days you might encounter some bug problem.

The food quality of the buffet was ok but the allacart chinese was bad.
Rest it was fine ,I would give it 8 out of 10.

If you are looking for a change and have a group its a really nice place to be for a small vacation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RD611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

This hotel has still been my favourite since 2005, I have been here 3 times and can be here another few times. great view of Himalayas, near Renuka lake, great zoo for kids (with many lions to see). Food is good though the entertainment has deteriorated since the manager (Mr George) changed to someone new and not half as good.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajnish_agg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nahan
25.4 mi away
Moksha Himalaya Spa Resort
0.0 mi away
Whitemushroom - Kasauli
Whitemushroom - Kasauli
#2 of 16 in Kasauli
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sailani Resort
Sailani Resort
#2 of 8 in Nahan
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nestling Meadows
Nestling Meadows
#1 of 8 in Nahan
58 reviews
18.4 mi away
Mist n Meadows Resort
Mist n Meadows Resort
#1 of 6 in Rajgarh
28 reviews
27.0 mi away
Fernhill Resort
Fernhill Resort
#6 of 12 in Chail
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Resort

Property: Grand View Resort
Address: Jamta, Nahan, Nahan 171002, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Sirmaur District > Nahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand view resort Nahan is undoubtedly one of the best resorts in Himachal Pradesh. Nahan which catches thousands tourists eyes every year is a calmest place to look out for. Tourists spots in Himachal Pradesh is always a hit amongst visitors; Nahan has its own charm. Its wonderful mountains with lush green view soothe your eyes. The beautiful scenes make this place perfect for panorama. Accommodation is one thing where you do not have to worry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing