We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Chateau was fabulous, everything we expected and more!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Challain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Challain
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Chateau was fabulous, everything we expected and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had a wonderful and very special weekend at Chateau Challain, one that will be remembered by all !

The Chateau was fabulous everything we expected and more, when we first arrived fabian who was a gem, showed us around all the rooms in the chateau, meticulously designed . such detail and each one different and special, everyone loved it !

I know we are the first to use the spa room , the ambience, staff and treatments was all great

The meals , table decor, cake , everything had been organised to perfection and really, such a glorious setting ......

Look forward to coming back !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    6
    0
    3
    5
See reviews for
37
57
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had our 40th birthday party at the castle. I booked without seeing it in person and it far exceeded our expectations. Our party was given free run of the whole castle and grounds which was just wonderful given we had a number of children with our group. The staff were all very friendly as well.

I would however like to make a couple of comments about the lack of communication and food.
I made my initial booking thought http://www.simplychateau.com a booking agent in the UK. I was at no stage given any information on the castle and how it ran from the booking agent. I just made the booking and paid the bill then was handed over the castle for the rest of the organisation. Sadly this created some problems. I was told breakfast was not included then on arrival at the castle I was told it was so I let all my guests (30 People) know we did not have to self cater for breakfast which btw was just lovely and served in the castle kitchen WOW. Sadly this was not the case and I was presented it a bill at the end of our stay for breakfast. This was due to staff not communication with each other about our booking arrangements or with me.

Also many months out from our stay at the castle I organised thought the castle staff to have our birthday party catered for by them (I did not want to cook on my birthday). It was a simple affair, as we wanted to have a BBQ on the lawns. My husband and I paid 90 euro per head and expected to have a meal fit for a king. The meal provided was no better than hospital slop, sad but true. They provided a pasta salad and pork mixed with pasta. This was served cold with some cut up bread and butter. I had expected a number of different salads, green, pasta, potato. Etc and the pork to be sliced from the BBQ with crusty breads nice sauces and in general a banquet BBQ. It was absolutely terrible and many of our guests commented. Another company provided the cake and that was great thank you to them. I was of course very disappointed as I had been looking forward to the day for over 2 years and it was let down very very badly by the terrible meal. My husband and I did complain to the staff and they did reduce the bill however it was not good enough. Given the amount of time they had to sort this out and it was a once off party for us that did not live up to what I would have expected for the amount of money they charged.

For the rest of the stay our group self catered and for 80euro per adult we ate like kings and drank like fish. This included 3 lunches and 2 dinners.
I am of the opinion that the staff made a mistake with our party and their selection of the caterer. I hope they never use this caterer again.

If you do book a party and have the castle staff look after the food I would recommend that you get a full menu and how it will be served and as much detail as possible so you don’t spoil you day like we had ours.

Saying all that and as much as I was annoyed by the food provided for the party the rest of our stay was just fantastic. I would still go back to stay with them but next time I would take more control.

Good luck to the team at the castle and thank you for the beautiful accommodation. All our guests left very very impressed.

I have rated the castle as very good and not excellent due to the BBQ provided. If that had been up to standard I would have rated the stay as above excellent.

Jen and Matt

Room Tip: All the rooms are just fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifersinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in the Chateau for a wedding and had a great time. I felt like royalty.
Cynthia was great as was the whole staff! We had fireworks over the pond. Looking to return for our 25th anniversary this fall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I chose the Chateau for our elopement and it exceeded our expectations. We loved the privacy and very friendly service. The property is beautiful. It was the perfect countryside location for our special day. The suites are decorated with exquisite taste. Very comfortable and romantic. The meals were amazing. A truly talented chef. The owner and staff are very professional and dedicated to making guests happy. We loved our stay at the Chateau.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luling, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

My nephew rented the whole chateau for 4 nights for his incredible May wedding! Everyone in the wedding party stayed in the chateau and 2 couples stayed in the carriage house. Most of the rooms had bathrooms but some shared bathrooms. Which is what we did; but the bathrooms are luxurious and we never had a problem with timing. All of the rooms are large and decorated with period furniture and beautiful antiques. Don't worry, the bathrooms are 100% modern and georgeous!

When we arrived, we all couldn't believe how beautiful and spectacular, even better than the pictures! We felt like honored, royal guests with all the attention Cynthia paid us and gave us the run of the place. Each morning some of the group went running and Zeus, Cynthia's mellow dog would escort each one. The countryside of France is so beautiful and the grounds at the chateau are no exception. So peaceful with lovely trails and areas to just kick back and relax.

Cynthia is amazing! Talk about multi-tasking, she is the queen! Everything was perfect and the wedding was magical! I can't imagine any other place as perfect as this. This was a once in a lifetime experience that should not be missed!

Room Tip: Ask to get a room with the bathroom inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tcustom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We want to thank Cynthia and all her helpers for such a wonderful wedding!

The location was exquisite.

The service was warm and welcoming.

The arrangements for the wedding exceeded our already high expectations.

All our friends and family members had such a wonderful time and will never forget the occasion.

We cannot thank you enough for all the hard work and thoughtful and kind preparations. With love, L, P & R

Room Tip: The Royal Suite cannot but knock your socks off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We had the opportunity to stay here for a week with over twenty friends and new friends. An amazing place, words cannot describe this truly amazing place. All the staff were fantastic, would definately recommend this treasure for that special occasion. Add this one to your bucket list - miss you Zeus.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Challain-la-Potherie
18.7 mi away
Chateau de Cop Choux
Chateau de Cop Choux
#1 of 1 in Mouzeil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
20.0 mi away
Chateau des Briottieres
Chateau des Briottieres
#1 of 2 in Champigne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
6.1 mi away
Auberge de l'Ombree
Auberge de l'Ombree
#1 of 1 in Combree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Segre
Ibis Styles Segre
#1 of 1 in Segre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
16.7 mi away
Chateau du Plessis Anjou
Chateau du Plessis Anjou
#1 of 1 in La Jaille Yvon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel Le Prieure des Gourmands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Challain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Challain

Property: Chateau de Challain
Address: Chateau du Mesnil, 49440 Challain-la-Potherie, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Challain-la-Potherie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Challain-la-Potherie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Elegant Neo Gothic Chateau on the western Loire Valley. Renovated in Luxurious style from and era past.Hosting B&B Suites as well as Magnificent Events,Weddings and Private parties.Located in the countryside with easy accesses to Large towns and historical Places.You may come as a stranger but you will leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Challain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Challain Hotel Challain-La-Potherie
Chateau De Challain La Potherie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing