We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent loction but highly overpriced”
Review of GMVN Tip N Top

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lansdowne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GMVN Tip N Top
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

+ves
- Excellent, The Best LOCATION in Landsdowne, undoubtedly. Built right on the trourist spot of Tip n Top Hill point.
- The wooden cottages are Super Deluxe, amazing feeling to live in there.
- Comfortable and clean beds
- Dining area is good, TV with cable is good. Small refrigerator is also there (very handy)

Normal cottages are deluxe (not very good, but average). The tree house is good but not worth it, and there are only 2 of them.

-ves
- Bad service (its Govt owned).
- No intercom. You have to call them on their cell phones
- With that service, it is overpriced.

We were 6, took one double bedroom and one single bedroom super deluxe wooden cottages. No doubt the location was just too good but found it to be highly overpriced and bad service. They do get you whatever you need, but the quality is not good and it takes ages.

Overall, if money is not a problem (we paid aprox 5k - 1 Bedroom and 7 k - 2 bedroom cottage - super deluxe per night) and you can manage with below average service (but bearable) then its a MUST GO resort. You can choose to go for a deluxe cottage as well (cheap and OK). Best for weekend getaways from Delhi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harpreet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 101 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

Lansdowne in Uttaranchal is unique due to it being cantonment area of Garwhal Rifles. Situated at an altitude of 1700 m (~5500 feet), it is comfortable 6-7 hour 250km drive from Delhi. Named after Viceroy of India during British Rule in 1887, this quiet hill station is surrounded by thick oak and blue pine forests. Proximity, serenity and its location on mountain top makes it a perfect weekend getaway. From the main market, Tip-N-Top is a 3km drive - and GMVN has a property (Wooden Cottages) located there. From this spot, we could get view of the beautiful Himalayas and some parts of Tibet. The viewing point leads to a trail down the mountains for trekking enthusiasts. The cottages were unique and provided a private affair.

Room Tip: There are only two cottages to choose from- so book early and specifically ask for them. Since these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayank g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I've seen a great many government-owned tourist bungalows, hotels and properties and this must - sadly - rank somewhere near the bottom. Sadly because the location is fabulous and the rooms are pretty OK, especially the log cabins. Great views of the Himalayan range and very quiet since it's on top of a hill. It's built around a large, old Raj-era cottage, which could perhaps have been described as 'pretty' or 'quaint' if it only weren't so terribly maintained. And I mean terribly. Available rooms are a combination of a couple in the Raj cottage, a few cabins with thin wooden partition boards, and a couple of log ones (including on stilts, an interesting experience, especially since it creaks at night) and a few brand new 'Swiss' (or so they say) log cabins (which look very good except the expected pricing sounded utterly ridiculous when they told us). Which brings me to the service, which is what makes all this ridiculous. The staff is friendly but not really trained to be 'hotel' staff for a joint that demands these rates, especially in the summer. The food is really dhaba food found in roadside eateries across North India, so infer from that what you will. Most of the items on the sparse menu are usually unavailable. The ones that are leave much to be desired once they arrive, since you know this really isn't a seedy railway station hotel. Service is slow and general maintenance is awful. It would be a 'good' place to stay if only the service where better and the food justified the rates -- which I emphasize again, are not worth it for this kind of government tourism board hotel. A good hotelier or top-end hotel group could easily take this over and turn it into a fine stay. If you give us dhaba and dharamshala service,GMVN, charge us dhaba and dharamshala rates.

Room Tip: Choose the log cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musafir69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This small hill station is a haven on the earth, not much people aware or avoid going to this place as no big market is available. But this place is for them who wants to enjoy the beauty of nature in quiet and calm place.
Enjoy the cloud in your room kissing you on your bed, spectacular sun set which I have not seen ever at any hill station. A drive to Taekeshwarnath temple (40km) is worth visiting. Stay at GMVN Banglow.

GMVN Huts and tree-House needs advance booking on holidays as very cheap and at a great location. It starts from INR1980-2800 for one hut with a double bed stay. They also have huts for family with kitchen.

Room Tip: Go for newly build huts (built of imported wooden) which has good view and comfortable stay. Select...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mano R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for a night in the log hut some time back. The experience of staying in a totally wooden house perched on top of the logs was good but rest everything was sub standard. We had to order dinner before 6 pm as they wouldnt take an order after that. Its advisable to order only veg food. Room service is pathetic. Bed sheets , blankets etc were smelly.
Would recommend only for the location of log huts.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a resort where you should go if you have a very low appetite for food. Super costly food - no taste and horrible service is what they should publicize.

The location is by far the best you can get, clean laundry, clean washrooms n bedsheets. The only problem I see is they have a very horrible and limited list of items on their food menu. If you are an ardent fan of non-veg food you need to give them atleast 2 hours for preparation as they source it directly when ordered. Strangely the food is super costly and not worth the price. We were a group of 8 and we paid about Rs 4500 for the food for 1 night stay which seems too expensive. I can definitely have a better buffet at a cheaper rate in Gurgaon at 1 of the few 5 star hotels in this price. The food had a bland taste overall and they had no speciality in non veg food, we literally got into a scuffle with them on semi cooked mutton which after good confrontation we werent charged for.

The surrounding - ambience - location is Excellent but everything goes down a drain if you think of their food qulaity & service.
I hope this works as an improvement area for them.

Room Tip: Whenever you are picking on rooms, try going for the ones that are either facing the valley or the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bhatnagarahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is one GMVN resort that you must avoid if you are travelling to Lansdowne. Pathetic service, bland food, dirty linen, stinking bathrooms, no maintenance of premises. We had a horrible experience there. There are no intercoms available in rooms. So, every time you need to order something, you have to rush to their reception which is always unattended & then you call out some random name, someone pops out of kitchen & you place your order. You may have to do this exercise 2-3 times to have your order delivered. Many of the items listed on menu were not available.

Only good point about staying here is its location. Its at the top of Lansdowne & you have incredible view of valley. Tiffin top & church are at walking distance. Quite a peaceful surrounding & you would love to take a walk around. You may see army men carrying out their drills as well around this resort area.

I would not recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: New cottages were under construction which should be available from Oct. If you must stay here, try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KarkaraGaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lansdowne hotels
1.5 mi away
Lans Castle, A Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Samskara & Samsara Homestays
3.0 mi away
Hotel Snow Cliff
Hotel Snow Cliff
#8 of 25 in Lansdowne
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Corbett Hill Resorts
Corbett Hill Resorts
#3 of 5 in Lansdowne
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Green Palms
Hotel Green Palms
#5 of 25 in Lansdowne
46 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Garhwali Inn
The Garhwali Inn
#10 of 25 in Lansdowne
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GMVN Tip N Top? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GMVN Tip N Top

Address: Garhwal Mandal Vikas Nigam LTD, Lansdowne 246155, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Pauri Garhwal District > Lansdowne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Lansdowne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing