We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over night stay, great room and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Saint Florent
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Over night stay, great room and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

we have just stayed at the hotel on the 31st August 2013 for one night, of a party of 8 people. The hotel was booked through Booking.com and reserved on the internet. The hotel is half way for our trip back to Calais and catered for two rooms of 4 people. The hotel has a late arrival check in time up to 22.00 hours, which helped with making sure that we would be able to travel and book in on time.

On arriving we were not able to park in the rear car park at the hotel, but just past the hotel in the next road is a public car park area, which we parked our two vehicles in until later when they could be parked in the hotel car park. The hotel is on the main road through the village, but not many vehicles are about.

We were greeted at the reception and confirmed who we were and straight away taken to the two rooms which had been booked. One room was on the ground floor at the rear of the hotel next to the restaurant and the other room was on the first floor of the main building. Both rooms slept 4 people and a cot was required for a young baby. There was a cot in the hotel, but this was not brought to the room, but we had brought a cot, so this was used.

Both rooms were clean and had two bedrooms with two single beds and one double bed in the other room. There are TV's in the rooms and showers as well as a WC. Both rooms were large and had more than enough room for 4 people to stay in and the beds were very comfortable. Our room number 17 was very modern in design and for the price that we paid was well worth the money, with comfort, space and cleanliness.

The hotel also has a restaurant which you can eat at for your evening meal, with fish and meat dishes. 4 of us ate in the restaurant and had main meals and deserts, including soft drinks, bottle of local red wine (taste was amazing) and coffee for under 100 euros. The food was good and if you want to try great food, then you must eat there, so glad that we did.

The village is small and there does not seem to be another place to eat other than a pizza shop, butchers, shop that sales curry to heat up. There is a café/bar across from the hotel, this is not open during the evening, but is during the day time. Not really sure what it was, but there were some chairs out the front and it looked like a newsagent. There is a supermarket along the main road just past the pizza shop and church. There is also a garage to get fuel there and you could get food for the day if required or get you fresh bread if going out for the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    40
    14
    11
    28
See reviews for
17
64
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The owners were very helpful and friendly. They arranged to have some decent bikes available at a reasonable price. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Quiet area in an excellent location between Chambord and Cheverny. Restaurant was only okay but it was convenient and the service was good. We had a good wifi connection on 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Some rooms have very small showers. The family room is very nice. Rooms in the back are quiet. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank branfont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday & Sunday night so we could visit Chambord and other chateaux in the area. Booked online the night before and had lovely welcome. Very pleasant room on top floor and bathroom was a decent size, too. Unlike previous reviewer had no trouble with wifi reception. The restaurant is just across the small car park and ate there both nights although if it hadn't been a Sunday night might have looked for somewhere else to eat, as menu choice not very wide. Breakfast basic but fresh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filmfansw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The location was good to visit Chambord and the village was nice. The hotel was shabby, with no air conditioning and no wifi above the 1st floor. It is a fire trap. This place would be tolerable except for the manager. This is what happened to us:
We booked a room Aug 9th at the Hotel Le Saint Florent in France for 4 people for 1 night. We had an extra child (who wasn’t going to use an additional bed). The manager was forcing us to buy an additional room for 62 euros (absolutely no breaks in price) and we felt like he was taking advantage of us. This rate was much higher than other listings. We told him we would keep the room and have four people sleep in it. My husband would sleep in our car. This was the arrangement and met totally the terms of booking. We did not have an additional bed set up (this is what the manager is saying). At 9pm the manager barged in our room and kicked us out. We had not used the beds. It was getting dark, We had no place to go , we had no working cell phones and the internet was not available (as stated on the hotel’s website) for us to find anything. We ended up driving all night to Germany.

Since we met the conditions of the booking but it was the manager’s decision to release us, no way should he have charged us. We did not use the accommodations we paid for. I told the manager I did not authorize him to charge us. We did not sign any credit card form. When I asked if he was going to try to charge us he said I don't speak English!!! He spoke English before so he was being dishonest to his advantage. I saw people looking for a room in the lobby and I'm guessing he got extra money to rebook our room. He was heartless to kick out our family with 3 children. His actions made a big negative impact on our vacation and it was a miracle we didn't get in an accident being so tired and upset by his horrible and unbelievable actions.

Room Tip: Lower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mont-pres-Chambord hotels

Wetherby, West Yorks
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

2 night stop during a cycling trip in Loire. Safe secure storage for bikes. Restaurant for dinner at adjoining restaurant very good but breakfast in hotel at best average and served off paper tablecloth with no plates. Rooms very small with no amenities at all - no hairdryer, no fridge, no kettle and hotel did not own an iron. Alot of road noise and sits on a very busy main road.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath if you like a soak after long cycle. Try to get a room facing the back as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great location to break our journey from the South of France to the channel port. Hotel suggested a good vet for our dog's routine treatment prior to return. Good hotel in separate block from restaurant. Safe off street parking between the two buildings. We were made to feel very welcome. Our children shared a room and felt safe. Rooms seemed to have been decorated recently. Although our double room had an uncomfortable bed with ill fitting mattress and poor pillows, our daughters said that the beds in their triple room were fine. Homely rather than luxurious - but plenty of character and rooms were a good size. We stayed for a few nights and the restaurant served such excellent food we were pursuaded to eat in each night. Excellent French breakfast. Hotel in a great location to visit chateaux, and Blois. Good dog walking around the village, and plenty of longer walks in the nearby forest. We'd be happy to go again.

Room Tip: Less road noise at the back - although the road is very quiet late at night. The double room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneofPettsWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent one night here as part of a cycling tour through the Loire valley. It was just what we needed - conveniently located between Cheverny and Chambord, garage space for the bikes, decent restaurant right opposite, a little terrace at the back for having drinks, powerful shower, and clean bright rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont-pres-Chambord
4.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel IKAR Blois sud
Inter-Hotel IKAR Blois sud
#1 of 4 in Saint-Gervais-la-Foret
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Maison d'a Cote
La Maison d'a Cote
#1 of 1 in Montlivault
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel du Cygne
Hotel du Cygne
#1 of 2 in Bracieux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel La Bonnheure
Hotel La Bonnheure
#2 of 2 in Bracieux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant du Grand Saint-Michel
4.4 mi away
Chateau de La Rozelle
Chateau de La Rozelle
#1 of 1 in Cellettes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint Florent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint Florent

Property: Hotel Le Saint Florent
Address: 14 rue de la Chabardiere, 41250 Mont-pres-Chambord, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Mont-pres-Chambord
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mont-pres-Chambord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Saint Florent 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Saint Florent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Saint Florent Mont-Pres-Chambord, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing