We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming slice of French countryside”
Review of Le Mesangeau

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Drain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Mesangeau
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drain
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We spent two wonderful, peaceful nights with Gerard and enjoyed his company and the stunning restoration of their 1830's manor house. We highly recommend a stay at this neat place.

Room Tip: There are several great rooms on the ground floor, others require stairs. Special needs are willingl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 37 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

We have stayed here on two occasions and have now made a series of personal recommendations to our friends. Gerard and Bridgitte have created a stunning property and the warmth of their welcome is unmatched. The accomodation is created out of love rather than commerciality and this becomes aparent as soon as you enter the house. Their personal welcome was such that we found ourselves in their comfortable lounge being trated to an aperitif and a warm exchange of the events in both of our lives during the year. Just like visiting old friends. The value was unbeleivable and breakfast was truly a treat. We will certainly visit again when we are next in the Western Loire. Au revoir, W and D

Room Tip: Look at the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freemansofloxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

A lovely house in a beautiful setting. The drive way approach must be nearly half a mile. The property has been restored and maintained absolutely immacutely. There was really nothing we could find fault with. The room was lovely, I would say 5* standard, with all the amenities one would expect. The period features were a delight.
The hosts, Gerard and Brigitte, really made our short stay worth it. Gerard is charming, eccentrically French (he seems to like the English!) and very welcoming. Brigitte is a fantastic cook. The hospitality was warm and relaxed, we ate a great meal with our hosts and other guests and they made it all very easy for everyone to feel at home.
We would certainly go back if we had the chance to be in this region again. It is also great value compared to other places of a comparable status.

Room Tip: I expect all the 5 rooms are equally wonderful - pick the one that meets your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACSHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed here for four nights last week for a friends wedding which was being held nearby. We absolutely loved it!. Gerard and Brigitte were amazing and although we hadn't stayed here or met them before we quickly felt like we were staying with old friends. Each evening we had wine on the lawn and on the first night dined there which was fantastic and great value.

Gerard took a real interest in the plans for the wedding - transport etc and telephoned the companies booked to make sure everything was in order.

The breakfast was fantastic and even though we missed the time for breakfast on the first morning Gerard quickly whipped up a full breakfast for us as soon as we were up!.

We used the bikes on the first day and had a lovely bike ride around the area. Will definitely be returning again to explore the area some more.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loubarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

First impressions last! A wonderful first moment of impact as we drove in and the house came into view. They have done a terrific job on the house. We can not fault the exterior (very well kept), the interior (beautiful and extremely comfortable rooms). The owners (Brigitte & Gerrard) were very helpful prior to arrival with emails etc, and were so welcoming. They have done a terrific job on the house, and it was a pleasure to stay. A delicious evening meal, large choice for breakfast, and lots of comforts left in the rooms for guests. Kids were welcomed and loved the walks around the grounds. We had a 5 star experience throughout. Stay here - for longer than one night if you can. It's idyllic. Thanks for having us.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rsg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed one night on April during our driving trip through Loire district. Although the Chateau is located in the rural area, it was easily found by the GPS designation written in their website. We were amazed to find a nice castle with a wide clean front garden that appeared after a few hundred meters forest-drive from the Chateau gate. It had also beautiful forest-ponds to walk around and even an old private church! The room was wide, clean and comfortable. The hostess and host were quite friendly and informative. They shared us pleasant wine-time with them and their intimate friends. We regret we had no enough time to stay here longer.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ginmokusei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

A picturesque chateau lovingly restored by Bigitte and Gerard, magnificent rooms decorated with great taste. Dinner was served on the terrace, wonderful home cooking and a very pleasant evening spent chatting with our hosts. With the Loire valley on the doorstep, very well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Mesangeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mesangeau

Address: 49530 Drain, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Drain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drain
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Loire and its vineyards, you will receive a warm welcome in our 19th century "Gentilhommiere" of which you will appreciate the charm, comfort and calm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Mesangeau Drain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing